Self-Assembled PC

Whao! You really got alot of HDD space and yet you maxed them out already :bigeyes:?

Power!

I only got 1 x 500, 1 x 250, 1 x 300, 1 x 320 and 1 x 80. I'm still having about 300GB free.:)

ya, maxed out...

even my 2x 500gb on docking, 2x 320 in NAS... still got few hdd lying around...

My friend has also started a farm in his room as well with currently, 7 PCs, 2 x 3Com Gigabit switches, 2 modems (1 ST and 1 SH), 1 wireless router, 2 laptops, 1 Wind netbook and another 1U netserver elsewhere...

Basically, I just can't squeezed inside his room anymore... which makes me think that even a cockroach will have problems finding it's way out as well... hahahaha...

For me, I'm simple. 1 PC + Monitor and 1 lappy + HDTV :).

Hi CSers,

Am a newbie and finding learning a lot from this thread.

What would you recommend for an external slim DVD-RW with USB?
The device should be able to write on CD-Rom as well and can be used on
a regular netbook.

The device should be costing around a hundred dollars?

Hi CSers,

a regular netbook.

2002 join = not newbie lor...

100 bucks one, not slim...

anyway, there is some versions out there that don't need power supply... you can look into those.

Hi CSers,

a regular netbook.

Try the Plextor External DVD/CD-RW. You can get it from Cybermind for S$165.

http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/stories/pricelists/cyber-pricelist-diy-page1.gif

Alternatively, you can download the pricelists from here:
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/priceguide/download.php

Google is your friend.

2002 join = not newbie lor...

100 bucks one, not slim...

anyway, there is some versions out there that don't need power supply... you can look into those.

How long you join does not indicate how much you know about IT matters.
PC stuff is new to me even though it has been more than two decades of pressing
the shutter button. Am old school lah!

Try the Plextor External DVD/CD-RW. You can get it from Cybermind for S$165.

http://www.cybermind.com.sg/images/stories/pricelists/cyber-pricelist-diy-page1.gif

Alternatively, you can download the pricelists from here:
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/priceguide/download.php

Google is your friend.

Thanks for the info and appreciate it. I was having a nightmare trying to figure out something
of that sort for around a hundred bucks. Sure there will be more choice as I look around
in SLS or Funan now that I know of Plextor.

I am planning to build one next week. So far, the components I've selected are:
  • Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 3Ghz 1333Mhz 12MB L2 Cache
  • Gigabyte EP45-UD3R Mainboard
  • 16GB RAM (OCZ DDR2 PC2-6400 800MHz Platinum Edition 8GB KIT)
  • Leadtek Nvidia 512MB GTS250
  • 4 x 500GB WD Caviar Black Dual Processor HDD Edition 7200rpm SATA-2 32mb Buffer
  • Asus ATX Casing
  • Vantec 800W Bronze PSU
  • 2 x Samsung 2233SW 21.5" LCD
I still am trying to figure out the additional cooling components.

o_O

Such awesome listing there. Big production going on?

I agree on spending the $$ on a darn good Motherboard + PSU + Storage rather than the CPU Chip. Monitor is another consideration. Chiong for 24".

The list that I got was drafted up by my friend accordingly to what I need and he explained why he choose the Q8200 for me. It does make lotsa sense since I can get a top-notch motherboard - Asus MAXIMUS II Formula. Check it out for those who do not know it. ;)

o_O

Such awesome listing there. Big production going on?

I agree on spending the $$ on a darn good Motherboard + PSU + Storage rather than the CPU Chip. Monitor is another consideration. Chiong for 24".

The list that I got was drafted up by my friend accordingly to what I need and he explained why he choose the Q8200 for me. It does make lotsa sense since I can get a top-notch motherboard - Asus MAXIMUS II Formula. Check it out for those who do not know it. ;)

to me, i dun need the best mobo, but i need the most reliable one... got diff thou...

getting those maximus, striker, etc... its alot more expensive than the normal entry level mobo, cos it can deliver a higher potential from the CPU... and nowadays you upgrade your graphics card more than the mobo or cpu, hence you get a good mobo, after that you change to the higher range cpu when the price is cheaper, it can last u like 2 year or something...

but not really feasible to me, cos i change my system approx yearly... so having a high initial cost esp each time i change is cpu+mobo+ram, makes more sense to buy 2nd best, esp after seeing the current gfx range... you can have like 3870, then 3870x2, then 1 single 4870 trash the 3870x2, then now 4870x2, so i'd rather get probably a 5870 later... or another 4870 for crossfire than to invest in a better mobo for crossfire or SLI.

Intel price is now quite competitive :)
I did build AMD rig before when I found out that it was actually cheaper (and it was truly cheaper).
By the way if you are building AMD, probably better if you combo that with ATI Radeon graphic card cos that is also under AMD. :)
I am just thinking that if it comes from the same company probably they would have make them more compatible. But I could be wrong as I base that on assumption.

Recommendations for a 'good' motherboard to complement the Q9550 processor? the Asus P5Q series can anot? graphic card my friend is also recommending the ATI 48** card. (cant remember exact model no.) its running on DDR5 memory. my budget without LCD is max $1300. this includes parts cost, cab fare and lunch for me and my buddy. :bsmilie:

cab fare 50, lunch 100,

left with 1150...

U can get either 4870 or 4850... but note, 4870 uses more power and hence more heat.

still wondering why M$ still bother with x86 software when almost 80% of new PCs will be at least 4gb to start with... even thou vista x86 can 'see' 4gb' doesn't mean it really use 4gb or more... they should really start to produce drivers for x64, seeing the lack of such drivers makes me superbly sian.

Totally agree!!!

That's how M$ makes $$$ mah... Strategy to own the consumers.

For my build, most important is PSU then, storage then, processor then, mobo then, GPU and lastly RAMs. I have built many systems with value based boards which are running for years stable ;).

Quite a number of post here recommend Asus MAXIMUS II Formula
I'm using it myself. But be warned that the Northbridge can get very hot. High 60 degrees. When running a few apps become >70 degree celcius
The mobo comes installed with its own heat fins to dissipate the heat of the north/southbridge chips... but they also seem difficult to remove to replace with other cooling solutions (e.g. water cooling)

Anyway got same experience? Can advice how you solve this?

Guys.. things seem to be taking a turn for the worse. My CPU now got those 'resonance' sound in addition to the loud compressor sound. The pitch is getting higher too. :sweat::sweat::sweat:

I think you just need to clean the internal of the casing .. well if you had not done so already.