what the best ISO to use for macro?


Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#2
what iso to use for macro from 100-1000?
Depends on your lighting and aperture and desired shutter speed (same as with all photography). I recommend reading up the newbie stickies in the macro section, as well as the stickies here in the newbies corner. Specifically, learn about exposure.
 

TWmilkteaTW

Senior Member
May 30, 2011
2,251
1
0
#5
The general guideline would be.. "As much as possible, you would want to use the lowest possible ISO"
But before that. You will need to ensure that ISO can give you the shutter speed you want or is sufficient enough for your intended purpose.

Different situation calls for different setting. Also depend on your set up.
 

gr17poo

New Member
Apr 12, 2011
62
0
0
#6
generally, should stick to 100 only but thats just me :)
 

SkyStrike

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 29, 2010
3,444
11
38
Somewhere
#7
so long it can get me the shot I want without getting the final output too noisy, I don't care what's the ISO is at...

That said, the lower ISO the better but it have to be enough for you to get the shot you want
 

Blur Shadow

Senior Member
Sep 17, 2005
4,886
4
0
#8
The only guideline is - as low as you can. I'm not that crazy for macro, but I have seen some good work at ISO 400 and even ISO 800.
 

kohbro

New Member
Dec 30, 2011
156
0
0
#9
Blur Shadow said:
The only guideline is - as low as you can. I'm not that crazy for macro, but I have seen some good work at ISO 400 and even ISO 800.
So iso 50 is better than iso 100? Cos I vaguely remember ready smwhere that iso 50 shd not be used unless necessary. Or did i remember wrongly....
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#10
So iso 50 is better than iso 100? Cos I vaguely remember ready smwhere that iso 50 shd not be used unless necessary. Or did i remember wrongly....
Depends on your camera sensor. Go read the reviews to see if it is a native ISO or a "expanded" ISO range. Best noise, details, DR, etc, will be at the native ISO of your sensor.
 

kohbro

New Member
Dec 30, 2011
156
0
0
#11
Rashkae said:
Depends on your camera sensor. Go read the reviews to see if it is a native ISO or a "expanded" ISO range. Best noise, details, DR, etc, will be at the native ISO of your sensor.
Got it. Thanks for highlighting.
 

eleveninth

Senior Member
Jan 17, 2006
6,218
2
38
#12
if you're using off cam flash. stick to 100.

if ambient it depends on available light really. heck these days iso 3200 is quite clean FOR ME.
 

Top Bottom