Which memory card for the 30D? Extreme III or Ultra II

Status
Not open for further replies.

glt

Feb 24, 2004
Hi, i've been out of the DLSR scene for a long time. I got a 30D and need to buy a another CF card. I'm thinking of either a 8gb or a 4gb card.

I would like to get recomendations or advice whether i should choose the Extreme III cards vs the the Ultra 2s.

Does an 'old' camera like the 30D benefit from the higher speeds of the Extreme IIIs?

im using the Kingston 133X CF card.
no difference to me because i'm not a pro. 8GB for $29 only.
Sandisk Ultra II is $34 for 4GB. Extreme III not too sure.

I think even with 40D, Ultra II will be good enough. Not unless you have those cameras that can support UMDA then I would suggest getting at least Extreme III or higher.

If you are looking in upgrading your camera, perhaps you want to plan ahead and get the faster ones, otherwise you can stay at Ultra II.

According to this test, seems like there isn't much difference between using Extreme and Ultra, difference is less than an MB/sec.

Kinda like 5D Classic, equally slow.

Don't waste your moola. Ultra II is good enough. You won't notice the difference in speed of the camera burst. Unless you work in extreme temperatures, then Ultra II is the way to go. Much cheaper too.

I just bought my 4GB Ultra II at Chamoxa Funan Centre at $36.90. You need to take note though, as cheaper Ultra IIs may not come with lifetime warranty. Always purchase the card in its original packaging.

im using the Kingston 133X CF card.
no difference to me because i'm not a pro. 8GB for $29 only.
Sandisk Ultra II is $34 for 4GB. Extreme III not too sure.

Can share where you got the Kingston? the 133x is faster than ultra II from RG website.

Thanks guys for the advice, i guess will get the Ultra IIs. Cheers

A faster card may not benefit the camera but I am sure it will benefit transfers through a card reader no?

Don't get the kingston 133X. :thumbsd:
get the sandisk instead.