SMRT Case Study

..., more ERP gantries..

*Consipracy* :think:

Cars are cheap nowadays? Don't get fooled by them. Cars is meant to make $$ out of it. If it doesn't, don't even think about getting one. Unless, you earn a lot & got no where to spend 'OR' really need one to make $$ out of it.
That's my philosophy.

Cars are cheap nowadays? Don't get fooled by them. Cars is meant to make $$ out of it. If it doesn't, don't even think about getting one. Unless, you earn a lot & got no where to spend 'OR' really need one to make $$ out of it.
That's my philosophy.
There's a saying, "Never spend more than 25% of ur take home pay on a car unless u want to commit financial suicide."

Anyway, despite lowering COEs and car prices, if everyone did their math, monthly payment of cars remain relatively stable at approximately a minimum of $1K/mth. The lowering of COE and car prices are just a distraction.

See and attain enlightenment. *Oummmmm~~~~*

I just hate the old 9 seaters (from 1 end of the door to the other door). It's just meant for ladies/kids size only. Not for man at all. So does the bus seats space. You can't even fit your knees into that small gap from the seat in front of you.
The newer are 7 seats. Just nice for all sizes.:)

Dear Spectrum:

Please don't hate the old 9 seaters. The seats are not meant for a big and strong man like you.

Rightfully, the seats should first go to the elderly/young children, follow by the needy, and then the woman and ladies.

I believe a gentleman like you will agree with me, hor?

Dear Spectrum:

Please don't hate the old 9 seaters. The seats are not meant for a big and strong man like you.

Rightfully, the seats should first go to the elderly/young children, follow by the needy, and then the woman and ladies.

I believe a gentleman like you will agree with me, hor?
Ever met thin, small-sized men with balls the size of melons between their thighs? :confused:

I doubt it will cost $2mil each car. Most likely $1mil each, the rest of the $millions for the management to report another record income, to increase their payouts, and (if any left) to pay dividends to shareholders.

i actually dun mind old train and buses. last time old buses without aircon i also dun mind even on hot days.

i just hope that there will be increased in train and bus frequency. :embrass:

i actually dun mind old train and buses. last time old buses without aircon i also dun mind even on hot days.

:thumbsup: tas wat i wanna hear...

but hiring drivers for both train and buses aren't that easy anymore. not many local lads are keen on the job and Transitlink need to hire malaysians to fill the void.

Same mind here.. It is not that we are going to stay and sleep in the cabin. Just fetch me to my destination in double quick time, and I will be very happy. Actually, In the morning and night, I like to travel on old buses with open window. Now all extinct liao.

He doesn't need a doctor, the chap needs me.... with a big needle. :devil:

Yup, a sharp needle is the best treatment for sickness related to inflation including inflated balls. ahahaha.

they have the same (irritating) announcements broadcast over and over again :bsmilie:

Maybe the voice is sexier over at the NEL.

I think one effective way to move the crowd to the center of the cabin is blow air con at the center only.

If they dun do these upgrade how to raise price fare?
You know, in the world of business, generally cost savings are much much more attractive than cost expenditure.

Usually if expenditure is not required, no company would upgrade just for the sake of jacking up price fares. 0.o

Same mind here.. It is not that we are going to stay and sleep in the cabin. Just fetch me to my destination in double quick time, and I will be very happy. Actually, In the morning and night, I like to travel on old buses with open window. Now all extinct liao.

I agree about bus, but for MRT I'd rather have the usual 5 minute frequency instead of the train driver coming to a hard stop right before the station in the tunnel simply because the people on the train before mine were too slow in getting on, blah blah blah.

SMRT spends $142m to makeover 66 trains. That means each train gets $2.15m.
Now the question, what are the purposes of this makeover?
Is it for practical reasons like better efficiency and productivity?
Or is it done to satisfy Singaporeans desire for material possessions? New looks, new feels, trendy seats ect…

Did we emphasize too much on the hardware and neglected the software?
I was traveling on a train yesterday at 4.30pm. The train is pretty new, with fewer seats and colorful fittings. However, I am not comfortable. The cabin is stuffy and the temperature is hot because the aircon is blowing just air at normal room temperature. I change train at Jurong East and hope it will get better. The temperature is right this time, but the PA system is so loud that it is piercing my eardrum.
Would it make me a better runner if I wear $300 skin fit running shoes while you are wearing a $30 lotto sport shoes? So what are Singaporeans made of? It seems like government is doing a great job to give these aging trains a new facelift and we people benefit from it and are very happy.

