Crossing Bridges v4.0 Semporna and Tawau - 2007

"Its Mission is to foster friendship between the various on-line photographic forums from different Asian countries."

Thanks Uncle William..... that is the main mission of Crossing Bridges. Its success lies only in part with the organizers....

A larger reason for its success are the participants themselves.......not much ice-breaking activities were needed to get everyone to mix around and know more about our brethren and sisters from various countries.

As requested by Uncle William, here is a repost of the gathering photograph.

cbv3web.jpg

Hi Guys. My name is Yusuf Hashim. I will be one of your hosts for CB4. Its going to be a really exciting 6 days and we're going all out to make your visit to our Island in the Sun a really memorable one. Here's another link to our Island in the sun http://www.photomalaysia.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13735

And here's a few pictures to whet your appetite. They were shot during our recent Recce to finalise things on location.:

_O8T6874_DAW.jpg

_O8T6361_DAW.jpg

_O8T6325_DAW.jpg

_O8T6114_DAW.jpg

Semporna_Jetty.jpg

And a few more.......

_O8T6410_DAW.jpg

This is the puffer fish which you can buy in the Tawau market. Its called Fugu in Japan where eating it is like playing Russian Roulette. The skin and liver contains enough poison to kill a hundred men. Its a fer Ringgit a kilo at the Tawau Fish market which is the location of one of our shoots...

Fish_Fugu.jpg

_O8T6316_DAW.jpg

_O8T6408_DAW.jpg

_O8T6386_DAW.jpg

The kids on the remote island that we are going to visit are stateless people. Hence they do not go to school, they dont have access to piped water, electricity, hospitals, playstations, TV, etc. During the last visit by three members of PhotoMalaysia, we left some drawing materials, water colours, and crayons for the kids. During the recce we asked for the drawings and were astounded by the stark simplicity and beauty of the artistic expressions of these kids. Here are some samples of their work. We thought it would be a good idea to offer a few of these drawings for purchase by CB4 participants. We are thinking of asking RM 100 each for these beautiful drawings and 100% of the collection will go to the kids themselves to be used either for the community or for whatever their families needs. RM100 is less than US$30, a small number to most of us but HUGE to these people who earn less than 1.40 ringgit per kilo farming, and collecting DRIED seaweed which are used for pharmaceuticals, which fetches at least USD30 per kilo on the pharmaceutical raw materials market.

So, would you be willing to buy these original paintings for only RM 100 each for a really noble cause ?

_O8T6518_Musirik_DAW.jpg

_O8T6517_Musirik_DAW.jpg

_O8T6524_Jailani_DAW.jpg

_O8T6484_Jelani_DAW.jpg

Small_banner.jpg

Well, we've finalized the program and here it is. Hope to see you son June 3rd in Tawau. I promise you a wonderful time - good food, good shooting, good friends and good fun:-

Sat 2nd June - Tawau

TS Wong, KwanFM, Peter, Rabani, Nazeri in Tawau
1005 hrs Arrival Tawau Flight AK5152 (DA, Fuzz, Steven, Jayudan)
Sun 3rd June - Tawau
1005 hrs Arrival Tawau Flight AK5152 from Kuala Lumpur (6 Malaysians)
Taxi to Kingston Hotel & Check in Kingston Hotel
1245 hrs Lunch at Sri Keningau (10 Mal., 4 Sabahans, 1 Sing.2 Naz)
Free and easy - savour Tawau attractions
1540 hrs Arrival Flight AK5632 from Johore Baru (10 Singaporeans)
Bus to Kingston Hotel & Check in Kingston Hotel
Free and easy - savour Tawau attractions
1930 hrs Dinner for 27 persons at Kam Leng Restaurant (16 Mal, 11 Sing)
2035 hrs Arrival Flight AK5156 from KL (10 Indonesians + 10 Vietnamese ??)
1000 hrs Supper for all CB team members (45 persons)
Mon 4th June – Tawau to Semporna
0600 hrs Wake up call
0630 hrs Breakfast at Sri Keningau
0730 hrs Introductions & briefings at Kingston Hotel Function Room
0845 hrs Board Bus for Shooting at Pasar Ikan
Shooting at Fishing Jetty
Shooting at Pasar Besar
Shooting at Chester Street
1200 Board Bus for Ride back to Kingston Hotel
1230 Lunch at Sri Keningau Restaurant
1330 hrs Checkout from Kingston Hotel
1400 hrs Board Bus for Journey to Semporna
Bus and Shooting Tour of Tawau & Environs
Shooting along the way to Semporna (Cocoa Museum)
1800 hrs Check in at Seafest hotel in Semporna
1930 hrs Dinner at Seafest Hotel
Sabah Cultural Show (Subject to confirmation) Hotel Seafest or Floating Restaurant
Tue 5th June - Semporna to Island X
0600 hrs Wake up call
0630 hrs Breakfast at Hotel Seafest
0730 hrs Group #1 - Go to Island X by boat
Visit Seaweed Farm & Pak Hamid’s House on Stilts along the way
Walkabout, Swimming and Shooting on Island X
Lunch & Community service with Island X Community
Depending on time & Weather, proceed to Pulau Bodgaya for more shooting
Boat Tour of Waterfront Kampong on way back
1700 hrs Return to Semporna by Boat & Bus pick up at jetty at 1800 hrs
1930 hrs Seafood Dinner at Semporna Floating Restaurant
0800 hrs Group # 2 - Proceed to Market & Kampung on Stilts Shoot
Boardwalk ends at Pak Hassan's House
Bus tour and Shooting of Semporna & Environs
BYO (Buy Your Own) Lunch in Semporna
Free and Easy in Semporna
1700hrs Return to Hotel
1930 hrs Seafood Dinner at Semporna Floating Restaurant.
Wed 6th June - Semporna to Island X
0700 hrs Breakfast at Seafest Hotel
0800 hrs Group #2 - Go to Island X by boat
Visit Seaweed Farm along the way & Pak Hamid’s House on Stilts
Walkabout, Swimming and Shooting on Island X
Lunch & Community service with Island X Community
Depending on time & Weather, proceed to Pulau Bodgaya for more shooting
Boat Tour of Waterfront Kampong on way back
1700 hrs Return to Semporna by Boat & Bus pick up at jetty at 1800 hrs
1930 hrs Dinner at Seafest Restaurant (or alternative to be decided)
0800 hrs Group # 1-Proceed to Market & Kampung on Stilts Shoot
Boardwalk ends at Pak Hassan's House
Bus tour and Shooting of Semporna & Environs
BYO (Buy Your Own) Lunch in Semporna
Free and Easy in Semporna
1700hrs Return to Hotel
1930 hrs Dinner at Seafest Restaurant (or alternative to be decided)

