Wacom Tables problems with Vista


Status
Not open for further replies.

Deadpoet

Senior Member
Oct 18, 2004
4,619
0
0
#1
I am running into problems with Wacom Tablet working with Vista.

For some unknown reason, the Tablet and pen will revert back to working as a mouse, but only after a period of inactivity. What I meant is, as pen and tablet, wherever I point the pen on the tablet, the cursor should jump to the corresponding point on the screen. This cease to happen after a period of inactivity.

Once I reboot the pc, the pen will work like a charm, until a period of inactivity takes place.

Anyone with similar problems.

I have updated to the latest driver from Wacom.
I am running Vista. Changing back to XP is not an option, nor switching to Mac.
 

Francis247

Moderator
Staff member
Jul 10, 2005
6,627
0
36
Hougang, Punggol
forums.clubsnap.com
#2
I am running into problems with Wacom Tablet working with Vista.

For some unknown reason, the Tablet and pen will revert back to working as a mouse, but only after a period of inactivity. What I meant is, as pen and tablet, wherever I point the pen on the tablet, the cursor should jump to the corresponding point on the screen. This cease to happen after a period of inactivity.

Once I reboot the pc, the pen will work like a charm, until a period of inactivity takes place.

Anyone with similar problems.

I have updated to the latest driver from Wacom.
I am running Vista. Changing back to XP is not an option, nor switching to Mac.
I understand your problem.
I am using XP but also facing similar problem.
I believe that you connected quite a few of USB devices to your computer I presume.
I believe the problem lies with the USB hub.

To overcome this problem, I usually just pull out the USB for the Wacom and reconnect it back then it will resume it function.
 

photobum

Deregistered
Apr 17, 2005
3,068
0
0
52
#3
Funny thing is I have never encounter this problem before regardless of whether the computer is operated in XP, Vista or Mac OS (In my studio, I have computers that use these OSes and each has a Wacom Intuos 3 tablet connected to it).

In addition, I am too lazy to download the latest driver. I always use the accompanied driver in the CD.
 

wesley

New Member
Oct 27, 2003
267
0
0
Singapore
www.memphiswest.com
#4
I am running into problems with Wacom Tablet working with Vista.
I have updated to the latest driver from Wacom.
I am running Vista. Changing back to XP is not an option, nor switching to Mac.
Have you tried plugging it straight into the USB port on the motherboard instead of going through a hub?

Wes
 

Deadpoet

Senior Member
Oct 18, 2004
4,619
0
0
#6
The tablet is plugged directly to the mother board.

I had actually more USB devices when I was using XP, and had never encounter this problem.
 

wesley

New Member
Oct 27, 2003
267
0
0
Singapore
www.memphiswest.com
#7
The tablet is plugged directly to the mother board.

I had actually more USB devices when I was using XP, and had never encounter this problem.
This doesn't sound good. It could be due to a few factors (motherboard, mobo+vista, mobo+wacom software, etc). When you meant period of inactivity, do you mean the PC goes into sleep mode or no? Windows sleep modes (XP and Vista) have some small issues.

Wes
 

theRBK

Senior Member
May 16, 2005
2,048
1
0
#8
inactivity as in the comp goes into sleep mode?... maybe switch off sleep mode... may be some kind of prob with the tablet driver... me, I have not seen this problem cause I prefer the tablet to be in mouse mode and my comp's sleep mode has always been disabled...

just dug into the power settings (control panel/power options/change plan settings/change advanced power settings)... there is this option in advanced power settings called "USB settings" where there is the option "USB selective suspend setting"... if this is enabled, maybe can try to disable it... might stop USB from going to sleep... mine is disabled... hope this works :)
 

Deadpoet

Senior Member
Oct 18, 2004
4,619
0
0
#9
Yes, when I meant inactivity, the pc has entered sleep mode. The problem happens when I wake up the pc.

If I unplug the tablet and plug it back in, it works fine again.

Will disable sleep mode and see if it helps.
 

yehosaphat

Senior Member
Oct 28, 2005
2,703
0
0
North
#10
I am and running Vista with Wacom tablet. No issues with mine too. Do check your USB connection
 

i12cu

New Member
Mar 21, 2004
23
0
1
#11
Me too.. Yet to have problem hot-plugging for either XP and Vista. I'm using an Intuos3 tablet.
 

Deadpoet

Senior Member
Oct 18, 2004
4,619
0
0
#12
seemed plugging directly to the motherboard solved the problem.
 

yehosaphat

Senior Member
Oct 28, 2005
2,703
0
0
North
#13
Strange, mine is plugged to my usb hub and is working fine..
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom