1D Mk II N - Fill-in Flash


Status
Not open for further replies.

CanTahan

New Member
Apr 1, 2005
42
0
0
Tiong Bahru
Can any 1D Mk 2 N user advice as to how I can set fill-in flash or "forced flash" with a EX580 flash?

Your expert advice will be greatly appreciated.
 

n0d3

Senior Member
Feb 3, 2003
1,511
0
36
The four main Canon EOS “creative” zone modes (P, Tv, Av and M) each handle flash metering in very different ways mind you. Canon EOS cameras always default to fill flash mode when the camera is in Tv, Av and M modes. They also perform fill flash in P mode if ambient light levels are high enough. There’s no separate switch or pushbutton to engage fill flash.
 

Stoned

Senior Member
May 7, 2004
4,378
0
0
33
Changi
www.photo.net
+evenstar said:
Just mount the flash on the camera, switch it on and shoot lor
As simple as this is, it is correct. The flash fires under any camera mode unless you disable the flash firing via custom functions on the flash unit. I favour Av mode for fill flash though, but it should work on the other modes as well.
 

CanTahan

New Member
Apr 1, 2005
42
0
0
Tiong Bahru
Thanks for your advice just the same. Your effort and humor noted.


+evenstar said:
Just mount the flash on the camera, switch it on and shoot lor
 

CanTahan

New Member
Apr 1, 2005
42
0
0
Tiong Bahru
n0d3 said:
The four main Canon EOS “creative” zone modes (P, Tv, Av and M) each handle flash metering in very different ways mind you. Canon EOS cameras always default to fill flash mode when the camera is in Tv, Av and M modes. They also perform fill flash in P mode if ambient light levels are high enough. There’s no separate switch or pushbutton to engage fill flash.
Thanks for the advice. I will try out all the creative mode just to be more comfortable.

In P mode, especially with a fast lens, the flash does not fire when ambient light level is high enough, particularly with a bright background, thus having subject under-exposed, a typical backlight situation. Is this common with 1D Mk 2 N? Or is there some setting problem?
 

CanTahan

New Member
Apr 1, 2005
42
0
0
Tiong Bahru
Stoned said:
As simple as this is, it is correct. The flash fires under any camera mode unless you disable the flash firing via custom functions on the flash unit. I favour Av mode for fill flash though, but it should work on the other modes as well.
Thanks for the advice and tips on Av mode. Will try out in all creative modes as well.
 

John Tan

Senior Member
Aug 28, 2004
5,711
0
36
AMK
It's better to off or remove the 'P' mode in your 1D mk2n by using firewire link control by PC...since it is useless in high end cam.
 

ZeusS

New Member
CanTahan said:
Can any 1D Mk 2 N user advice as to how I can set fill-in flash or "forced flash" with a EX580 flash?

Your expert advice will be greatly appreciated.
The best mode for fill are actually the Tv or Av mode. Cuz in these two mode, the camera still meters for ambient exposure. what you can do is switch to manual mode for flash and play with the output... for outdoor, anywhere from 1/2 to 1/32 stops of fill flash are all possible combination for your usage. 1/64 tends to be a little too weak for out door unless it's heavily overcast.

Well, i can only tell you soo much, gotta try them our yourself ;)
 

CanTahan

New Member
Apr 1, 2005
42
0
0
Tiong Bahru
John Tan said:
It's better to off or remove the 'P' mode in your 1D mk2n by using firewire link control by PC...since it is useless in high end cam.
Hi John. Could you elaborate?
 

CanTahan

New Member
Apr 1, 2005
42
0
0
Tiong Bahru
ZeusS said:
The best mode for fill are actually the Tv or Av mode. Cuz in these two mode, the camera still meters for ambient exposure. what you can do is switch to manual mode for flash and play with the output... for outdoor, anywhere from 1/2 to 1/32 stops of fill flash are all possible combination for your usage. 1/64 tends to be a little too weak for out door unless it's heavily overcast.

Well, i can only tell you soo much, gotta try them our yourself ;)
Thanks ZeusS. Will try it out.
 

CanTahan

New Member
Apr 1, 2005
42
0
0
Tiong Bahru
Belle&Sebastain said:
Read the manual, under Personal Customs, you are able to remove any modes you want.
Thanks Belle&Sebastain, for the reference.
 

oeyvind

Senior Member
Feb 25, 2002
3,833
1
38
www.oeyvind.org
John Tan said:
It's better to off or remove the 'P' mode in your 1D mk2n by using firewire link control by PC...since it is useless in high end cam.
what nonsense is this comment?!
 

xl1

Senior Member
May 5, 2004
2,689
0
36
Under the Son
www.ubans.com
John Tan said:
It's better to off or remove the 'P' mode in your 1D mk2n by using firewire link control by PC...since it is useless in high end cam.
what????.......:bsmilie: :bsmilie:
 

doug3fflux

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2005
1,021
0
36
West of S'pore
the creative modes of canon sets flash exposure very differently..
best to use M mode
 

ConnorMcLeod

New Member
Jul 23, 2005
478
0
0
Singapore, West
ZeusS said:
The best mode for fill are actually the Tv or Av mode. Cuz in these two mode, the camera still meters for ambient exposure. what you can do is switch to manual mode for flash and play with the output... for outdoor, anywhere from 1/2 to 1/32 stops of fill flash are all possible combination for your usage. 1/64 tends to be a little too weak for out door unless it's heavily overcast.

Well, i can only tell you soo much, gotta try them our yourself ;)
Yes. I'd put camera body to M with flash in ETTL2 first and take a test shot. Switch to manual flash if I want a different result.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.