Some queries on Rangefinders

Status
Not open for further replies.

rebbot

Mar 24, 2005
Hi all,

I am new to rangefinders and am in the process of trying to get one.

Am wondering if it is too difficult to actually use grad filters particularly? Reason being that I do a lot of landscapes and usually use soft grad ND and blue filters. It would help if someone could drop me a tip or 2. :)

It also seems that different rangefinders also meter through different mechanism, for example, the xpan meters through it lenses using center-weighted while the mamiya 7 meters through the body using spot. I hope I am correct here. :sweat:

Cheers and thanks in advance!

No precise way to use the graduated filters with rangefinder.
What I do first is to decide on the framing and fix the exposure settings. Then based on the about of bright areas (sky) I handhold the graduated filter in front of the lens by the same approximate level (usually the dark/light boundary about midway) and fire away.

You are correct that the Mamiya 7 & 7II meters via a centre spot in the rangefinder. Bear in mind that the metering spot remains in the centre even though the framing lines will move for parallex adjustment. In any case, my habit with rangefinders is to use a separate compact handheld incident light meter instead of depending on the build in meter.

fastshot said:
No precise way to use the graduated filters with rangefinder.
What I do first is to decide on the framing and fix the exposure settings. Then based on the about of bright areas (sky) I handhold the graduated filter in front of the lens by the same approximate level (usually the dark/light boundary about midway) and fire away.