Has ClubSNAP become a sourcing spot for cheap photographers. Are we being taken adv?

Are we being taken advantage off?

As a newbie, you need the experience and exposure more than the pay/fees. Along the way, there are many things that you will pick up and learn to relate to client/other ppl in the team. Basically have fun. ;)

if ppl would just stop reciting what they heard from someone else from someone else from someone else how much someone they heard can charge, and everything else is not worth to do/undertake.

its happening everywhere, no just photography

Yes it make sense that some people starting out giving a lower price to gain some business, but I think its a steep slope, U start low,, you stay low, its rather hard to climb up a slippery wet slope right?

I mean if you charge $100 this time, then people find your service and quality very good, introduce a friend to you, then you decided ok time to go up, u say $200. they'll go WAH I thought 'A' said you were $100?? Most of them will walk away, some will even say you out to rip people off.

If everyone maintains a minimum standard and price, and work hard to get business via your own speciality, the place would be a better place. Those whom cannot think of anything good to sell, Then i think you're most probably not really suitable for this line

Cheap is a very attractive factor, every one even the rich is attracted to cheap and good stuff. very natural one lor.

well just my 5 cents.. hope i didn't offend anyone

synapseman said:
If there's one thing I don't understand about people in S'pore, it that they are so willing to splash out on invitation cards, the location for the banquet, the suit and gown, the Mercedes rental, the food, the gifts, the DJ/Emcee, etc.

But when it comes to the photographer, they stinge. It kinda blows my mind, really. They will ask, discuss, ponder, then in the end say something like, "oh, we've got a cousin who will shoot for us."

Event photography is diff from artistic photography. The bride won't look very very diff if she forks out 5 times the price for a good photographer, than one who can do it for a fraction of the cost. People dun usu know the diff between a artistic photo and a event photo. Couples just want the documentation, not the studio type for wedding days, i thot.

Question: Has ClubSNAP become a sourcing spot for cheap photographers. Are we being taken adv?

Now that the question had been asked for so long already, the answer had changed.

My answer: No. It "has not become". It IS a sourcing spot for cheap photographers. Even if there are tons of photogs who lashed at any efforts to exploit photographers, the TS would have gotten what he/she wanted within a very short time.

And judging by the responses here on the thread. It will continue to be.

It depends on how photographers market themselves.
The portfolio speaks for themselves.

The price of your services must be justified by your level of professionalsim and quality of end product. That's the way you have to market yourself.

You cannot be just selling photography.

wtd28cf6.gif

I think those who are just starting out and offering ridiculously low rates have no inkling of the business side of photography. The mistaken belief that you need to charge low rates to win customers is flawed cause you're not going to last as a business, period. I feel newbies needing to learn the craft of doing say wedding or event photography should offer their services free and seriously evaluate the quality of their work before venturing to even charge serious money for it. Wishful thinking but that's the way I'd go if I want to do it as a career.

If newbies want the experience, they should do volunteer work. There are alot of charity organisations out there that can make use of your free services. Start from there & increase your portfolio.

Ultimately, a client will pay your worth after looking at your portfolio. :)

Event photography is diff from artistic photography. The bride won't look very very diff if she forks out 5 times the price for a good photographer, than one who can do it for a fraction of the cost. People dun usu know the diff between a artistic photo and a event photo. Couples just want the documentation, not the studio type for wedding days, i thot.

event photography can be shot artisticly, its the photographer your eye to look out for the artistic side of the images, couples want beautiful rendered images of themselves they spent 10-30k on the day itself.

on the flip side, i seen so many badly taken studio type photography, it hurts my eyes.

Well said :thumbsup:
Fair, inspiring and logical.

I believe everybody must start from somewhere
SOMETIMES whether we like it or not, charging for free or cheaply is the only window of opportunity for newcomer to gain more experience and learn the trade in hardway.
There is nothing better then gaining experience by actually doing it rather then reading it from the book or by attending many proffesional courses.

I believe we need to give people a chance to try.
Sometimes they make it, sometimes they dont.
How to get a chance?
Well, I suppose many newbies think the easist way out is to do it for FREE.:dunno: ( i think)

I personally felt many expert or experiences photographer in the industries don't/ rarely/ not keen to share the secret of their trade (I cant blame them ;p )
I have tried few times asking my others fellow photographer if its ok I tag along with them to his wedding shoot or at least learn what normally/ how they do it.
What is the process, how they handle situation and etc etc etc (You can't learn all this in class or book).
BUT, most of the time you will get the answer: "ah lah, dont do it lah. its very tiring job. you start from morning to night.......bla bla bla.........and bla bla bla........"
After a while, you get the hints what his trying to tell you.
So sometimes I always have this feeling doing it for free its another best ALTERNATIVE to gain more experiences.

I dont support nor againts the newbies doing it for free.
But I just believe everyone should be given a chance to start from somewhere.
The rest is up to them....(Just my own opinion to share :sweat: )

Note: Photography is just my hobby and I have never make a cents out of my camera since I started.:cry:

i've to acknowledge first that i'm not a wedding photographer. but i do understand from where they are coming from. it could be a tough job nevertheless.

and another thing is that it is not so easy to tag along another photographer, especially when he need to take photos. a photographer cannot concentrate on taking good photos and teaching another person at the same time, that is either on travelling or on the run of a work. that is unless he does not need to look around for things to shoot and is not shooting himself, then he can share and revise what you are doing. like what ken rockwell says, "Creation is a solitary act. I can't create photos if I'm being distracted, watched or asked questions. I need to get out on my own and concentrate."

just a quick observation, when i first started this thread many moons ago, the poll was more towards that we were killing ourselves. A lot has changed/happened since than and i notice that most people now seem to think that its all part of the game. Could this perhaps be a change in attitude and an increased feeling of hopelessness amongst the pro-am community?

I don't think it is a change in attitude. Those who thinks it's exploittion, seems to hold the line. The others, this "part of the game" excuse is an excuse to justify their irrational pricing behavior.

I agree with you. however since each person can only vote once, it can only mean that there are more and more people offering "irrational prices" and that as a portion of the community, they are on the rise. So i guess they might now actually represent the majority of the community.

Nvm, stats has never been my strong point and i'll not try to dispute your conclusions deadpoet. I agree though, i'm NOT BUCKING either!!!!

Then let them all go bankrupt from their irrational pricing behaviour. :bsmilie: In the long run... only the true professionals will be left. The dent in income from such people won't hurt for long.

The digital revolution is responsible for much of this phenomenon.

The ease at which photographs can be produced has created an entirely new wave of photographers, some of whom are gifted with exceptional compositional skills.

Ever gave a camera to a child and asked them to take pictures? You'll be surprised.

We just have to live with the changing times. The influx of photographers will naturally depress prices.

As an aside, just as there are business-challenged photographers, there are artistically-challenged professionals.

I'm not sure if the "in the long run" theory holds true. For every irrational pricer who goes bankrupt, there will be 2 more uprising upstarts will will take his place. Babies are born every day, and new startups are born every day too.

Hence, don't keep your hopes up that they will disappear and only "true professionals" left. Upstarts are a renewable resource.

Then let them all go bankrupt from their irrational pricing behaviour. :bsmilie: In the long run... only the true professionals will be left. The dent in income from such people won't hurt for long.

In the game of chess, your opponent can choose use his pieces to exchange for all your precious pieces just to mess up the game. It is up to you to play to win the game... The rule of the game do not restrict this type of playing style...