D800 User Thread I

cwaikong said:
To me, the high resolution translates to the fine details that you can derive from the photos.

For example

The 100% crop of the bottom left side of the photo where the bump boat is located. You can see the details of the pedestrians (the two ladies - one wearing a cap with long hair and the other with short hair)

Can almost convince myself that the short-haired lady is wearing a Paul Frank t-shirt

im getting the greenish WB on tungsten lighting. but if you set WB to flourescent, seems to be ok. if i set to tungsten, more green. i hope firmware update will help once it's released.

and i have 8001xxx serial numbr. dont 24mm to test. on my 50mm 1.8g focus seems to be locked on.

update: on flourescent lighting, WB on auto is ok for me.

justarius said:
Agree with Umeiko - the mode button is also a bit of a stretch for me too; takes me slightly longer to change mode as well. But all the other buttons and layout are much better in term of user friendliness compared to my previous camera, a D300. Only other thing is that sometimes when looking at image preview, I zoomed out when I wanted to zoom in instead (the buttons are in reverse order compared to the previous Nikon DSLRs).

i think i have ET hands. i can reach the mode button just fine

reject said:
im getting the greenish WB on tungsten lighting. but if you set WB to flourescent, seems to be ok. if i set to tungsten, more green. i hope firmware update will help once it's released.

and i have 8001xxx serial numbr. dont 24mm to test. on my 50mm 1.8g focus seems to be locked on.

If its only a LCD problem, the end result on ur PC way look off if you set to another WB. Has anyone did a comparison between camera LCD output with the same photo project on a monitor?

for people with the "greenish" LCD issue, can try to adjust the hue of the screen, according to instructions on pg52 of the manual... adjust with reference to your computer monitor (hopefully a profiled monitor)... YMMV :)

from the original thread . it seems to affect wide angle lens.

I love HDR function on my D800 , but have to be on tripod to avoid double images in final shot . Nikon D800 HDR setting not as good as Canon 5D3 , only final shot is save not the two original shots .

i have not tried yet. will update thread once done. i think safe think to do is use RAW

I love HDR function on my D800 , but have to be on tripod to avoid double images in final shot . Nikon D800 HDR setting not as good as Canon 5D3 , only final shot is save not the two original shots .

if you want the original shots why not shoot those shots like any individual shots just with different exposure? In camera HDR just give you the convenience of doing it in body.

Errz said:
posted that yesterday. scroll back a page or 2. seems like it affect wide angle lens.

Paiseh! A thousand apologies!

More details myth:

If you print out an image from the 16Mp camera and compare it to an 8Mp camera using the same lens, focal length, and aperture, sharpness will be be the same at all sizes but the higher pixel count camera will print larger due to higher resolution.

This translates to: when you resize the image to smaller sizes, there is no difference between in sharpness between 16Mp vs 8Mp. Of course,16Mp will have better signal to noise ratio(less noisy image).

could you elaborate more on this please? perhaps some examples?

i think what he is saying is, if you down size a 16MP picture to 8MP and compare it to a 8MP picture direct from a camera, the sharpness is the same. given that the lens, focal length, and aperture are the same.

could you elaborate more on this please? perhaps some examples?

apart from photos appearing greenish, there are some photos viewed on the d800 LCD that appear alright. i imported the photos on the computer and the photo with greenish rendering appeared alright and the other photo that is okay on the d800 LCD appeared the same on the laptop.

my hunch here is, it is not an LCD issue. it could be an issue the way a picture is rendered to the LCD using AWB at a certain lighting condition.

on the same lighting condition of the greenish pic, i also have a photo with the white balance manually set to florescent and it appeared alright on the LCD and laptop screen.

i have not tried yet. will update thread once done. i think safe think to do is use RAW

i think what he is saying is, if you down size a 16MP picture to 8MP and compare it to a 8MP picture direct from a camera, the sharpness is the same. given that the lens, focal length, and aperture are the same.

yes i know what he is saying, but can he back up that statement? i myself am not sure how true is this, so im curious whether he has any evidence to back it up

e...sorry for asking,a...but i just need your opinion. i am going to buy D800 this may if things go well. i have 2 cameras.

D700 - FX, i use a lot for more serious stuff, great for events because if AF and lowlight/responsiveness

D7000 - DX, i bring out when i want to have light setup, or do not want people to know i have a camera. video is pretty important, great for shooting insects

what do you experts say? which one should i sell in favor of the D800? D800 i only see myself using for landscapes...RAW files can oso be troublesome.

to those who have actually used the D800, do you think it has the responsiveness/versatility of the D700? do you feel that you need to have a higher shutter speed compared to D700 just to make sure things are sharp? how about events? D800 can?(of cos shoot jpegs).

thank you for the opinions...

i say may(五月) because JPY is going to drop. :eek: :eek: :eek:

Anyone know if the D800 can shoot in a smaller raw file size?
I prefer to shoot in raw file but I don't think I require 36 mp all the times.

*If not got to change computer liao.

Thanks.
gary.