Questions about imac


Status
Not open for further replies.

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#1
have a few quick questions about imac.


1)can my pc microsoft office/adobe photoshop cs3 be installed into it?or do i have to get the 'mac' version?

2)can word, excel documents created in imac open in pc?

3)is the optional apple care protection plan worth it?

4)any known/experienced problems from those who has one?can share?
 

Jia Wang

New Member
Feb 20, 2004
1,306
0
0
43
Starry Night
www.pbase.com
#3
have a few quick questions about imac.


1)can my pc microsoft office/adobe photoshop cs3 be installed into it?or do i have to get the 'mac' version?

2)can word, excel documents created in imac open in pc?

3)is the optional apple care protection plan worth it?

4)any known/experienced problems from those who has one?can share?
1) The new duo core Intel iMac can double up in the Windows OS... but u must first install Windows (which doesn't come with the machine)... Speed of iMac in the Windows environment may be slower, something you might want to check... But definitely can run any Windows softwares.

2) Yes... as long as they are Microsoft documents, u can open... it's the extension that matters

3) Useful to have... but Mac seldom have problem within first 3 years...

4) I'm a Mac lover... so might want to take that into consideration when u see my comments above... ;)
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#4
why you want an imac in the first place? cause of the Dell?
2 reasons.

had a good friend's bd coming up and she loves the mac but was never able to afford one.
so i'm just thinking of getting one for her.she studies designing so thought it would be a great gift.

2nd reason, i may want one myself.:bsmilie:
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#5
1) The new duo core Intel iMac can double up in the Windows OS... but u must first install Windows (which doesn't come with the machine)... Speed of iMac in the Windows environment may be slower, something you might want to check... But definitely can run any Windows softwares.

2) Yes... as long as they are Microsoft documents, u can open... it's the extension that matters

3) Useful to have... but Mac seldom have problem within first 3 years...

4) I'm a Mac lover... so might want to take that into consideration when u see my comments above... ;)
ok.thanks for answers.
but i dont think i'll get a mac to run windows.
i'll stick to the mac os.
 

Michael

New Member
Apr 5, 2005
829
0
0
47
Thailand
www.pbase.com
#6
2 reasons.

had a good friend's bd coming up and she loves the mac but was never able to afford one.
so i'm just thinking of getting one for her.she studies designing so thought it would be a great gift.

2nd reason, i may want one myself.:bsmilie:
my birthday coming up soon too :lovegrin: :lovegrin:
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#7
ok.thanks for answers.
but i dont think i'll get a mac to run windows.
i'll stick to the mac os.
You can also use emulation software, or virtualization software. But it still involves creating a Windows OS runtime.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#8
You can also use emulation software, or virtualization software. But it still involves creating a Windows OS runtime.
emulation/virtualization?
i hate to say this but i really have no idea what that means.
but it's ok if you do not wish to explain.
i know how it feels to explain technical terms to nooby gals.:sweat: :sweat: :bsmilie:
 

Jinks

New Member
Jan 6, 2007
74
0
0
#10
have a few quick questions about imac.


1)can my pc microsoft office/adobe photoshop cs3 be installed into it?or do i have to get the 'mac' version?

2)can word, excel documents created in imac open in pc?

3)is the optional apple care protection plan worth it?

4)any known/experienced problems from those who has one?can share?
The occurrence of a significant no. of dead pixels (in the form of coloured vertical lines) on iMacs is a reported problem on the Mac forums. I have the same problem - only mine's so bad they appear as huge white vertical bands down my screen! :angry:


So if you're planning on getting an iMac, it's worth getting AppleCare along with it.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#11
emulation/virtualization?
i hate to say this but i really have no idea what that means.
but it's ok if you do not wish to explain.
i know how it feels to explain technical terms to nooby gals.:sweat: :sweat: :bsmilie:
It's kinda like running windows within a Mac window... Or like "picture in picture" on TV's where you can watch a different channel in a small "window" on the main screen? Make sense? Fairly slow though, and not worth it since technically you still need to pay for a Windows license.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#12
Yeah, get the Apple care. No matter what the Apple fanboyz say, Apple gear is not reliable. Just in the last couple years alone, there have been keyboards imprinting onto the screen, overheating laptops, drives that get misaligned with the slots, faulty screns, etc etc.

In many cases, Apple support is worse than Dell. Even if they recall a product and your product is within that range (the faulty G3 motherboards for example) you still have to call them every day non-stop for them to agree to your replacement.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#13
The occurrence of a significant no. of dead pixels (in the form of coloured vertical lines) on iMacs is a reported problem on the Mac forums. I have the same problem - only mine's so bad they appear as huge white vertical bands down my screen! :angry:


So if you're planning on getting an iMac, it's worth getting AppleCare along with it.
oh really?that bad ah?
so will they replace it if there's only just one deadpixel?

did they replace yours?what's the turnaround time?
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#14
It's kinda like running windows within a Mac window... Or like "picture in picture" on TV's where you can watch a different channel in a small "window" on the main screen? Make sense? Fairly slow though, and not worth it since technically you still need to pay for a Windows license.
yup.got it.understood.thanks!
 

Gunbucker

New Member
Sep 14, 2005
1,066
0
0
East Coast
sanzaw.smugmug.com
#15
ok.thanks for answers.
but i dont think i'll get a mac to run windows.
i'll stick to the mac os.
Hi Jeanie, you can check out www.openoffice.org . It's an opensource office software suite that can open all MS Office formats. It works very well on a Mac. I don't recommend using the Mac version of Office on your iMac (assuming it is an Intel Mac), as it will be running in an emulation mode (the present MS Office for Mac is still written for PowerPC). The Universal Binary version of it is rumored to be out next year.

For CS3 though, you will need the Mac version (Universal Binary) to take advantage of your Intel processor inside the mac.

Hope this helps.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#16
Yeah, get the Apple care. No matter what the Apple fanboyz say, Apple gear is not reliable. Just in the last couple years alone, there have been keyboards imprinting onto the screen, overheating laptops, drives that get misaligned with the slots, faulty screns, etc etc.

In many cases, Apple support is worse than Dell. Even if they recall a product and your product is within that range (the faulty G3 motherboards for example) you still have to call them every day non-stop for them to agree to your replacement.
uh oh.:rolleyes:

now then tell me.
i just bought 2 monitors from them.
the only thing that sets me back is the 1 year warranty as oppose to dell's 3 years.
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#17
Hi Jeanie, you can check out www.openoffice.org . It's an opensource office software suite that can open all MS Office formats. It works very well on a Mac. I don't recommend using the Mac version of Office on your iMac (assuming it is an Intel Mac), as it will be running in an emulation mode (the present MS Office for Mac is still written for PowerPC). The Universal Binary version of it is rumored to be out next year.

For CS3 though, you will need the Mac version (Universal Binary) to take advantage of your Intel processor inside the mac.

Hope this helps.

ok.if i do get it.i will take a look at it.

2 terms i dont understand.

powerpc, universal binary.
but again, it's ok if you do not wish to explain.i feel damn paiseh to all.:embrass:
 

Gunbucker

New Member
Sep 14, 2005
1,066
0
0
East Coast
sanzaw.smugmug.com
#18
ok.if i do get it.i will take a look at it.

2 terms i dont understand.

powerpc, universal binary.
but again, it's ok if you do not wish to explain.i feel damn paiseh to all.:embrass:
No worries.

PowerPC is the older family of processors used in Macs (G4 and G5 Macs). The software written for these is thus in the PowerPC flavor.

When Apple decided to jump ship using Intel processors instead of PowerPC processors, they had to come out with a new software format that will run at native speeds on both Intel and PowerPC processors. This software format is called "Universal Binary". Most software packages will state on the box whether it is Universal Binary.

So when you run a PowerPC only software like MS Office 2004 for Mac, it will still run on your new iMac, but in an emulation mode. It literally launches a "translator" called Rosetta to translate PowerPC code to Intel code. In short, launching such PowerPC software on an Intel Mac now takes up more RAM, and runs slower, which is very evident in CS2.

Presently, CS3 for Mac comes in Universal Binary, and so does OpenOffice.
 

Jinks

New Member
Jan 6, 2007
74
0
0
#20
oh really?that bad ah?
so will they replace it if there's only just one deadpixel?

did they replace yours?what's the turnaround time?
erm... let's just say I have to resize my pop-up windows to fit within the white bands if I want to see anything. :confused:

Didn't get AppleCare. The guys at EpiCentre told me it would be cheaper just to buy a new computer.
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom