Film Development

Film development

Results are only viewable after voting.

Nature88

Apr 20, 2009
Bishan
Hi all,

I am new to RF and film photography. Previously I have an compact RF and now I decided to invest in a interchangeable lens RF. This means that no more digital and will be moving to film photography. I have the intention to develop my own negatives, yet worrying about screwing up the precious shots.

There is a question in my mind all these while regarding to film photography. Do you guys self develop your negatives or no? Why so?

yes. short answer:

a. cheaper to develop than have it professionally done

b. the quality, in many cases, is better than professional development

c. it is convenient and easy to self-develop

longer version:

a. there is a one-time investment for film development. roughly.

100 for bag, tank and measuring cylinder + thermometer
Another 50 - 60 for developer (HC110 or D76), fixer and infosol

Then there is a 200-300$ investment in a film scanner (Canon V8800 is an inexpensive option under $250 used).

If you intend to shoot often, it makes to make this investment. I am into roll 215 since Feb this year, it would have $15 x 215 = aprox 3k if I had it professionally developed and scanned.

b. film development is an art & science, so the ability to pair film emulsion + film developer is great way to manipulate the look. Most developer evolve around Grain, Sharpness and Shadow details.

film.jpg

Most shops either do D76 or standard C-41 (Chromogenic) film developer. So the options are limited. What is worse is that many of the C-41 1 hour shops have very bad chemicals because their volume is low. As the result, many of the photos come out "muddy".

c. Convenient and easy to self develop.