SMRT puts up the CCTV some time ago. Is it helpful in disaster prevention? Can it activate the emergency button and response to situations? Or just being there for the feel good effects and give the aftermath when disaster happened, who jumped the platform and at what time?
Not too long ago, a train pulled out of Clementi station with a woman’s leg caught in between the train and the platform gap.
SMRT and the newspaper reported what had happened but did not give us an analysis why the tragedy happened and what had gone wrong. We all happily accepted the reports put up by them. Imagine, the train is stationary, the driver has the CCTV and Control station to assist him/her, yet can still roll out of the station with someone caught up between the train.

My points here are, we allow the wasting of precious resources just to feed our pride and ego. We should keep essential services at its most basic form. Are we looking forward to sofa seats in the train, and the train will have Fisrt Class, business and economy seats.
If I hire another 66 drivers to cut short the waiting time, it would cost me $5200 per day, assuming each driver costs $80 per day. I can run for 27307 days, and that is 74 years.

one story tat i recalled sometime back tat reflects how sometimes we dun have to spend $100,000 to solve a $1 problem...

jus my two cents worth..

SIMPLE NOT STUPID

This is the story of an empty soap box. It happened at a large cosmetics company.
A customer complained that the soap box she bought was empty. Very quickly the company found that the problem was in the assembly line. For some reason, one soap box went through without being filled with soap.

The engineers were asked to solve the problem. They decided on an X-ray machine with two persons watching the screen to make sure the boxes were not empty. Can you imagine how much this solution would cost?

When a worker in a small company was given the same problem, he bought a powerful electric fan to blow at the boxes on the assembly line. If a soap box is empty, it will be blown away. Everyone will know it is empty. There will be no more soap boxes leaving the factory empty.

The lesson for all of us: Be as simple as possible, though we do have to bear in mind what Albert Einstein said: “Everything should be as simple as possible, but not simpler.” Always look for simple solutions. Problems are not solved by throwing money away; they are solved by thinking with imagination. A good solution does not need to be expensive; an expensive solution may not be good.

Thus if you have a solution for some problems you see at work, but are hesitating to send them in to us because you think it’s too simple. Wait no more. Send them in to us now. Remember:

Simple does not mean stupid. Simple solutions are the best.

Heh this reminds me of a joke.
In outer space, where there are no gravity, it is very difficult for astronaunt to write. The ink of the pen will float instead of sticking on the paper. So the smart American invested $1m for scientist to invent a pen that can write in space under no gravity condition.

Russian use pencil.

one story tat i recalled sometime back tat reflects how sometimes we dun have to spend $100,000 to solve a $1 problem...

jus my two cents worth..

SIMPLE NOT STUPID

This is the story of an empty soap box. It happened at a large cosmetics company.
A customer complained that the soap box she bought was empty. Very quickly the company found that the problem was in the assembly line. For some reason, one soap box went through without being filled with soap.

The engineers were asked to solve the problem. They decided on an X-ray machine with two persons watching the screen to make sure the boxes were not empty. Can you imagine how much this solution would cost?

When a worker in a small company was given the same problem, he bought a powerful electric fan to blow at the boxes on the assembly line. If a soap box is empty, it will be blown away. Everyone will know it is empty. There will be no more soap boxes leaving the factory empty.

The lesson for all of us: Be as simple as possible, though we do have to bear in mind what Albert Einstein said: “Everything should be as simple as possible, but not simpler.” Always look for simple solutions. Problems are not solved by throwing money away; they are solved by thinking with imagination. A good solution does not need to be expensive; an expensive solution may not be good.

Thus if you have a solution for some problems you see at work, but are hesitating to send them in to us because you think it’s too simple. Wait no more. Send them in to us now. Remember:

Simple does not mean stupid. Simple solutions are the best.
Unfortunately, ppl who think simple get simple solutions to solve seemingly complex problems are all stuck at the bottom since they think too simply.

Those who think complex stays on top since they have to play a game called 'politics' to outmanuever their competition.

Damn the upside down world.