rechargeable on grip


Jan 19, 2005
307
0
0
#1
using 6 new GP 2700 for my grip but only last a while. is this normal? it shows full but after bout 10 mins it show no batt alrdy :(
 

wdEvA

Senior Member
Sep 1, 2006
6,284
0
36
etanphotography.com
#4
did u charge the battery before using?
or u just use it right after opening?
I don't thinkg the GP 2700 holds charge for long, like the recyko/eneloops/imedian, thus could be the batteries have been on the shelves for quite some time?
 

SkyStrike

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 29, 2010
3,444
11
38
Somewhere
#5
did u charge the battery before using?
or u just use it right after opening?
I don't thinkg the GP 2700 holds charge for long, like the recyko/eneloops/imedian, thus could be the batteries have been on the shelves for quite some time?
I've ever slapped 6 Eneloop batts in my grip (straight from packaging), can last at least 200shot (w/o flash) before flashing for change...it may be the batt that is weak.
 

Last edited:

wdEvA

Senior Member
Sep 1, 2006
6,284
0
36
etanphotography.com
#7
I've ever slapped 6 Eneloop batts in my grip (straight from packaging), can last at least 200shot (w/o flash) before flashing for change...it may be the batt that is weak.
yup, the eneloops and imedian, not sure abt recyko are pre-charged, and holds charges for a very long
my imedions are working great
 

Last edited:
Aug 16, 2010
1,049
0
0
24
Japan, Tokyo
#11
Anyway it is not recommended to use AA batteries for our camera.
Only use it if you are really in a pinch with no more batteries and you really need to get that shot. Otherwise i would suggest just forget it.
 

Cowseye

Senior Member
Mar 7, 2010
3,786
0
0
Singapore
www.ttlo-cowseye.com
#12
Anyway it is not recommended to use AA batteries for our camera.
Only use it if you are really in a pinch with no more batteries and you really need to get that shot. Otherwise i would suggest just forget it.
Or when you have no money to buy ENEL-4A & its charger for MB-D10...
Sorry... just ranting....
 

fmeeran

New Member
Nov 5, 2010
834
0
0
Clementi, Singapore
#13
Eneloops are NiMH as well
Oops. My bad. Eneloops are some weird hybrid of alkaline and NiMH.

Ok. Just went back and did some research (read wikipedia and a few other websites. which I should have done earlier BEFORE my post. :D), it's alkalines which are a no-no.

There might be a bad cell in your NiMH batch. You should get the cells checked for capacity.
 

bonrya

Senior Member
Dec 16, 2010
2,632
3
38
In a mobile cage
#14
Anyway it is not recommended to use AA batteries for our camera.
Only use it if you are really in a pinch with no more batteries and you really need to get that shot. Otherwise i would suggest just forget it.
AA batteries are great with old film slrs though. :bsmilie: they work 'forever'
 

kingpin8

New Member
Nov 18, 2010
197
0
0
#15
Eneloop on my BG lasted me approx 3days for my Spain trip with average 200-400 shots / day. Was pleasantly surprised ! Btw, I dun off my camera til nite time whn reach hotel too
 

#18
remember to set yr camera to 'NiMH' on the 'MB-D10 batteries' in the custom menu. that should solve it. the NiMH batteries run on a lower voltage than LR-6 so if the setting is wrong yr cam will just say its low batt
 

bonrya

Senior Member
Dec 16, 2010
2,632
3
38
In a mobile cage
#19
remember to set yr camera to 'NiMH' on the 'MB-D10 batteries' in the custom menu. that should solve it. the NiMH batteries run on a lower voltage than LR-6 so if the setting is wrong yr cam will just say its low batt
huh? what camera is this?
 

neech7

New Member
Dec 17, 2009
1,083
0
0
US
#20
Dumped all my other rechargeables and switched to Eneloops (I have 50 of them - 48 original Sanyos and 2 rebranded Sonys) and never looked back. There is just no better rechargeable AAs and AAAs.
 

Top Bottom