MRT. Pretty, yet dangerous

alas, i don't think the government is willing to risk another political fallout ala Michael Fay. Prolly just a slap on the wrist for them two

No lah.... what 'fallout' was there during Michael Fay sage... beside Foreign Media bulls**tting how the canning is done when they've totally no idea. :think:

Rule of LAW must follows.... or is a US/Euro drug trafficker going to be let off just because his AngMor ?? ;(

Lets just said I travel all over the island, either North to South (98% of the time).... or East to West (very seldom). ;)

wa... how much is the pay like? very xiong leh:think: if u travel so long ur backside wont pain ar?

No lah.... what 'fallout' was there during Michael Fay sage... beside Foreign Media bulls**tting how the canning is done when they've totally no idea. :think:

Rule of LAW must follows.... or is a US/Euro drug trafficker going to be let off just because his AngMor ?? ;(

hmm. i think that swiss guy will be whipped most likely. garment is likely to want to send otu a clear signal that no jokers are to be allowed drawing on mrts liao.

not that it matters. just stare at buses back row seats the vandalisms. at least the graffiti was still pleasant to the eye:bsmilie: pleasant enough to actually let ppl think it was smrt's own doing

hmm, in this instance, it will really depend on how the DPP want to charge that fellow. He can be charged for vandalism (cutting the fence belonging to LTA - canning). Not forgetting trespassing into "private" property - which if I remember correctly, is a criminal offence.

and / or causing mischief (spray paint on "private" property - fine only). This, the SMRT will have to take a private summon against the fellow.

My guess is that LTA will probably "give chance".

The fence he cut is under LTA.... while SMRT is a listed company.... it is closely link to Temasek. Most ppl also consider SMRT as a GLC company.

But I agree that lawyer would most likely would use what you said to reduce the sentence to mischief. :think:

Granted, even if the government wants very much to cane the fellow, they will also have to ensure that they do not break the law themself. If it falls within the PC, then by all means go ahead and cane that joker. However, if it is in the grey area, then benefit of the doubt will have to be given.

hmm. i think that swiss guy will be whipped most likely. garment is likely to want to send otu a clear signal that no jokers are to be allowed drawing on mrts liao.

not that it matters. just stare at buses back row seats the vandalisms. at least the graffiti was still pleasant to the eye:bsmilie: pleasant enough to actually let ppl think it was smrt's own doing

Not forgetting trespassing into "private" property - which if I remember correctly, is a criminal offence.
The MRT depot is more than a private property, it is also a protected place gazetted under the Protected Areas and Protected Places Act (Chapter 256). The penalty for trespassing are usually quite sever, I work in Changi Airport and there are already a number of cases whereby even Seasonal Airport Pass holder including executives are arrested and charged for loitering around restricted areas on unofficial business.

I'd say cane him. Correct me if im wrong but didnt Michael Fay vandalise private cars? And he was caned for it? So vandalising public property should warrant a heftier sentence. If Singapore wouldn't buckle under US pressure I don't think the Swiss government will have any effect on how we deal with it. A slap on the wrist might ruffle a few feathers in the US i think.

But his graffiti actually quite nice. :sweat:

I'd say cane him. Correct me if im wrong but didnt Michael Fay vandalise private cars? And he was caned for it? So vandalising public property should warrant a heftier sentence. If Singapore wouldn't buckle under US pressure I don't think the Swiss government will have any effect on how we deal with it. A slap on the wrist might ruffle a few feathers in the US i think.

yep same sentiments. his graffiti is quite nice. perhaps when he gets out the mrt will hire him to deco the mrts!

Yes, Michael Fay vandalised private cars. But he also took home a "STOP" sign, which is government property :)

Just read wiki, although its not a credible source the other Hongkonger who was charged with vandalism got even more strokes of the cane during the Michael Fay incident. hmm.

Jail is almost definite. What's the punishment for trespassing into restricted areas?

I think you don't know the Singapore government well enough. lol

Look at the Romanian diplomat case and the Michael Fay incident. The Singapore government is no push over. Despite pleads from then US President Bill Clinton. Singapore still caned his white butt.

The MRT depot is more than a private property, it is also a protected place gazetted under the Protected Areas and Protected Places Act (Chapter 256). The penalty for trespassing are usually quite sever, I work in Changi Airport and there are already a number of cases whereby even Seasonal Airport Pass holder including executives are arrested and charged for loitering around restricted areas on unofficial business.

what are the punishments meted out to these Seasonal Pass Holders? :think:

wa... how much is the pay like? very xiong leh:think: if u travel so long ur backside wont pain ar?

Didn't I called myself a lowly blue-collar worker.... how good do you think the pay is :think:

I started more 12yrs ago with a starting pay of $12xx SGD.... 12yrs later, new drivers are still offered $12xx.... and they have less max leave, and max paid then I have.

Consider us as nothing more than Bus Driver that wear ties.... nothing more :thumbsd:

what are the punishments meted out to these Seasonal Pass Holders? :think:
I can't remember exactly but on the lower end of the scale be prepared to be fined several hundred dollars just for loitering around on unofficial business or even for shopping in the transit lounges as I was told. The seasonal or temporary airport pass of their holders will also be revoked immediately, for employees who required access to restricted areas in their line of work, a revoked airport pass often means an immediate termination from their respective companies.

Note that I am referring to people with privilege access.

I think you don't know the Singapore government well enough. lol

Look at the Romanian diplomat case and the Michael Fay incident. The Singapore government is no push over. Despite pleads from then US President Bill Clinton. Singapore still caned his white butt.

That's very true. There's this chinese saying "When you hit a dog; gotta also see who's the owner". But our govt, will put no one above the law, at most only some discount to cane less.

The first minute of this song like a deja vu...;p

[vid]qp2T8EcTLpU[/vid]

Didn't I called myself a lowly blue-collar worker.... how good do you think the pay is :think:

I started more 12yrs ago with a starting pay of $12xx SGD.... 12yrs later, new drivers are still offered $12xx.... and they have less max leave, and max paid then I have.

Consider us as nothing more than Bus Driver that wear ties.... nothing more :thumbsd:

Whether you're a Bus or Mrt Captain or even sweeper, your role are deeply respect by many.

I believe all human are equal whether he has or without a status.
Although the world is money driven but somethings just cannot be weight by money or status.