Beginners Outing(Part 13)-Tiong Bahru Estate on the 10 July(Photos thread)

here's my contribution

pic 1
DSC04121.jpg

pic 2
DSC00127_cropped.jpg

pic 3
DSC00171.jpg

pic 4
DSC04078.jpg

pic 5
DSC04110_bw.jpg

pic 6
DSC00106.jpg

pic 7
DSC00082.jpg

pic 8
DSC00157.jpg

Hey guys,

I'm limiting myself to these few photos. Went for a short walk after I departed the market but sadly, I do not have much to report. I agree that there needs to be more structure to these outings but everything's gotta start somewhere and from there we learn and move on.

Look up, let's climb together...
4783057847_9ae1fdac7d.jpg

I can see some halo-ing around the curved edges of the building, where the staircases are, I presume... Try reducing the difference in exposures between the 2 (or more) shots you used to produce this image.

An outing with non-specific subjects can be appear pretty unorganised. The suggestion to rope in guides with more experience is good. You probably want to find people whom are experienced in different genre to help out though. The participants can then choose theri guide based on their interests. Alternatively, you can organise multiple trips to the same area covering different things each time. Be a bit more specific about your sessions so the participants will not end up shooting aimlessly or each other. Being specific will also make your job easier. I can't imagine reviewing photos "coming from everywhere under the sun" in a single session.

For the participants, its normal to shoot just about everything when you first started out but eventually, you will start to find your area of interests, which will most probably be a scope a lot narrower than now. Once you identify your interests, be more focussed and build on it. Good luck.

I can see some halo-ing around the curved edges of the building, where the staircases are, I presume... Try reducing the difference in exposures between the 2 (or more) shots you used to produce this image.

Hmmm.. Now that you point out, I can see the halo-ing.. But this isn't a HDR shot..

Will tweak around and find out what went wrong. Thanks!

Hmmm.. Now that you point out, I can see the halo-ing.. But this isn't a HDR shot..

could be localised spot of high-contrast...
If you didn't blend multiple photos, then my guess is that it's caused by the strong backlight being diffracted around the edges. Might have to do some close-up PP if you wanna 'rescue' this shot!
but I think it's not very noticeable... ok for me...! :thumbsup:

recovery of too much highlights can also cause some halo..maybe thats why?

Yea, I think it's gotta do with my adjusting of recovery and contrast. Thanks for the feedback guys, will go work on the RAW :)

Hi Longshu, can't help but notice that all your pictures are soft. Just wondering what settings you're using..:dunno:

Just curious what you were trying to portray with this shot... :think:

haven't really think deep yet...
but sunday is always a no lot day for ppl coming to tiong bahru mkt

haven't really think deep yet...
but sunday is always a no lot day for ppl coming to tiong bahru mkt
then you should try to capture someone waiting in his car for a lot, looking very sian... whilst in the background showing all the lots full...

Perhaps could also consider inviting some of the experienced CSers as guides? A courteous PM is all it takes. Then they could help lead a group of newbies for you. I see you guys have another big outing lined up next Sat and again, there's only 3 guides to lead 20 shooters. I don't mind helping out for this if i'm free. But do invite people like Bananadiver, Sinned79, Clipper79, Wurdelak, Royale with Cheese, Draken etc. So many street shooters at the Streets section to choose from. Not all will come, but even one or two will be invaluable to those who really want to learn;)

wah! thanks for mentioning me... haha i am also very new lah, in the process of learning :sweatsm:

ok a few points to note when shoot in big groups (which i am not really comfortable with cos i prefer to shoot in much smaller groups if not alone), pardon me if i am too frank here:
1. Shoot outs tends to evolves in to TCSS sessions with little or not much photos being taken.
2. Like others mentioned here... make sure there is a purpose (eg, landscape? Street shoots? Food? Cats?) so that the session will not evolve into TCSS sessions.

Some suggestions:
1. Plan the shootouts with a purpose (eg, landscape? Street shoots? Food? Cats?)
2. Keep the group to a manageable size
3. Big groups attracts attention and will 'scare' off your subjects... so like what others suggested, if its a big group, u can break them into smaller groups and group them according to preferences (Landscape, street shoots, etc)
4. Timing/Weather of the shoots is important too. For example, if you want landscape shoots, make sure the sky is bluish enough and not the white sky (usually morning 8-10+ and afternoon 4-5+ is good time) so that you need not PP until so jialat later but if the sky colors is not good, can be flexible, do some street shoots if there is interesting subjects (keep your eyes open!) around you. Dun rule out food photography too cos i am sure you guys will eat together before or after the shoot. If it happens to rain, it makes interesting street shoots too but of cos if it is pouring, then take shelter lah! Just some suggestions from me.

Happy shooting and learning! :sweatsm:

a lot of good advice offered... i hope at least some are being noted down for the upcoming outings (#14, #15, #16, #17, #18...)

hey bro, dont care what others say when you cannot see the halo when it is not obvious..
even i cant see that -.-!

some people eyes are just too sharp or what la.
these kind of ppl kay pa lan one.