Thu 7th June
0530 hrs Wake up Call for sunrise shooters in Semporna
0700 hrs Wake up call for late sleepers
0730 hrs Breakfast at Hotel
0830 hrs Checkout from Seafest Hotel
0900 hrs Journey Semporna to Tawau
Shooting along the way
1300 hrs Lunch at Tawau Kam Ling Seafood Restaurant
1400 hrs Check-in Kingston Hotel
Free and Easy in Tawau
Prepare pictures for Final dinner slideshow at Kingston Hotel
1930 hrs Farewell Dinner & Slideshow at Kingston hotel
Fri 8th June
0700 hrs Breakfast at Sri Keningau
Shopping & Free and Easy
1030 hrs Flight AK5153 to KL LCCT ETA 1315 hrs
1605 hrs Flight AK5633 to JB ETA 1850 hrs

Yusuf Hashim

wow... this will be my first Crossing Bridges. waiting for more info.

Hi
Could you pls call me if you are keen to go on CB-V4 on Jun 3 to 8.

William
HP 8128 0500

Missed the earlier .. hopes the date dont crash with my schedule .. :sweatsm:

Hi Knight:
Pls call me if you are keen to go on the CB-V4 Trip on Jun 3 to 8.

William
HP 8128 0500

Dear All:

In respond to the high level of interest from Singapore to join Crossing Bridges V-4 (Jun 3-8, 2007), the organisers have decided to give additional allocations to Singapore. Those who are interested, pls email directly to jwteo8@gmail.com. Need your full name as in your passport, passport number, DOB and HP number.

William
HP 8128 0500:)

Are we having a meet and greet kopi session before we set off? I think that it will be great for ice-breaking...at least we know each other prior setting off...:)

:heart: LotusFairy :heart:

I think a kopi get-to-know-you session before departure is a great idea!

OK I also want to clarify something here...... everything is being done as transparent as possible as far as costs are concerned...

The land costs are 1000MYR and we are collecting S$500 (about 1125MYR) ...... very easy to deduce if you check relevant threads in photomalaysia and clubsnap.... why the 125MYR difference?

The difference of additional 125MYR is to cover

1. any charity donations to buy supplies etc etc for the kids at the village(s)
2. buy a general first aid kit for you guys
3. pay for some of your meals since not all meals are covered during the trip
4. any gratuities

We passed the hat around a couple of times in Vietnam and HK/Macau trips to collect tips for guides, gifts, etc etc..... i guarantee you ..... its a thankless job heh heh heh!!

So we thought just build this into one lump sum for this year to avoid running around like a headless chicken (Uncle William is also not young anymore and he also pay for the trip, so please make life easy for him )

However..... William and myself has agreed that any leftover $$$ from this difference is to be returned back to everyone at the end of the trip.

My apologies if this has not been made clear to everyone earlier.

I would love to meet everyone before the trip begins......

Invitation has been sent to all members for a Pre-Trip Get-To-Gether hosted by Mr. Eddie Ng. Pls check you email. Hope all could make it. It is on Tuesday, May 22 @ 7:00 pm at................pls check you email.

William

Dear All:

Just a gentle reminder, the Pre-Trip Get-Together is on this evening at 7:00 pm
I have recd confirmation from all who had signed up except one. Looking forward
to see you. Mr. Eddie Ng is buying satay for dinner.

William
HP 8128 0500

I am so hungry....maybe i can eat only 30 sticks..:bsmilie: