S1/S2/S3 pics. thread

david_goh said:
S'pore Fireworks Festival. 'Static' is Derek loh...;)

Nope, I don't have tickets for it. 10sec is alright, but gotta' UP the aperture. Try f8, should be alright.

so how? will we be going together again?? :bsmilie:

GeckoZ said:
so how? will we be going together again?? :bsmilie:

See how loh. I'm going early for dinner, and going to shoot before 7pm (want to shoot the planes).

Derek may go later (He was from RSAF, sick of planes liao):)

david_goh said:
See how loh. I'm going early for dinner, and going to shoot before 7pm (want to shoot the planes).

Derek may go later (He was from RSAF, sick of planes liao):)

i dunno wether S2 and S3 can capture the planes well mah.. since we might be doing 12x zoom and the sky is so dark... but i would like to give it a try to. where would u be shooting from? keep me informed. ;)

Picture taken at DXO during the Bikini model search event. This is the only picture I would consider nice. Haha~ Low lightings lar.. and the spot lights are making focussing difficult.. shutter lag untill damn jia lat oso... but still, C&C please! :)

196274507_8e623f92b0_o.jpg

lastboltnut said:
Nice feeling. What is that boxy thing on the upper right?
it's a little hse for e monkeys..

lastboltnut said:
Hi ppl,

I have some pics of a school. Please feel free to comment.

Thanks!

#01 Pond
195329729_14f47ad51e.jpg

#02 bamboo
195329728_cd20fc7db4.jpg

#03 Trees and dark cloud (original coloured photo, NOT bw)
195329727_feee0e05f3.jpg

#04 School garden
195329726_7dbc1482b9.jpg

#05 School building
196139607_546555c06d.jpg

PS- also posted in the Land/City-scapes and Travel forum
nice capture for #1.. looks a little slanted to me though. juz a wee bit..
#2 is my fav. e contrast is nice..
#3 is nice as well.. but e lack of colors doesnT excite me. perhaps it's juz me..
#4 is alittle slanted.. (look at e planks at e bottom)
#5. as ppl wld say, e leaves at e top right is distractin..

Oic, so you used a tripod? 1/6sec abit slow for my hand to get sharp pic......:(

GeckoZ said:
i was shooting people, and the pic was blury, so i gave up after a few shots, and then i went ahead for macro flower photography and shot the plants there instead. :bsmilie:

Really better? Ha! This school thingy was shot some times ago.....I am deteriorating....:cry: :bsmilie:

Hey thanx for your comment! HA!

GeckoZ said:
i think pic 1 was very nice lor. the colour is vibrant and i felt life in it. it works for magazine photos!! Great shot!
pic 2 and 3 are brilliant as well! You did better then what I could produce for this type of tree shots.
I don't like pic 4..
pic 5 was ok.. average lor..

They are much better then your other pics which I've seen. Congrats.

Hey David, remb to post your pic here woh. What is SFF?

david_goh said:
Agree, f3.5 with 10sec is suicidal.:nono:

Don't say 'lousy' lah, we are all doing 'trial and error' too what.:)

Yes, I'll be taking...but only on SFF and actual NDP. And I'm sure 'Static' and 'GeckoZ' will be shooting too!;)

Yah, the leaves.....but I was reluctant to crop away the right wall. No choice, did not frame properly during the shooting.:( :)

david_goh said:
Nice shots, lastboltnut!

But hey, watch out for the leaves on #5!:)

I like the lighting.

A bit OOF but good, have a disco/pub kind of smoky, drunk feelt. Her chest is overexposed (I mean the brightness, not otherwise woh) and looks like melted rubber har??:bsmilie:

Y not you focus on something at equivlent distant then frame? May be the entire place is too dark I think.:)

GeckoZ said:
Picture taken at DXO during the Bikini model search event. This is the only picture I would consider nice. Haha~ Low lightings lar.. and the spot lights are making focussing difficult.. shutter lag untill damn jia lat oso... but still, C&C please! :)

196274507_8e623f92b0_o.jpg

Thanks for your comment NightZ88, #1 is a bit off center too.....:)

NightZ88 said:
nice capture for #1.. looks a little slanted to me though. juz a wee bit..
#2 is my fav. e contrast is nice..
#3 is nice as well.. but e lack of colors doesnT excite me. perhaps it's juz me..
#4 is alittle slanted.. (look at e planks at e bottom)
#5. as ppl wld say, e leaves at e top right is distractin..

lastboltnut said:
Oic, so you used a tripod? 1/6sec abit slow for my hand to get sharp pic......:(

no. i brought my tripod, but initially lazy to set up so i got a lot of blurry shots. then i set it up. and the shots are still blurry, cos the ppl were walking.

i think a compact point and shoot can do a better job then prosumer in this situation man. :bsmilie:

lastboltnut said:
I like the lighting.

