Keep your window shades up? WHY?!

true to our creed indeed :bsmilie:
gotta ask my pilot friends why the requirement, i've always found it irritating esp when you're the one next to the window and the sun's in your face.
all the speculation aside, its a human thing, same as why we have windows in MRT trains even though the NE line is all underground. ppl need to see what's going on, its a psychological thing. fights claustraphobia i guess...

Must be a collective conspiracy by the FAAA or NTSB, the airline industry must be laffing their ass off hiding in the cockpits or pantries or watever looking at the passengers they made to squirm their eyes with their sun in their face right?

I got a friend working in SIA last time. I asked her why & she told me
is to let you all aware of what happening outside if 'anything happened' when taking
off & landing....
obviously she only paid half attention during lecture. Klose has got it right. Your friend got the gist of it right. :bsmilie: ask her to retake her tests again!

But they always ask us to keep the window shades up but never tell us to look out, they never tell us that we are an integral part to the whole important process of the fright....what if I never look out....

I heard that stewardess are assessed more for their beauty than their mental ability, so I think his friend should be ok... heh;p

But they always ask us to keep the window shades up but never tell us to look out, they never tell us that we are an integral part to the whole important process of the fright....what if I never look out....

I heard that stewardess are assessed more for their beauty than their mental ability, so I think his friend should be ok... heh;p

frankly, if a wing fell off, i wouldn't want to witness the process as we hurtle to an end, except to shoot the pictures of a lifetime and document the passengers' final moments. :bsmilie: can't believe that passengers would be expected to help keep a lookout, then those at window seats should pay discounted fares :think:

Seats fully upright so that you don't slide under the safety belt in the event of a sudden stop. The belts are meant to restrain you at your waist.

sO in the event of a handblake stop I'll be safe? I dun see how I can slide under the seat infront when i'm already cramped up like a shrimp as it is already.

I knew there's gonna be smart alec replies like that... But really?:confused:

If you are not going to expect answer like this one, you should just write in to the airlines for answer. TIE.:)

ya I thought there was a similar thread like this some weeks back.

The reason should be like what some of the people said, increase the chances of noticing something wrong.

Believe it or not, there was a crash when one of the engines of the plane failed, the PILOT diagnose the WRONG engine and switched off the WORKING engine...... The show said that if ANY of the passengers or crew ACTUALLY reported to the pilot which engine was SMOKING, the crash could have been averted.

Uncle, it is not very polite to insist or ask customers to keep a lookout. Imagine how it would sound, "Passengers on the left, please keep an eye on the left engine and report if you see any smoke"

I think the best solution is just leave the blinds up, and increase the chances lor.

after reading then i know it is about aeroplanes. at first i thot it is microsoft windows, i read until blur blur :bsmilie:

I think it was bought about by the media.

They want to get those shots of the faces when people find out they will be taxiing for 2 hours,

because of an industrial strike :bsmilie:

Safety.

The reasoning is that you need to be able to rapidly and clearly assess the conditions outside during an evacuation.

The reasons the window shades must be up during take off and landing is so that in event of engine fire or smoke then passengers can alert the FAs who will in turn alert the pilots. As pilots cant see everything during the take off and sometimes nothing is indicated in the cockpit. Also, if part of the flaps tear or any other peculiar thing that may happen then passengers are the eyes. In the event of an evacuation having the window shades up also allow passengers to see the outside conditions and adjust accordingly, for eg. if there's a fire on that end then don't run to that exit but another.

this is the CORRECT answer.

I have ever asked a flight stewardess similar questions... (a weak attempt to chat up the flight stewadess ;p )

The reason given was to allow the passenger to be aware of what's happening outside should an emergency happen. This supposedly helps the passengers react to the situation when needed. This is also the reason for the cabin lights to be turned off during night landing/takeoff so that the passenger can see the outside of the plane.

BC

I have ever asked a flight stewardess similar questions... (a weak attempt to chat up the flight stewadess ;p )
The reason given was to allow the passenger to be aware of what's happening outside should an emergency happen. This supposedly helps the passengers react to the situation when needed. This is also the reason for the cabin lights to be turned off during night landing/takeoff so that the passenger can see the outside of the plane.

BC

so lame.:bsmilie:

i believe the most dangerous part is taking off and landing cos a lot of heat is produce, so hav to look out for them

You are partially correct. The TOL is the most dangerous aspect of flight. Check wake turbulence.

so after take off , it is auto-pilot all the way? :bsmilie:

A plane is also capable of landing. When auto land is engaged, there is more than just one auto pilot flying the aircraft. During the process, where the A/P is engaged and approach is armed, the aircraft will intercept the localizer and glideslope (ILS landing). The system is designed in a way that it will cross check for any discrepancies. If there are any, the landing sequence will be downgraded to a CATII or NO Autoland.

Afaik, SQ's aircraft have to have an auto land every 28 days. It is not uncommon to see them done about once a week and it is recorded in the aircraft log and tracked. This is to make sure that they system is fully operational in the event of a CATIIIC landing.