It is spelt as "L-e-n-s"...

With some people, there is some sorta disconnect between what they are thinking and what they are typing. They may think and speak correctly but type the wrong thing. I remember speaking with someone who would say 'shutter' in conversation but online, would consistenly type 'shuttle'. :dunno:

Hi Everyone:

I learnt a few things from this thread.

My contribution to the list of confusing words:

Complain Vs Complaint.
He complains about the service and will write a complaint letter to the manager.

Try pronouncing these words and see if the listener can spell the correct word you have just spoken.

1) Three and Tree
2) Tick and Thick.

Very interesting, I had a hard time with the pronunciation.

Contrary to popular believe, there is "irregardless". It's a new coin between irrespective and regardless, increasingly finding its way to dictionaries. Most English words evolve this way, if not all of them. Just that most Singaporeans, including educators (both those who use it and those who claim it doesn't exist) use it in wrong way.

Interesting! How should 'irregardless' be used then?

Hi Everyone:

Complain Vs Complaint.
He complains about the service and will write a complaint letter to the manager.

Try pronouncing these words and see if the listener can spell the correct word you have just spoken.

1) Three and Tree
2) Tick and Thick.

The 'th' pronunciation typically isn't pronounced by people because most Singaporeans are lazy speakers! :bsmilie: If pronounced correctly, your tongue will actually slide back between your teeth. Try sticking the tip of your tongue between your teeth and withdrawing it sharply when saying three, it should fix your problem.

The other big problem amongst Singaporeans is always the fricatives like in fries, which often turns into flies.

Ironically, this is what makes up the Singaporean accent, poor pronunciation. :p If you actually wind up pronouncing things clearly, people sometimes mistake it for a foreign accent, because it doesn't sound local.

Interesting! How should 'irregardless' be used then?
Amazingly, there was one episode of the Sopranos - i think it was in Season Five - when Tony Soprano was giving a briefing to his capos and he used the word "irregardless". :bsmilie:

Talking about evolving words, another word that purists refuse to accept is "liaise", which has evolved from "liaison". Personally, I dont like it either, but that's just my opinion.

Hi Everyone:

Complain Vs Complaint.

1) Three and Tree
2) Tick and Thick.

and the word pronunciation is NOT pronouced as proNOUNciation as i believe many would..

Amazingly, there was one episode of the Sopranos - i think it was in Season Five - when Tony Soprano was giving a briefing to his capos and he used the word "irregardless". :bsmilie:

Talking about evolving words, another word that purists refuse to accept is "liaise", which has evolved from "liaison". Personally, I dont like it either, but that's just my opinion.

New words are being coined lah! Its like you're not unable to do something. Double negatives lor.

The 'th' pronunciation typically isn't pronounced by people because most Singaporeans are lazy speakers! :bsmilie: If pronounced correctly, your tongue will actually slide back between your teeth. Try sticking the tip of your tongue between your teeth and withdrawing it sharply when saying three, it should fix your problem.

The other big problem amongst Singaporeans is always the fricatives like in fries, which often turns into flies.

Ironically, this is what makes up the Singaporean accent, poor pronunciation. :p If you actually wind up pronouncing things clearly, people sometimes mistake it for a foreign accent, because it doesn't sound local.

Hello Stoned:

Thanks for your pointer. It works!!:bsmilie: :bsmilie:

I find this interesting:

Opinion is acutally pronunce as "A"pinion. But many like to say "O"pinion.

And it's A-LO-Y-SIUS, not A-LOY-SIUS.

COLLeague and not ColLEAGUE.

But if you look at the Indonesians, they adapt to a more effective way of expressing themselves very quickly.

The English world should as well. :bsmilie:

Actually, I don't think it's because we are lazy speakers, more so that Sino-based languages do not require the speaker to place his tongue between the teeth or up to the palate.

You'll find that it's not just Singaporeans, but Chinese speakers in general.

It's a two-way thing actually, my friends say I speak Chinese funny.... :sweat:

colleague is pronounced as "ke-league" (or ca-league) IIRC..

anyway when did this change from a spelling thread to a pronounciation thread?! lol

It's all related, anyway colleague thing reminds me of the po-tae-to, po-tah-to arguments of old. :bsmilie:

and the word pronunciation is NOT pronouced as proNOUNciation as i believe many would..

Hello Star:

Do you have any more, I think its time we learn to pronounce our words correctly.

Here's a useful website to help us.

www.938live.sg
Click on Engilsh at Work and then click on past issues of Engish at Work.

"eh! es-kew me ah! can BORROW me your cambler? neh, your Neekong D70s cambler! i want to go SUANA first then later go take peekchur. har? what is SUANA? you sua ke is it?! SUANA la! that hot hot place u go inside to sweat one la! aiyo you so stupid leh!"

wah lau, you spell like that... wait you kenah huntam by the now famous Ms Wee (see Wee are Singapore thread) like that spelling, sure no iron rice bowl!!!

Actually, I don't think it's because we are lazy speakers, more so that Sino-based languages do not require the speaker to place his tongue between the teeth or up to the palate.

You'll find that it's not just Singaporeans, but Chinese speakers in general.

It's a two-way thing actually, my friends say I speak Chinese funny.... :sweat:

You have a point, but I always believe such things can be trained. For instance, I have quite a number of friends who speak perfectly enunciated chinese and English. I can't say the same for myself because my Chinese is horrendous and is chiefly limited to casual conversation and ordering food.