Jazz Talk

erm... think it's spelt Norah Jones. :)

am into the jazz-blues combination.. Nina Simone, Billy Holiday & the like. real old-man songs. + Frank Sinatra, Tony Bennett, Harry Connick, Tracy Chapman, Chet Baker etc. + less mainstream ones like Ana Caram.

Originally posted by punscum
right now am hooked on nora jones! hhaha my work is studying so thats what i listen to when i study

Chet Baker has one oh so soft and great voice, his funny valentime never fails to get me inspired when working!

yeah maybe we should have a gathering at some jazz bar sometime. So Where's our jazz teacher? He might have some lobang

Originally posted by andre
wah .....very exciting....can go together....hang out...talk about jazz and photography......

can't wait... :rbounce:

-Andre

Andre got lobang or nice bars to hang out?

wah....in jakarta i have alot of lobang lah....

here......mmm....not much...but must see if my friend playing there or not....but i think u guyz well known of jazz bar in singapore....harry's bar at boat quay...small but good music.....chimes....never been there.....and some groove and funk stuff at cupid bar ....

-Andre

Tower of Power is released in Sheffield Labs recordings... fantastic shit I must say. JVC's XRCD's are pretty good too

Originally posted by phero-man
Tower of Power is released in Sheffield Labs recordings... fantastic shit I must say. JVC's XRCD's are pretty good too

Wah, XRCDs are $$$$. I only have one so far. They do sound very good indeed. :)

Originally posted by rochkoh
.....less mainstream ones like Ana Caram.

Finally I have found someone who like Ana Caram in this part of the world! Glad to know you, pal!

:gbounce:

o_O jazz...cool stuff....find them very relaxing....chillout might say....listen to streams on the net....smooth jazz...things like tt...u might wanna try...sounds good...esp when u are studying or doing some project...creates a ambience....a mood....

so many jazz lovers....any recommandations on artist?

Originally posted by AqUaRiU5
o_O jazz...cool stuff....find them very relaxing....chillout might say....listen to streams on the net....smooth jazz...things like tt...u might wanna try...sounds good...esp when u are studying or doing some project...creates a ambience....a mood....

so many jazz lovers....any recommandations on artist?

All the Gilberto family are good bossa singers. Astrud, joan, and bebel. diana krall, laura fygi... Can they be considered classics?

Infact there's so much artistees out there, so many types of jazz genre and seriously, you can't go much wrong with jazz. Those compliation are normally quite a good deal to get. Yep, and cheap too. heehe.. I got a compilation jazz for night which features so many artist at about $10 + ...

LAURA FYGI ?????....simply love her......
wattabout jazz-funk......
GRP ....CHICK CORREA
andre...you wanna become john patitucci or what......

(spelling correct or not ar ??)

Originally posted by Fundee
LAURA FYGI ?????....simply love her......
wattabout jazz-funk......
GRP ....CHICK CORREA
andre...you wanna become john patitucci or what......

(spelling correct or not ar ??)

wah....fundee u like jazz also....hehehe

nope i dun wan to become like john patituci although he one of my fav bass player....but the most bassist i like is JACO PASTORIUS.....if anyone have heard about weather report group around 1978....this is legendary bass player...too bad he died in young age....

-Andre

Originally posted by andre

wah.....really ....fourplay is coming ??? wanna watch leh...but too bad no longer lee ritenour....only bob james and nathan east...

-Andre

Aiya... Bob James not bad mah...