Sentosa Thread LVII (57) - nightwolf75 56:28 "we are getting a lot of weirdos in CS."

wonder if any1 can offer advise.

got a digimate 3, the usb sometimes can be detected by PC, sometimes cannot.
tried on a few PCs and all of the tried PCs usb port. PC on windoze xp

strange things is tried on my notebook running on vista it was ok...

:dunno:

any explanation(s) ? :think:

wonder if any1 can offer advise.

got a digimate 3, the usb sometimes can be detected by PC, sometimes cannot.
tried on a few PCs and all of the tried PCs usb port. PC on windoze xp

strange things is tried on my notebook running on vista it was ok...

:dunno:

any explanation(s) ? :think:

- Under powered USB ports?
- USB cable faulty?
- USB port on digimate faulty?
- harddisk going to "up the lorry" soon?
- the digimate itself is fault? <--only way to test is to remove the HDD and put it into another external casing and try. *

- Under powered USB ports?
- USB cable faulty?
- USB port on digimate faulty?
- harddisk going to "up the lorry" soon?
- the digimate itself is fault? <--only way to test is to remove the HDD and put it into another external casing and try. *

Under powered USB ports --> could be could me, but the Digimate was attached with power, so shd USB port be under powered it will still work right ?

USB cable faulty --> tried 4 cables..so not cable fault

HDD gone so --> nope, HDD work well on external casing..

if i can't rectify i have to call Master Yoda soon....:bsmilie:

AB thanks

Under powered USB ports --> could be could me, but the Digimate was attached with power, so shd USB port be under powered it will still work right ?

USB cable faulty --> tried 4 cables..so not cable fault

HDD gone so --> nope, HDD work well on external casing..

if i can't rectify i have to call Master Yoda soon....:bsmilie:

AB thanks

call me, someone did? :what:

to me happened it sometimes too. XP at fault, it could be. power not enough, i suspect too my laptop/PC is.... :think:

If it's powered by PS, then no worries of USB not enough power.

40GB should work fine without PS, but >40GB you will very likely need to use the PS unless you're connecting the HDD to a PC rather than notebook.

-- posting live from HP Alexandra's FOC network, where everybody looks at me and my Mac like amazed... :bsmilie:

MAC RULEZ!!!
guru-levitate.gif

We are not only hot but cool at the same time, slow walk along the street and FSing ... :devil:

Remember to try their fried potatoes hor, taste nice with red chilli powder... :bsmilie::thumbsup:

Logging in from new workplace... :)
sian.. no messaging software allow.. :(

erm... yeah. occasionally it just won't work. :(

morder - how new work place? :)

Oh la.. new place... must start from scratch again lor..

No more reaching office at 10am++ liao.. :(