A bit OOF but good, have a disco/pub kind of smoky, drunk feelt. Her chest is overexposed (I mean the brightness, not otherwise woh) and looks like melted rubber har??:bsmilie:

Y not you focus on something at equivlent distant then frame? May be the entire place is too dark I think.:)

she applied some lotion (i think is suntan lotion?) on her chest, so it gots too bright which leads to overexposing.. tt's my nicest shot for the whole event, so you could imagine how bad the rest of the photos were. hahaha~

there wasn't anything standing at equivalent distance, and i didn't thought of that initially, which theefore i was like zooming in and out to capture the models walking around the stage. if i happen to go again next week with Derek and David, i'll know how to improve, thanks for the tips!

lastboltnut said:
Hey David, remb to post your pic here woh. What is SFF?

he said liao, SFF is Singapore Fireworks Festive. :bsmilie:

O, it was lotion....like melted:bsmilie:

GeckoZ said:
she applied some lotion (i think is suntan lotion?) on her chest, so it gots too bright which leads to overexposing.. tt's my nicest shot for the whole event, so you could imagine how bad the rest of the photos were. hahaha~

there wasn't anything standing at equivalent distance, and i didn't thought of that initially, which theefore i was like zooming in and out to capture the models walking around the stage. if i happen to go again next week with Derek and David, i'll know how to improve, thanks for the tips!

Oic, but 1/6 with hand is really a big big challenge, or I should say imposible for my hand....may be some veterans can hold that long......and 1/6 is only good for static shots unless you intentionally 1 2 blur the obj for "moment" feeling.

I think if you set to auto, u may get the point and shot effect. S3 is a compact by itself, it shouldn't worse than those lower range compact cam ba? If not our $ wasted liao....

GeckoZ said:
no. i brought my tripod, but initially lazy to set up so i got a lot of blurry shots. then i set it up. and the shots are still blurry, cos the ppl were walking.

i think a compact point and shoot can do a better job then prosumer in this situation man. :bsmilie:

Yah, saw the reply after I asked...:)

GeckoZ said:
he said liao, SFF is Singapore Fireworks Festive. :bsmilie:

Hi, I took this shot as I see the dark clouds casting a dark patch over the sea and coming inland....interesting. Please give me your comment:

Storm Porting
195323166_11c7d3575a_o.jpg

Thanks!

P.S. - Also posted in Land/City-scape and Travel forum

GeckoZ said:

Looks like Derek was the only one with better shots in the DXO event. Agree, I couldn't find anything that night at equal distance. I should have gone manual on it. :( Nevermind lah, there's always other shows to shoot.

Wah, still go again ah. You all really bikini siao! :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

lastboltnut said:
Hi, I took this shot as I see the dark clouds casting a dark patch over the sea and coming inland....interesting. Please give me your comment:

Storm Porting

Thanks!

P.S. - Also posted in Land/City-scape and Travel forum

Nice shot, lastboltnut. I can see you are doing more and more BW these days liao.:)

Ha!! After taking the shots and see the colour not too vibrant, might as well make it BW. Anyway, BW suites the "storm" title better, what do you think?

And hey! using channel mixing really gives better BW leh, can get the contrast between the RBG!

david_goh said:
Nice shot, lastboltnut. I can see you are doing more and more BW these days liao.:)

lastboltnut said:
Ha!! After taking the shots and see the colour not too vibrant, might as well make it BW. Anyway, BW suites the "storm" title better, what do you think?

And hey! using channel mixing really gives better BW leh, can get the contrast between the RBG!

I gues both color and BW works for me with a 'storm' title. It would have been great if there were rough waves in your pics (more dramatic).

Hmm...so you're not just picking up on BW, but also working hard on your PS skills.(don't play play man) :think:

Time for a DSLR upgrade bro!!:thumbsup: