Recomposing after focussed


Status
Not open for further replies.

KIS1984

New Member
Dec 27, 2009
23
0
0
#1
Hi all
Is there any problem if we do recompossing after we lock our focus?
bcoz I often use spot AF, thus after focussing to the subject in the middle of viewfinder, I always recompose again for better composition.
And I found my photo were out of focus.

Is it better if we just move the spot AF to desired location and dont change the composition?

Need help..many thanks
 

madmartian

Senior Member
May 2, 2009
20,218
11
0
Outer Space
#2
Hi all
Is there any problem if we do recompossing after we lock our focus?
bcoz I often use spot AF, thus after focussing to the subject in the middle of viewfinder, I always recompose again for better composition.
And I found my photo were out of focus.

Is it better if we just move the spot AF to desired location and dont change the composition?

Need help..many thanks
Of course your photo will be out of focus. You are doing it the opposite way. Should compose then shoot. Do you pop the pill 1st then drink water or drink water 1st then pop the pill?
 

KIS1984

New Member
Dec 27, 2009
23
0
0
#3
Of course your photo will be out of focus. You are doing it the opposite way. Should compose then shoot. Do you pop the pill 1st then drink water or drink water 1st then pop the pill?
yeah..
because I heard that slightly moved the camera after locked is still ok
because sometimes quite difficult to put focus point to the desired location after we compose.
Especially if we want to put the focus near the edge.

Normally, how is your strategy?

do you have any reference that I can use to learn how to focus in different angle?
 

Feb 25, 2006
8
0
0
Right Side
#4
Hi KIS1984,

There should be no issue to recompose after pre-focus. Provided you selected single point for focusing (in your case centre point) and used ONE SHOT focus mode. Assuming you press button half way and hold while recomposing.

If you used All Point focusing or AlFocus or AlServo, then it will refocus while you recompose.
Youn can refer to the manual to confirm.
 

limwhow

Senior Member
Jun 9, 2009
7,048
0
0
Life revolves arOnd East Coast
#5
Hello, KIS1984.
Let me offer you my opinion on this issue.
If you are using a wide aperture say, of f/1.4 (or even f/1.8 or f/2.0) and your subject is near and/or you are using a lens of a longer focal length (e.g. 85mm), all these would create a shallow depth of field.
And if you lock focus and then recompose, you are certainly going to lose focus because you will be aiming at parts of the subject at different planes.

However, if your aperture is small at say f/8.0. Then it becomes not so crucial because then your DOF is deeper and if you recompose after locking focus, you can still get away with a sharp subject.

Thus, the real answer to your question is: it all depends on your DOF.
I hope this little tip helps because that is how I have been taught, and how I have learned it myself.
 

ZeroDivine

Senior Member
Sep 5, 2004
2,071
1
0
andritei.zenfolio.com
#7
limhow is correct
if you are shooting shallow DOF, the focus(let's say u use centre)then recompose to put at the side, might be off because you have already moved certain cm.
It won't be noticeable if you are shooting ike f/4, 5.6 etc but definitely matters especially on very shallow dof llike 1.2,1.4
 

Draken413o

Senior Member
Jan 1, 2009
4,296
12
0
32
Singapore.
www.facebook.com
#8
Heres another tip that I've learn't through experience.. If you are having trouble not having the proper spot af on the places you like them to be.. you can use the live view mode and manual focus to have a larger "viewfinder" effect. Of course you can also magnify the live view by pressing the + sign button.
 

luntut

New Member
Oct 19, 2007
1,883
0
0
Punggol
#9
Of course your photo will be out of focus. You are doing it the opposite way. Should compose then shoot. Do you pop the pill 1st then drink water or drink water 1st then pop the pill?
it doesnt matter which way i pop the pill first then drink water, or drink water first then pop the pill. as long as i do not SWALLOW the water in my mouth after drinking (assuming drinking is an action to put water in your mouth) it, i get the same end results. This analogy is rather misleading.

I think its perfectly find to focus, recompose and shoot. but this will only work when the thing you focused on, and the subject are in the same plane of focus. this plane of focus will only get smaller with a wider aperture. but with a kit lens, i believe if the pre-focus is done right, its very easily done.

unless, to shoot a person 3-4m away, you focus on something towards infinity. you wil probably get something thats slightly OOF, which to me is a bigger pain in the ass, then having everything OOF.
 

ahbian

Senior Member
May 23, 2006
2,467
0
0
#11
A quick fix is to choose an AF point nearer to your subject, rather than sticking to the centre one.
 

Numnumball

Senior Member
Mar 6, 2009
13,899
0
0
Central
#12
Seems that there's more than meet the eye.. pls post the pic u spoke of for us to aid here better.. :)
 

KIS1984

New Member
Dec 27, 2009
23
0
0
#13
Seems that there's more than meet the eye.. pls post the pic u spoke of for us to aid here better.. :)

This is the photo I spoke of



f4.5 ; 1/3s ; focal length : 22mm ; use EFS 10-22 f/4.5 (I cropped it)

Many thanks Bro!
 

Last edited:
Dec 10, 2008
1,732
0
0
26
Pasir Ris
#14
This is the photo I spoke of



f4.5 ; 1/3s ; focal length : 22mm ; use EFS 10-22 f/4.5 (I cropped it)

Many thanks Bro!
Looks like handshake, because nothing is really sharp or in focus in the picture
 

ahbian

Senior Member
May 23, 2006
2,467
0
0
#15
Might not be an AF issue, 1/3s may be too long for you to hold it steady enough.
 

kohanson

New Member
Nov 17, 2009
308
0
0
Singapore
#16
Should raise the ISO to 800 for indoor shoots so that your shutter speed will increase. I think the noise level at iso800 is still reasonable as any picture that is blur means you cannot get back that image.
 

madmartian

Senior Member
May 2, 2009
20,218
11
0
Outer Space
#17
I think its perfectly find to focus, recompose and shoot. but this will only work when the thing you focused on, and the subject are in the same plane of focus. this plane of focus will only get smaller with a wider aperture. but with a kit lens, i believe if the pre-focus is done right, its very easily done.
Oh, I'm sorry, I've misread TS's question & answered too quickly. Yes, you are right. My fault :embrass: :kok:
 

luntut

New Member
Oct 19, 2007
1,883
0
0
Punggol
#18
this is not out of focus.

definitely handshake.

1/3second, i cant even do that till now.

best that i ever did was 1/10 second without VR. at 1/3 second, sure to get handshake.
 

yc2005

New Member
May 14, 2009
698
0
0
#19
1/3seconds at 22mm without IS is not quite possible. This is more of handshake than OOF.

Try to pump up the ISO. Better to get an in focus and grainy picture than a not so grainy but OOF picture.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom