D5100 user...fall in!! Part Two

may I know u brought from jb whuch shop?[/QUOT

Foto cls at ksl. I believe angsana shopping centre got few camera shop so may get better deal.

I think price may have gone up cos when I bought my 5100 the shop Guy told me to get 7100 for s$1200 body only
. But read from here a bro said price when up s$1500.

How much is the market price for 7100 now? Had walk few shop and they dun have stock

Seriously? There is a 7100 model now?

ray4ever91 said:
18-105 is very useful focal length but i don't think Singapore got sell such kit package and cannot buy body only. Btw take note of the crop factor. When selecting lens, remember to multiply by 1.5x to get full frame equivalent.

Bro, sorry to bother, can u explain again regarding crop factor. I understand that dx has a crop factor against fx sensor. Err, i think d5100 is 1.5 crop factor? So how do we see it related to the lens? Thxs.

Konspire said:
Bro, sorry to bother, can u explain again regarding crop factor. I understand that dx has a crop factor against fx sensor. Err, i think d5100 is 1.5 crop factor? So how do we see it related to the lens? Thxs.

What u see on 50mm on a dx camera is what a fx user sees on his 75(50x1.5)mm.

ericshtoh said:
How much is the market price for 7100 now? Had walk few shop and they dun have stock

Ok D7000.
Around 1.8k if I'm not wrong.
But Nikon is low on stocks now. HQ tio Japan Tsunami, factory tio Thailand flooding. Now moved to Malaysia factory already. Or is it still moving?

limmisha said:
NIKON camera is selling like hot cake ......

Hi guys I just got 50mm f1.8D lens have to manual focus on my d5100 .sometime can't focus well or need to adjust exposure....any use mid type of lens

You should have gotten the AFS version. May consider the sigma 50mm F1.4 instead.

Reno said:
You should have gotten the AFS version. May consider the sigma 50mm F1.4 instead.

Ok bro thanks

Reno said:

Reno bro sigma 50mm its not cheap Hahaha ...I seen NIKON 50mm f1.4 G wonder tis lens ok

limmisha said:

Why not af- s 50mm 1.8g? Cheaper and can af on your cam too

luckyorange said:

Yalo looking into it thanks bro

bro, this one is the one selling at $229 right? i saw it at HN. was wondering about that too but didn't know that it's totally manual focus. anyways, just to share with you, i was thinking of prime lens as well looking at it's wide aperture capability but dunno between 35mm n 50mm. so as i read around, a lot of advice before getting the prime lens is to test the present lens we have n set it to 35mm n 50mm to really know which ones we prefer. i tried at 50mm n felt quite tight and at 35mm is ok. but that's just a thought n test la. i'm still able to cope with my present variable range........mayb u shld try that too...no?

Konspire said:
bro, this one is the one selling at $229 right? i saw it at HN. was wondering about that too but didn't know that it's totally manual focus. anyways, just to share with you, i was thinking of prime lens as well looking at it's wide aperture capability but dunno between 35mm n 50mm. so as i read around, a lot of advice before getting the prime lens is to test the present lens we have n set it to 35mm n 50mm to really know which ones we prefer. i tried at 50mm n felt quite tight and at 35mm is ok. but that's just a thought n test la. i'm still able to cope with my present variable range........mayb u shld try that too...no?

For d3000 to d5100 only use manual cos camera no build in AF motor , higher end d300---d7000 can fully AF . U saw at HN is the one D version no AF motor, but it is fun u have to learn to use it also practise the exposure tis lens is very Sharp , maybe oneday decide to upgrade to d7000 ...one more thing 50mm f1.8 got very nice bokeh than the 35mm ..

luckyorange said:
Since oleti bought the D version manual focus lor. Can AF in future I upgrade to higher model

ya la tru oso...good to practice right? probably when i hv the itch to go into prime lens then i consider :)

For d3000 to d5100 only use manual cos camera no build in AF motor , higher end d300---d7000 can fully AF . U saw at HN is the one D version no AF motor, but it is fun u have to learn to use it also practise the exposure tis lens is very Sharp , maybe oneday decide to upgrade to d7000 ...one more thing 50mm f1.8 got very nice bokeh than the 35mm ..

Ask TK foto or cathay photo for a quote for AF 50mm F1.8 D... should be cheaper.... So how I prefer 50mm more on a DX camera. Too wide for FX though...