SGTrekker 10D9N Everest Panorama Trek (17-26 March 2011)

Living Among Giants

Enroute to Phakding 5 (Large) by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Of Beautiful Valleys & High Mountain Passes

Enroute to Namche Bazaar 2 (Large) by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Man & Mule In Tandem

Mule Power (Large) by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

With Simplicity & Content

Little Girl Washing Hair (Large) by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

A Place Best Enjoyed With Friends

Jack & Gang (Large) by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Now comes the hard part...

By the time we reached this last, toughest section, the team was split into three distinct groups - those who were the ablest were already high up and happily jumping around like Yaks on steroids, a middle-behind group who was having a slightly less enjoyable time but was still trudging along like the mules on drowsy cough medicine, and of course, those who were way at the back, like me and SereneXMM, who were certainly like dzyopkyos on sleeping pills.

5589686960_d6324fb003_b.jpg

We were walking with a group of two Ang Moh men from USA and an Indian man from, India. Very shamefully, I compared myself to one of the Ang Moh men who was older, but who was carrying a full, heavy load of backpack himself. Smilingly, he looked at us and said:
"Slowly.. slowly... one baby step at a time, one baby step at a time..."
And indeed that was precisely what we were doing. But I think for myself and SereneXMM (and I half suspect, Judith as well) we were taking not baby steps, but Neonate steps instead.

But whatever steps we were taking, die die you'd also make it up at the end of the day - several metres at a time, several centimetres at a time.. like what SereneXMM had done here.

5589093751_5ff4c14746_b.jpg

Sorry, my pictures were all of SereneXMM and the team members still behind. I couldn't take photos of any of the forward members. That will have to depend on those in Team 1 who were still shooting... hahaha..!

Finally, we reached an altitude of 3000m.
I remembered very well at this point as we rounded a turn, and arrived at 3000m, Mahesh issued an instruction and passed it down to everyone:
"Ok, here we are, 3000m. Now all of you please, please walk very slowly and breathe very slowly. Take it really easy."
Huh?! Not only were we breathing and walking slowly, we were also talking slowly, laughing slowly, everything also slowly... hahaha.. No, no... laugh slowly - Ha... Ha... Ha... Ha.... like that then can...

5589689166_aefc988b37_b.jpg

T R A V E L O G U E

Still... we fought on. When you were up to this level, age didn't matter. Gender didn't matter. The strength of your Quadricep thigh muscles didn't matter. Your lung capacity didn't matter.
What really mattered was: the presence of a single, one-track minded thought of perseverance in keeping on going... keeping on going... just keep walking...
Here at this point, acpical was complaining to me that SereneXMM seemed to be on fire as she suddenly like siao one, picked up speed and trekked very very quickly upwards...
Oh yes, now I remember. The main purpose of my taking this shot hastily while gasping for air was also to show our good audience how fun and how CLOSE we were trekking to the edge of the trail, an edge that led to no where other than a steep drop down the cliff of the mountain, much like how our good team mate New Kid in Town's 1DsMkII decided to take a jump down and test the slope of the Himalaya for itself...

5589728132_fde7a96f48_b.jpg

... and knowing when to stop and take a seat for a few minutes, when your brain and body decided that it was too tired to take another step or suck in another breath... like what XMM was doing far ahead in the background here. At this altitude, whatever record shots were lousy, hastily-taken and totally CMI ones. So pardon the lousy shots...

5589100623_a2796b86ff_b.jpg

And slow, but surely.. our tired legs led us to a row of houses, and all that our already-numbed brain cells could comprehend was that this looked like some signs of life that was probably consistent with something or somewhere not far from Namche... Our excited porter kept pointing in front and muttering something in Tibetan-Sherpa language...

5589696608_f90e994471_b.jpg

Yah... it made little difference at 3337m. The mind was willing. But the flesh was not that willing... Here, SerenXMM and Acipical took a small rest while standing up... well, Acpical seemed to have picked up his pace again already...

5589102779_a25c8f026e_b.jpg

By the way guys and girls, if you are a glutton for punishment, our 14Days Annapurna Base Camp (ABC) Trek (25 Nov-8 Dec) is up: http://www.sgtrekker.com/node/384.
We'd be flying in and out of Pokhara instead of the 10 hr bus ride, and guess what? 5 Star hotel treatment at the end of the trip awaits you :p

Annapurna Base Camp (Large) by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Mt Machapuchare Nepal by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Warming by Fire Nepal by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Poon Hill Nepal by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

limwho: From the pictures it appears you were not drinking enough water.

