Wannabes

The thing to remember is that the DSLR was never meant to be exclusively for the serious photographer. If it is, you would not have the Auto mode, the portrait mode, the landscape mode, face detection, etc, etc.

Don't make it sound like anyone who buys a DSLR has to use it professionally. A DSLR is perfectly fine for snapshots and what not. Just pick up any photog mag and see that there are sections for casual shooters who also want a good picture. The wide range of consumer grade lens also helps the average shooter.

A DSLR has almost no shutter lag, low noise, fast rate of fire - these features alone make it great for family shots, kids and travel. And yes, they are good for XMM too (which I am sure know that a DSLR easily produces pleasing shots in auto mode). The downside is the size of the DSLR. Notice that the consumer grade DSLRs are getting smaller? Guess which market this section of DSLR is targetted at? Guess why the 500D is also called Kiss in Japan and Rebel in the US.....

And if you do use it more creatively, be happy that there are more consumers buying DSLR for casual purposes. This would decrease the price when makers realise (which they already do) that there is a market for cheaper DSLRs....

i also use P and S mode most of the time on my d40, but due to my recent job, i find myself using the lx3 more often especially when is lighter to carry around.

seriously i don't mind everyone keep spending on their gears, so as to boast the economy :bsmilie:

to be honest, these teenagers can have all the dslr in the world if they want, once they kena fungus in their lens and dirt in their VF, is not so funny anymore as the maintenance fees is not that cheap.

by then they would come to CS to ask questions about sensor cleaning and dry cabinet matters :bsmilie:

what to do with camela when it is winter time, will the camela spoil???!?!?! :devil:

What happens if I kiss the camera? Will it get pregnant? :bsmilie:

in fact i've seen many of them outside amongst the streets as well, can't help but notice how they use the dslr, and you just know from the way the hold etc.. that they just want to be cool. im a teenage too, and maybe to others im like them wanting to be cool. its kind of annoying no? No offence.

TELL ME WHAT YOU GUYS THINK.:complain:

Well, to people who know photography, they will know u're not just trying to act cool from the way u hold etc..

To people who dun, everyone with a DSLR is a Pro.

So shouldn't be an issue? :angel:

The price point on entry level dSLRs have dropped to a level that is affordable to a lot of people. In the past, the roadblock to getting a dSLR is not the technical skills (or lack of) because of the auto/Program functions that are built-in to the dSLRs but the cost of owning it. That is the main reason why so many people are picking up dSLRs now.

Agreed, more and more teens have going the DSLR group. Take for example last week at the bornfire 2009, turn head left, then right, all DSLR .. OMG ... Where is the recession? But But but ... there are a few using compact. I spot 2 use CAnon G2 and oly Pen. LOL. SEem like DSLR is the new style now .. lolx

aiyah, jus go out and take photos lah, they wanna wayang is their problem

is it just me or do you guys realise it also? more and more teens are getting a dslr because they think its 'cool'. i have a handful of friends who got themselves a dslr. so i thought hey! i finally have some photog buddies. then when i start talking to them, i realise they use only auto mode, and don't really intend to go into photog in depth as a hobby. so i asked them why dslr? so he replies its the trend now (every design student "has to" own one). im like wtf?

in fact i've seen many of them outside amongst the streets as well, can't help but notice how they use the dslr, and you just know from the way the hold etc.. that they just want to be cool. im a teenage too, and maybe to others im like them wanting to be cool. its kind of annoying no? No offence.

TELL ME WHAT YOU GUYS THINK.:complain:

I dont really get too bothered by the teens really.

But just a thought, I see most of them with DSLRs slinged around everywhere they go to?

Got money buy camera, no money buy a decent bag? :think: I guess, camera protection did not really factor in for them? :think:

I dont really get too bothered by the teens really.

But just a thought, I see most of them with DSLRs slinged around everywhere they go to?

Got money buy camera, no money buy a decent bag? :think: I guess, camera protection did not really factor in for them? :think:

u put inside bag where got pple will know u using a DSLR. must show to the world mah

it has also been proven that auto mode in normal p&s are better than auto in dslr no? if they're looking for casual shots, some higher ends p&s can definitely achieve better than a dslr. its just a pity because its not being used to the fullest. p&s has better zoom, better technology just a smaller sensor. im not being jealous or what, ok, maybe a bit. cause this person i know has a D300s. but anw, just feel one kind cause it gets uncomfortable when others look at me and think the same

plus. i'd rather get a lx3 or something. its so much better than (some)entry dslr i think

sighh, i'm with TS on this. Had a friend who after a year-ish of owning a D90 asked:

'how to take F1 car?....(high shutter speed)...oh?how to set high shutter speed on the cam?'

This annoyance bleeds on to that i have of photoshop. I find many 'wannabes' having using photoshop as the answer to poor techniques.

'aiyah nvm la, can use ps to crop, align, edit things here and there..why bother so much about composition etc?'

:thumbsd::thumbsd:

sighh, i'm with TS on this. Had a friend who after a year-ish of owning a D90 asked:

'how to take F1 car?....(high shutter speed)...oh?how to set high shutter speed on the cam?'

This annoyance bleeds on to that i have of photoshop. I find many 'wannabes' having using photoshop as the answer to poor techniques.

'aiyah nvm la, can use ps to crop, align, edit things here and there..why bother so much about composition etc?'

:thumbsd::thumbsd:

i tink it's also on pple's view of photoshop. some might think tht photoshop is cheating but to me, it's all abt making the shot better.

photoshopping is an art by it's own also

i remember i used to wonder, what is photography all about when everyone edits their photo. even the pros way up there. then i realise sometimes its really the lighting restricts your imagination, and thats when photoshop comes in handy to achieve the type of results you desired. but i wish to emphasize on this point, just as a good picture depends not on the camera but the eye behind the viewfinder, photoshop should only work for us to enhance, it still lies in the photographer..

lol :bsmilie:

Ya hor, forgot about that, they want to show their dslr style :bsmilie:

u put inside bag where got pple will know u using a DSLR. must show to the world mah

Like that I buy the Lowepro 190AW with the Nikon big big on the shoulder pad can liao. Only about $45 second hand here.

Add in some additional bucks to get a D3X Camera strap and let it slip out enough to show the D3X logo.....

I wonder if I can attract the attentions if I walk around with that.... :dunno::dunno: