Cheap Lens Price in Sim Lim it's is reality?

Status
Not open for further replies.

marboed

Jan 29, 2009
Singapore
www.picasaweb.google.com
hi guys, i am new in Singapore
yesterday i went to Sim Lim Square just looking around to see the lens Price
after asked some shops i found that the price is so cheap than in my country (Indonesia)
i wanted to buy Canon 100mm f2.8 Macro and Canon 50mm f1.4
  1. first is Bally Photo : #02-55
    this shop has good service, and they give me their name card with the price written on it
    100mm f2.8 Macro : $670 - exclude the GST​
    50mm f1.4 : $465 - exclude the GST​
  2. Camera Talk :
    They little bit pissed off when thew knew that i was just checking price (not recommended seller) they didn't even gave me any services when i was asking for the price lens.

then i went to some others stores and the Bally's Photo price is still the best.

3. and the last is I.T. Digital : #01-33
    this was the last shop that i tried to ask and i was very surprised, the owner gave me :
    100mm f2.8 macro for $670 - Include the GST,
    he said that "you just give me $670 and this lens is your, and you will have another 7% rebate for GST at the airport"​
    50mm f1.4 is just $340 - Include the GST also​
    He persuaded me to buy at that time, since i don't know if it's new lens, is it real price, the warranty (the owner said it is international warranty for one year) or anything else, i told him that i would come back this weekend..

is this price is real? how the lens price can be that cheaper than in my country? (30% cheaper) anyone have experience this kind of situation and decided to buy the lens? how's the lens condition?

really need help here, hope i can have a guidance from you guys...

thanks very much

First of all, welcome to Singapore. Hope you enjoy your stay. :)