By the way guys and girls, if you are a glutton for punishment, our 14Days Annapurna Base Camp (ABC) Trek (25 Nov-8 Dec) is up: http://www.sgtrekker.com/node/384.
We'd be flying in and out of Pokhara instead of the 10 hr bus ride, and guess what? 5 Star hotel treatment at the end of the trip awaits you :p

Mt Machapuchare Nepal by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr
Oh no, not again.....:nono::sweatsm::

Wah Serene looks like so majestic and all conquering in that pose! Namche - easy peasy lar! Next stop, Everest Base Camp!

@vngks, SG Trekkers 14Days Annapurna Base Camp (ABC) Trek (25 Nov-8 Dec) is up.
What say you? How, on or not?:bsmilie::p

T R A V E L O G U E

"NAMCHE BAZAAR, Here we come...!"

Those of us in Team 2 could already sense that the end was near. And right at this stage of our trek, it was a sheer race of who had the higher amount of adrenaline left in his/her system to kick into a turbo-drive mode. From the look in this photo, it seemed to me that Acipical still had loads of that driving hormone in him...

5589109727_cb7ec3f45a_b.jpg

Me? I could only look back at where we came from and stop and take photos, using this as an excuse to suck in a few more breaths of air...

5589702744_16c627aa00_b.jpg

... and look in front again to find our private porter Sange standing at the turn of a corner waiting for me. Apparently acpical had changed ge

well said :thumbsup:

Althought I'm not part of the team that did the "Everest Panorama Trek" (sorry for the intrusion).. I have been enjoying the beautifull crafted Myanmar & Everest Threads..

Special Thanks to Limwhow.. (I know there is a lot of background work!!!) and NOT forgetting the rest of the team, every single member that contributed to the threads.. you lot kept the thread going, make it interesting, provide views on posted pictures, etc... MAKE THE THREAD FUN.. it is EVERY, SINGLE ONE THAT CONTRIBUTED that make it fun...

One small suggestion (if it is not alreadi done).. someone or even SGTrekkers might want to duplicate the threads (like the completed 4-parts Myanmar threads) and put it into a mini-CD. This can be distributed to the participants (if SGTrekkers is kind) or sold to the participants (if need to recover cost). I guess it will serve as a very good memory of the whole trip :) (maybe you will want to remove some posts from intruders, like me, and make it more memorable) Just a suggestion :)

[p.s. limwhow - your shots mostly cannot make it ha?.. then next time bring PnS can alreadi la.. LOL..
There are a few gems and the other pics are more than good enough as record shots la !!!.. everything is relative la.. definitely ALL PICs are more than good enough for me]

[p.p.s. I think I said tooo much as a more Trekker, sorry will keep low profile now]

Thank you, ClemC!
Actually, if you've noticed, the really good photographers don't post too many of their shots. A few really magnificent ones to share and to wow their team mates and that's it from them. Those who are so so and mediocre ones, especially from SARP, like me, would keep posting photos after photos. But no choice leh... record shooter means you got to record the moment, the events, the emotions, the whatever you have around mah... Hahaha..

Kudo to you guys and gals. Was reading at page 7 before I left for my China's trip and now you're at 26....alot of reading and viewing on the wonderful postings by you people
Lift my hat off to you all....

Stevepow! Great to have you here on the thread! We all missed you leh...

Hi Clement,

I'm no lawyer but I reckoned there is an issue of copyright. Pics posted in CS has the consent of individual owners but not neccessary give away the rights to the “world at large” to use it, either by copying or any means. Permission has to be soughted from various parties, get some kind of endorsement, lest that guy may turn around against the distributing party. You never know what will happen thru mass distribution however restrictive is imposed, one of these day you may find your pic landed up in some magazines and that rogue unknow to you is making money out of it.

Nothing against your suggestion but just my honest opinion.

BTW, if you know Limwhow, he has been always very modest.

-----------------

MORE MORE MORE pics pse. Keep it up, keep it going.

Yes Sir, Divinemoment, Sir!
Thank you for still thinking such nice thoughts of me. I will try to live up to your expectation! Hahaha...!

Yeah, more pictures please. Riverted here to see how this exciting story unfolded. Looking forward to seeing photos of the inside of the monasteries that only a CANON camera can provide.
Haha... wah, thank you, Daoyin! Eh... We er, actually had to give that Tengboche Monastery a miss cos we were delayed for too many days down in Kathmandu. So... sigh... no monastery this time round. I am sure the next round we will have as many monastery as SgTrekker could dish out to us! I am sure!

Bypassers In A Land Of Solitude

Advanced Party (Large) by Singapore Trekker, on Flickr

Now I finally know where you guys in the Advance Team 1 were! You all were WAY WAY AHEAD!
Ok lor.. at least SgTrekker you guys have been doing your job taking record shots for the Advance team... Well, somebody had to do the recording job at the back of Team 2 mah.... so I saw no body around behind and volunteered to be the last man lor... Haha...
Great shots, Adrian!

Wah Serene looks like so majestic and all conquering in that pose! Namche - easy peasy lar! Next stop, Everest Base Camp!

ON AH!!!

limwho: From the pictures it appears you were not drinking enough water.
HAha... wei, between SereneXMM, Acpical and myself, we devoured 3 litres of water (or was it 4 litres?) on this day's trek leh... Well, yes... could have drank more... but it was too heavy to carry lah. HAhaha...!

Wow, cyber diagnosistis
Nope, Daoyin he is correct. I am sure he could see from the way I was slanting to one side and the angle with which I took my shots, that my balancing system was out of whack already. Signs of dehydration, combined with altitude. :thumbsup:

Cont'l my shot on the going part
Land scape on certain area while I treking (forgotten where I took it)
5581655729_52db5e25eb_z.jpg

another one shot
5581663193_7eb4be2140_z.jpg

I think this is the first suspension bridge, if I can still remember there are 4 of them on the way to Namche. One of them without the stabilizer (No OS(canon) or VR(nikon))
5582261526_e55258c6bd_z.jpg

This is the first Stupa I saw on the starting trek follow by there are a lot more on up front. Heard from the porter we should go one round instead of just passing by the side. ( It meant good luck)
5581709227_030ecd856a_z.jpg

5589689166_aefc988b37_b.jpg
[/QUOTE]

Serene, this one don't look like Liang Po Po, more like a 女强人.
well done you make it.

Bro Diviinemoment - never meant the "miniCD" is for mass distribution.. meant it as distibution for those participants in the trek and yes, it will be good and necessary to get the agreement of those who posted.

As for posting to CS, I think once you posted it on a public site.. no sure how much rights you still have to the pics. Have heard stories that publishers just need to state that the photo is taken from a "so-and-so" public website and not necessary to get from right signed off by an inidividual photographer.. BUT I'm no lawyer, so I am also in the dark. :)
Hi Bro ClemC

The rights ALWAYS remain with the lawful owner. Of course once the pics are posted in the web, you are just inviting cyber theft. When I leave my house door ajar, it doesn't mean anyone is free to come in and steal my things but it just make easy prey for those tempted one. Once in cyber space, be it music score or whatever, it justs make things easy for thieves to “save as”. Worst scenario is that guy may even turn around and claim ownership. So the onus of proof, if contested, remains with either party. One simplistic way of proving to the court is to show the Raw file. But to pursue to such an extend is really not worth time and trouble. One way to prevent cyber theft is to watermark your pic. Actually I wouldn't even venture to say prevent, maybe discourage is more appropriate because there is powerful cloning tools that can overcome watermarks.

Its not true anyone uses someone else pic need to only display acknowledgement and freely uses it thereafter. If we were to shoot model and make a hefty commercial gain later on, the model can claim part of your earnings in the absence of a model released form. But displaying her image in a personal web and print some pic. just for keep is a different story.

Sorry for the longs words. Can't put in one sentence.

P/S Once burned into disc, it makes copying and landed in unknown territory less of a chore though its not meant for mass distribution in the 1st place.

Maybe Reservoir 88 can authenticate the correctness of above?

A thousand apologies, pse continue to post your rightful pics.

@vngks, SG Trekkers 14Days Annapurna Base Camp (ABC) Trek (25 Nov-8 Dec) is up.
What say you? How, on or not?:bsmilie::p

You ON, me also ON laaaaa......but not this year. This year save leave for Egypt hahaha. Next year see how.