Problem looking for job

I am worried too if I can get a job when I graduate! I cannot work in my dad's co as what I learnt is not applicable there.

wat you study and wat ur dad's company does?

My dad's co does machinery. I am doing design.

can't combine? who knows, might even open up another business avenue.

there are pple who work in jobs tht have nothing to do with wat they studied, i'm one of them

Past 40, even Mindef also don't want you, put u under MR.

I am dreaming of that for the past 10 years..... MR MR MR.... :thumbsup:

But on a serious note I am looking for 1x offshore structural and 1 x offshore piping engineers on contact with at least 5 years experience. TS interested? (Can I post This?)

there is too little info and details in your opening remarks for anyone to give you any meaningful advise

My dad's co does machinery. I am doing design.

machinery designer? why not?

Many machinery companies also has many design engineers....

Somemore it's your dad co.. what can be better than that....

if cannot use autocad, ask him to employer a person who can, so you just sketch and he will convert to mechanical drawings.. no technical background, ask him to employ someone who have.. then he'll do all the calculations for you.

Your job? design lor..

but dnt go too far on the marketing. seen lots of CMI pple, resume write so nice but actually person working totally sucks

Ha ha ha.... yeah. I agree to that. Seen lots of stupid mistakes made by someone with title Senior(put some IT related post here).

Looking at the bright side, they are my constant supply of jokes during my bad day.

Its the age factor, ts has mentioned bout the disadvantage of hitting the big 40 or close to getting there. Me, being in similar age range, i do emphatise with ts in some way, most employers do avoid hiring folks if they arent in the range of 18s - late twenties.

It's frustrating when countless applications and resumes sent, out, all you get is silence. No replies. At best one or two will inform you of non-selection. It's painful. And if you got a family, it becomes a dilema.

Would you settle for a lesser paid job or do something you have no interest in to support the family (but you would be unhappy in the long run), or keep trying to secure the job that you really want, but the time taken is uncertain...and when you are coming to 40...time is definitely not on your side, hardly any employer would take a sniff at your resume after seeing the age.

Ts, is the above more or less represent what you fear of now? Correct me if im wrong. :sweat:

Define "decent".

Have you "reviewed" your expectations?

What I mean is the pay $3k per month.

Yes, I have reviewed them a few time.

I understand how you feel, it can be very frustrating and depressing at the same time. Especially when(if) you had lowered pay expectations and broaden job options acceptance beyond comfort level. All i can say is tahan and try to pull through. :thumbsup:

Thank ..:D

u r not alone... many of my fren have problems finding a job too... it is taking longer time now.. much longer...

Thank, a few of my friend are facing the same problem..

which kind of jobs are you looking for?

I am train as a graphic designer but I am looking for other job now.

Sale line in camera and cook.

I have send out a few resume out but no reply.:sweat:

there's a lot of openings at MBS.. guess they're still recruiting.. of coz, depends on what you meant by decent job lah..

Not here, I try to keep clear for here.

Think of it this way... you are still young (I presume that you just completed your studies?)

Uncle like me is stuck to my freaking job in a deadend company... I wanted out, but has more difficulty when competing with you youngsters... the only comfort I have is quite a bit of experience;)

Sorry bro, I am 41 this year no more young.

which line are you in?

is this your 1st time looking for a job?

have you tried recruitment agencies? they do a decent job in helping, in fact, all but 2 job I was in came from recruitment agencies

I am in the design industry.

No, Not the 1 time looking for work..