copy protected cds


Status
Not open for further replies.

Malakite

New Member
Jul 3, 2004
225
0
0
37
Singapore
#1
any one here have info regarding the above?

as in if i were to buy one cd, den copy the music into my mac to transfer into my ipod, can i den copy the cd again onto my home pc?
is there a limit to how many times one can copy the music?

ot abit, how do the rest of u get ur mp3s? buy cd just to convert into them? den what do u do with the piles of cds u have in the end?
 

espn

Deregistered
Dec 20, 2002
21,905
0
0
Planet Nikon
#3
For copyprotected CDs, you can't play them on PCs, you can only play them on dedicated hardware like hi-fi or car audio.
 

ndroo

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 22, 2003
8,243
3
0
47
www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
www.fuzzyeyeballs.com
#4
espn said:
For copyprotected CDs, you can't play them on PCs, you can only play them on dedicated hardware like hi-fi or car audio.
You can. There usually is a media player thingy in the CD. When inserted into a CDROM drive on a PC (don't know about Mac), it will autoplay.

Only thing is you can't be using those MP3 ripping tools to rip them. There used to be some tool called '****it' which allows you to rip copy protected CDs but then I read somewhere that it no longer work because those guys have somehow change the protection stuff.
 

AhV

Senior Member
Jun 10, 2004
2,141
0
36
Northland
#5
espn said:
For copyprotected CDs, you can't play them on PCs, you can only play them on dedicated hardware like hi-fi or car audio.

Hmmm.... not so true ... although they are copyprotected, they can be played with their dedicated player ( usually found in the CD ) on all PCs. Once you put it in, the enclosed programme usually plays automatically. Then again, there are lots of programmes that duplicate EVERYTHING on the CDs...literally. At the end of the copy process, you will have another "COPY-PROTECTED CD" but it's a duplicate :lovegrin: With other programmes, we can even rip off the selected tracks from the COPY-PROTECTED CDs and re-compile them.

I hope this clarifies.
 

jsbn

Senior Member
Jul 24, 2002
2,944
0
0
Planet Eropagnis
#6
espn said:
For copyprotected CDs, you can't play them on PCs, you can only play them on dedicated hardware like hi-fi or car audio.
I beg to differ on this ;)

The saying goes, "Man make, man can break."
 

espn

Deregistered
Dec 20, 2002
21,905
0
0
Planet Nikon
#7
You all going against me ah.. AI SI AH :kok:

I just make the statement only lah, got workarounds or not I "dunno" ma. Heehee.

:)
 

Drudkh

Senior Member
Mar 2, 2004
6,129
0
0
lulu island
#8
I remember reading an article saying that there's a kind of protection that will crash your PC when your PC starts reading the CD. :eek: anyone encounter b4?
 

Royce

New Member
Aug 25, 2003
538
0
0
Singapore
www.roycelithgo.com
#9
Easy CD-DA Extractor can rip copy protected CDs no probs. Just set the read mode to Error Recovery & Repair and you get a perfect rip, every time! :)
 

sriram

New Member
Mar 10, 2002
1,253
0
0
#11
I'll second Easy CD-DA, it has been able to rip any CD I threw at it, including copy protected CD's. It's really good.
 

Jun 13, 2003
490
0
0
32
Visit site
#13
AhV said:
Hmmm.... not so true ... although they are copyprotected, they can be played with their dedicated player ( usually found in the CD ) on all PCs. Once you put it in, the enclosed programme usually plays automatically. Then again, there are lots of programmes that duplicate EVERYTHING on the CDs...literally. At the end of the copy process, you will have another "COPY-PROTECTED CD" but it's a duplicate :lovegrin: With other programmes, we can even rip off the selected tracks from the COPY-PROTECTED CDs and re-compile them.

I hope this clarifies.
not true. progs like nero will say it's a copy protected and cant copy
 

dEthANGeL

Senior Member
Jun 20, 2004
1,652
0
36
Siglap
#14
Google for a program called - EAC (Exact Audio Copy)

Its known to work for certain drives - I've got 4 optical drives ... so either one cannot .. just switch :p eventually i can rip the entire album :D
 

user111

Senior Member
Jul 27, 2004
4,702
0
36
#16
there will always be a way to crack through the copy protect
 

Malakite

New Member
Jul 3, 2004
225
0
0
37
Singapore
#19
icici.. cools coz i'm using itunes on my mac... was just wondering abt my pc though.

cause i copied the maroon5 album on my pc but i can't port it over to my mac... guess i gotta use the original cd again...

ot abit... who wanna get rid of their cds cheap? heheh :embrass:
 

afbug

Senior Member
Aug 19, 2004
482
0
0
Planet SG™
#20
BTW, OT a bit, how do i know if a cd is copy protected or not? I use audio galaxy to rip my cds. So far so good.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom