Sound Bar


Status
Not open for further replies.

phoakm

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2003
7,385
0
36
43
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
www.flickr.com
#1
Hi, seeking audio or sound expertise here. I tried to google on the mentioned item, there are all types and bands mentioned, from sony to samsung. Every item have good reviews and blah blah. :sweat:

The reason why I am getting this, is to reduce the messy wiring behind my cupboard and table. And dislike drilling holes onto the wall. Currently having 5 speakers and 1 woofer sound systems from Sony with limited functions.

I would like to know which are good and would like to listen to the users here their personal opinion.

This is my requirement:
- The sound bar will be used for room usage.
- at least a 5.1 surround sound
- able to play DVD
- able to play the sound from my Sony PS3 Slim
- Dimension of the item must be small (Small enough for room usage)
- My budget is around $500 - $800

Thanks in advance. Cheers! :)
 

iMac08

New Member
Sep 4, 2008
1,122
0
0
Tiong Bahru,Singapore
www.flickr.com
#2
i have a philip one.choose it because i don't want all these messy wiring too.mount it direct under my lcd.looks sleek.sound quality is average of course compare to those 20k -150k home theatre system. I connect it to lcd,1 blu ray, airpod express,wii.there's a dock for ipod.
 

phoakm

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2003
7,385
0
36
43
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
www.flickr.com
#3
i have a philip one.choose it because i don't want all these messy wiring too.mount it direct under my lcd.looks sleek.sound quality is average of course compare to those 20k -150k home theatre system. I connect it to lcd,1 blu ray, airpod express,wii.there's a dock for ipod.
Bro, which model? Got link? ;p

I just saw this Sony HT-CT100
 

Mar 5, 2006
262
0
0
#5
There is a reason why speakers need to be spaced out. Getting an all in one unit and calling it 5.1 is an overstatement. It wont perform well and you might be better off with just three channels in front of you.

For eg, if the roar of the enemy approach is supposed to be coming from behind, with the rear channels pushed to the front, they may seem to be coming from the front. There is a limit as to how much you can delay the timing from each channel, but it still wont put the staging correct.

However, if you have some money just to get it because it is in the wish list, but within your workspace limitation, then get a cheap 5.1 system and line the speakers all in front. It still work anyway and there you have it.

The art behind reducing wiring clutter is in concealing it. Since it is a budget system and you do not really need very high quality output, then spend some time to rewire the whole system, running along the false ceilings, buy new carpets to hide wires, drill holes between cupboards, etc etc... But if you are married, just dont tell your other half you are punching holes and whacking nails everywhere to secure cables. Just call it a maintenance routine.

BTW, i am no expert in sound... I am just a stereo person. Left and right is more than enough for my ears.:bsmilie:
 

phoakm

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2003
7,385
0
36
43
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
www.flickr.com
#6
There is a reason why speakers need to be spaced out. Getting an all in one unit and calling it 5.1 is an overstatement. It wont perform well and you might be better off with just three channels in front of you.

For eg, if the roar of the enemy approach is supposed to be coming from behind, with the rear channels pushed to the front, they may seem to be coming from the front. There is a limit as to how much you can delay the timing from each channel, but it still wont put the staging correct.

However, if you have some money just to get it because it is in the wish list, but within your workspace limitation, then get a cheap 5.1 system and line the speakers all in front. It still work anyway and there you have it.

The art behind reducing wiring clutter is in concealing it. Since it is a budget system and you do not really need very high quality output, then spend some time to rewire the whole system, running along the false ceilings, buy new carpets to hide wires, drill holes between cupboards, etc etc... But if you are married, just dont tell your other half you are punching holes and whacking nails everywhere to secure cables. Just call it a maintenance routine.

BTW, i am no expert in sound... I am just a stereo person. Left and right is more than enough for my ears.:bsmilie:
Thanks for the advice. :)

My previous setup is similar to what you mentioned. All line-up in front.

Anyway had purchased the Philips Sound Bar. Not bad for the sound. At least, one system can get rid of all the wires.

Next tidy up are the wires behind my CPU. :bsmilie:
 

Mar 5, 2006
262
0
0
#7
Thanks for the advice. :)

My previous setup is similar to what you mentioned. All line-up in front.

Anyway had purchased the Philips Sound Bar. Not bad for the sound. At least, one system can get rid of all the wires.

Next tidy up are the wires behind my CPU. :bsmilie:
It's good you found what you liked and that works in your given space. The sound bar should be better than lining up 5 channels in a row. Its like a Bose speaker system. no real direction and you can mount the satellites anywhere you like.

Given the base is milder, your neighbor will like you more. Enjoy!
 

iMac08

New Member
Sep 4, 2008
1,122
0
0
Tiong Bahru,Singapore
www.flickr.com
#8
if you want a sound bar that works gd..u shld consider yamaha...the architecture of it is diff. but must see your living room design first. mine is a 1 yr old model..doubt u be interested to get it now...yamaha sound bar is better in my opinion again we are not talking abt hard core sound sys just like our hardcore leica or canon 1DS user. so must manage expectation.

to me objective is neat,sleek and got sound and reasonable,i am happy
 

phoakm

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2003
7,385
0
36
43
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
www.flickr.com
#9
It's good you found what you liked and that works in your given space. The sound bar should be better than lining up 5 channels in a row. Its like a Bose speaker system. no real direction and you can mount the satellites anywhere you like.

Given the base is milder, your neighbor will like you more. Enjoy!
Thanks for the advice. Hopefully, my neighbour won't be woke up when playing transformer. :bsmilie:
 

phoakm

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2003
7,385
0
36
43
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
www.flickr.com
#10
if you want a sound bar that works gd..u shld consider yamaha...the architecture of it is diff. but must see your living room design first. mine is a 1 yr old model..doubt u be interested to get it now...yamaha sound bar is better in my opinion again we are not talking abt hard core sound sys just like our hardcore leica or canon 1DS user. so must manage expectation.

to me objective is neat,sleek and got sound and reasonable,i am happy
The sound bar is meant for my bedroom. I kind of realized the item is very big. Now feeling siok when listening to the surround sound. Especially, when playing Resident Evil 5. :devil:
 

ortega

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 2, 2004
23,694
10
38
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#11
Thanks for the advice. :)

My previous setup is similar to what you mentioned. All line-up in front.

Anyway had purchased the Philips Sound Bar. Not bad for the sound. At least, one system can get rid of all the wires.

Next tidy up are the wires behind my CPU. :bsmilie:
looks like it's time for an All-in-one computer, then hook up the sound bar to it

 

ortega

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 2, 2004
23,694
10
38
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#13
:nono:....dun't poision me. I am running a server with multiple Harddisk, not IMAC. :bsmilie:
the objective is less wires, btw you can have 2TB HDD and 16GB of ram on the new imac you know

there is always the new mightier mac mini with snow leopard server



2 more wires for the monitor
 

Last edited:

phoakm

Senior Member
Dec 15, 2003
7,385
0
36
43
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
www.flickr.com
#17
the objective is less wires, btw you can have 2TB HDD and 16GB of ram on the new imac you know

there is always the new mightier mac mini with snow leopard server



2 more wires for the monitor
how about a custom made table with wire management


or just buy yourself a rack

with a new xserve to go with your new rack

Nice Try! :bsmilie: ... I had stopped eating apple for long time. My current PC with Win 7 have been serving me well.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom