bakzhang season (rice dumpling)

Which flavour you like the most?

So... Which bak zhang is 'hum yoke zhong'???

since when Teochew bahzhang got gingko nuts inside? :confused:

the traditional Teochew bahzhang has larger concentration of chestnuts and mushrooms.

eikin said:
since when Teochew bahzhang got gingko nuts inside? :confused:

the traditional Teochew bahzhang has larger concentration of chestnuts and mushrooms.

i am not sure..this is what they tell me. They say inside got red bean paste also. It is called " Teo Chew Shuang Ping", means salted and sweet taste.

tantingchin said:
i am not sure..this is what they tell me. They say inside got red bean paste also. It is called " Teo Chew Shuang Ping", means salted and sweet taste.

those are definitely not the traditional Teochew bahzhang as far as 10+ years of experience tells me :bsmilie:

u should have an option to select more than 1 choice...
I like all bak chang.. how? :) except that Chicken Zhang ... what's that?

I love the traditional cantonese bah zhang! vv nice! hehe - personal pref of course....

sidetrack a little - another bah zhang i like is espn's 'bah zhang' :p that one also not bad but i wouldn't eat :p

tantingchin said:
have lah.. my mom have been making those with red bean paste, chestnut and mushroom sinces she was 15 yrs old. now she is 76yo.:)
maybe different provinces?

can't figure out which version my mom just freshly whipped out yday... but it's yum yum, that's all that matters! :D

speaking of which, is there such a thing as jackfruit or durian dumplings? :D

tantingchin said:
the normal hokkien and nonya is $2, cantonese and Teochew is $2.40 and Chicken bakzhang is $2.20. The bakzhang is really big size and nice to eat.

i cant guarentee the price to be as low on thursday onward cos nearer to the festival. That is what the stall seller told me.

Eric

i think the price has gone up.. bought from 'Duan dumpling' the teochew zhang at Bugis.. $2.60 now

Firefox said:
So... Which bak zhang is 'hum yoke zhong'???

think it's Cantonese one.... the type my grandma used to make.... sadly she doesn't make them anymore.... :(

a bit of fatty meat, salted egg yoke, some mushroom, one water chestnut... ;p

btw Cantonese bak zhang got green bean paste one meh? my grandma never made those.

Wah! Now-a-daes got so many moredern valiations that I oso blur!

I love Nonya type, until eat too many get to sweet so I x-plore Hokkien ... or any Teochew ... all see bay SHIOK! Oh well, what to do, I am a glutton!

However, I would die to see a hands-on exhibition of all the Bak Zhang Gaffered DSLRs from CS anydae ... after pigging out on the stick glutanous type of course! Kekekeke ...

when i was younger i used to love the ones with the red-beans inside? Eat with sugar one... woohoo ;P man! i ate and ate and ate until became super fat :p hahahaha but then again, if i could relive my life over... i think i'd still do the same! SO NICE! :sweat: wooo... sweating just by thinking about it! ahh no dumplings in Thailand *BLEAH*

Bak chang ... remind me of the dragon boats race .... :bsmilie:

Yesterdat and todat .. national schs at bedok reservoir

singapore international dragon boat race - 2/3 july at marina bay

just finished a bak change made by my mom .. yummy shiok :thumbsup: