graphics card

jeanie

May 19, 2005
not that i didnt search the web.but for a computer idiot like me, i really confused.
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/priceguide/priceguide.php?id=466&filter=&sortby=name&pg=5

please tell me:

1)what is the LATEST graphics card in the market now.
2)price

for photoshop and occasional gaming but priority is photoshop.

no water cool type please(yes i heard of it:embrass: ).

oh, need to be able to support 2560x1600 resolution please.

not that i didnt search the web.but for a computer idiot like me, i really confused.
http://www.hardwarezone.com.sg/priceguide/priceguide.php?id=466&filter=&sortby=name&pg=5

please tell me:

1)what is the LATEST graphics card in the market now.
2)price

for photoshop and occasional gaming but priority is photoshop.

no water cool type please(yes i heard of it:embrass: ).

since occasional gaming, mainly for photoshop...

i recommend this...

http://www.nvidia.com/object/quadro_fx_5600_4600.html

quadro_fx_5600_4600_main.jpg

yup... no water cooling as well... just a nice big fan...

dca, i thought the higher the number the 'better' or latest it is?

eg, 7800 is newer/better than 7600gt?:dunno:

RAM/HDD space and processor speed more important than graphics card for PS la.

And if number bigger better, than Fujifilm 9600 should be the best camera there is! Unless got other number bigger that I forgot about. =D

RAM/HDD space and processor speed more important than graphics card for PS la.

And if number bigger better, than Fujifilm 9600 should be the best camera there is! Unless got other number bigger that I forgot about. =D

my ram is maxed.
HDD i bought a HDD solely for photoshop.500gb.
processor?i just bought my com not too long ago.dual core-dunno what what what.

only thing is...my graphics card now is 7600gt which according to some, it's kind of 'old'.:embrass:

Your gfx card is way more than enough for PS work....
But it might lag a little if you do intensive GAMING at such resolutions.

*Just to add, changing to a better gfx card adds nothing to your PS work.

7800?

u comparing your desktop to workstation ar...

if like your number idealogy, then i think tis quadro is trash liao...

anyway, currently for gaming, i think 'reasonable' is the 8600GTS since the latest since last year is the 8 series... yours is 7 series...

my ram is maxed.

only thing is...my graphics card now is 7600gt which according to some, it's kind of 'old'.:embrass:

Do you want to know my specs?

1.6 GhZ Celeron, 512 MB RAM, 50 GB HDD space.
And it runs PS relatively fine, if you don't mind lagging once in a while for the heavier general filters.

Yours already should run like clockwork leh, don't listen to them!

Your gfx card is way more than enough for PS work....
But it might lag a little if you do intensive GAMING at such resolutions.

*Just to add, changing to a better gfx card adds nothing to your PS work.

ya, i read some reviews and they said most games dont support reso up to 2560x1600.so my c&c tiberium wars how?will super lag or what?

quick question:

will changing a top of the range graphics card give me 'better' colors?both for games and photoshop?

my ram is maxed.

its not a matter of hdd space... its a matter of allocation...

for eg, u got 2 hdd, 500gb each.

1 500gb for OS, Photoshop, etc
1 500gb for your pics
1 500gb for storage

vs

1 Raptor 74gb for OS
1 Raptor 74gb for applications
1 Raptor 74gb for scratch
1 500gb for storage

u do think about it lor... i dun believe in Raid... well... if u wanna raid it then by all means...

Do you want to know my specs?

1.6 GhZ Celeron, 512 MB RAM, 50 GB HDD space.
And it runs PS relatively fine, if you don't mind lagging once in a while for the heavier general filters.

Yours already should run like clockwork leh, don't listen to them!

clock my .....!!!!!
when i view my raw pics in lightroom, and when they render the previews, it's SLOW!but acceptable lah.and if i view more than 100+ raw pics one by one, guess what LR tells me?

OUT OF MEMORY

its not a matter of hdd space... its a matter of allocation...

for eg, u got 2 hdd, 500gb each.

1 500gb for OS, Photoshop, etc
1 500gb for your pics
1 500gb for storage

vs

1 Raptor 74gb for OS
1 Raptor 74gb for applications
1 Raptor 74gb for scratch
1 500gb for storage

u do think about it lor... i dun believe in Raid... well... if u wanna raid it then by all means...

what's RAID?

ok, i have a 500GB for ps scratch disk
a 500 for OS
more than 1TB for storage.(external and internal)
will that suffice?

For games that don't support up to that resolution, u'll have to play it at lower res lor, meaning that it'll appear more pixelated (though it shouldnt really be noticeable).

If you are playing games that do more 3D stuff, like first person shooters, den u'll see the lag, if not I think it should be very smooth already.

And no, colours dun get "better", 32 bit on a 10yr old card is the same as it is now.

quick question:

will changing a top of the range graphics card give me 'better' colors?both for games and photoshop?

u mean old cards will discount colors, so with each new development, they add more colors as well?

hmm... how come i still only get 32bit max? hmm... but then again, i'm blind... so dun ask me...

anyway, colors are simulated in games, so if u play games not optimised, u get no diff, except faster in adverse reaction... slower...

since occasional gaming, mainly for photoshop...

i recommend this...

http://www.nvidia.com/object/quadro_fx_5600_4600.html

quadro_fx_5600_4600_main.jpg

yup... no water cooling as well... just a nice big fan...

:D comes with a fantastic price as well. Most people would rather buy a D200 + 70-200VR with the $$ i believe, but if you actually want to do work, that's the price you'll have to pay.
Otherwise, a $100 card and a $800 card, you wouldn't notice any difference at all for photoshop.

clock my .....!!!!!
when i view my raw pics in lightroom, and when they render the previews, it's SLOW!but acceptable lah.and if i view more than 100+ raw pics one by one, guess what LR tells me?

OUT OF MEMORY

so jia lat meh, my room system, i run on 3gb ram more than 1 terabyte split with 6 hdd, never get slow or out of memory, guess wat, 3 year old machine... upgrading soon...

oh ya, bittorrent running on background...

For scratch disk, its recommended to have something fast rather than big.

So raptors (just a specific model of HDD from western digital) are good, but they are incredibly expensive-per-GB.

RAID means either striping or redundancy. In the case of striping, you use several HDD to act as 1 single HDD, so the load is spread out. You get faster read/write that way but it's more vulnerable to crashes as it only takes 1 HDD out of all your raided HDD to fail to affect the system.