S1/S2/S3 pics. thread

So many S1,S2 and S3 users.. never tried b4.. but gt chance i definely wanna try. =)

"Honey, time to stop staring at that camera and come home now.." :bsmilie:
IMG_3251.jpg

IMG_0201_01.jpg

TV:1/10
AV:2.7
ISO:80

How to increase(shallow) the DOF of this pic? The focus is the stack of books.

tomlowct said:
IMG_0201_01.jpg

yeah, i would like to know too....

Hi, I think you have a typo error there. When you increase DOF, you are getting more sharp objects, aka deep DOF. When you decrease your DOF, you are getting blur object outside a certain range from the focused object, aka shallow DOF.

I think you would like to have blur background and sharp books right? This is shallow DOF. To get shallow DOF you can do this:

1. Full zoom, the more zoom, the shallower the DOF (so you be at a distance away).
2. Use the biggest aperture (f2.7 is bigger than f8).

Hope this helps. If you want deep DOF, reverse the 2 pointers above.

tomlowct said:
IMG_0201_01.jpg

Ya, I mean shallow DOF. I've set the aperture to f2.7, will play around with the zoom next time. Thanks, 最后的螺丝帽 ;)

tomlowct said:
Ya, I mean shallow DOF. I've set the aperture to f2.7, will play around with the zoom next time. Thanks, 最后的螺丝帽 ;)

Note that at max zoom, your max aperture will no longer be f2.7 so don't be surprised that as you zoom, the f# will change.

tomlowct said:
Sadly, the sensors are too small on compact digital cameras to produce sufficient DOF.

tomlowct said:

Hey! Ya chinese powderful woh! Even know technical chinese!!佩服!佩服!:bsmilie:

boogle said:
Note that at max zoom, your max aperture will no longer be f2.7 so don't be surprised that as you zoom, the f# will change.

It will be f3.4 at full zoom.

biggulp said:
Sadly, the sensors are too small on compact digital cameras to produce sufficient DOF.

Though the CCD is small, but it should be good enough for Telemacro for shallow DOF. At full zoom, and fastest aperture, and say focus at around 4m away, the DOF is about 0.004m wide. So should be good enough for prosumer use lah.....:D

Anyway the discussion is too long liao, for further discussion, please go to the S3 IS thread......leave this as a pic thread. Ok?

biggulp said:
Do you mean smaller DOF? Point and shoots have more DOF due to their smaller sensors. It is more difficult to get photos with only a thin slice in focus.

NightZ88 said:
"Honey, time to stop staring at that camera and come home now.." :bsmilie:
I like the title. Nice catch! :) Would it look better if you cropped the space above the 'roof'?

cerebrus said:
I like the title. Nice catch! :) Would it look better if you cropped the space above the 'roof'?
lolz.. okiez. thx for e suggestion.. hafnT seen u commentin for quite some time already. posted a few shots but no comments from other users.. so quit postin. :bsmilie:

Duno how too comment mah.:D

NightZ88 said:
lolz.. okiez. thx for e suggestion.. hafnT seen u commentin for quite some time already. posted a few shots but no comments from other users.. so quit postin. :bsmilie:

NightZ88 said:
Dying now.... no new pics to show. Hopefully will have time to PP some shots I took @ Fort Canning last weekend.

Ok lah, I Buay Paisey again lah. No PP done, basically as it is....

Living the dream: "TiTokangnic":bsmilie: :bsmilie: :

IMG_11541.JPG
[/IMG]

Hmmm...taking pics of my plant again...

fuego070706.jpg

Tillandsia Ionantha Fuego

fuego070706A.jpg

Suntanning~

Lizard.

72b23dcc.jpg

cerebrus said:
Do you mean smaller DOF? Point and shoots have more DOF due to their smaller sensors. It is more difficult to get photos with only a thin slice in focus.
Sorry, I should have said shallow DOF. It is hard to isolate subjects with prosumer/compact cameras.

IMG_7879-2.jpg

this considered shallow DOF??