PhotoAid XVI : it's CNY! Gong Hei Fatt Choy!

you should get a monopod :)

Aiyoh, no need lah. I was using the consumer grade lens (small & light). Great for travels.

monopod got cheap ones also lah, can get one around 60 bucks

Correction liao, any better? ;)

i have the feeling the original image is rather soft, that's why you applied alot of sharpening :think:

i think slightly better than just now, for sharpening, something i learnt from jopel, use Fade Unsharp Mask after sharpening to reduce the halos (use ctrl+shift+F after sharpening)

i usually copy a layer of the original, sharpen, fade USM, and erase away areas that don't need sharpening (selective sharpening) ;)

Great tip, thanks! :)

Yes, I did not use any in camera sharpening, and the lens is not exactly the best in Canon's line up either. More can be read about it here. But it's small & light to take with me overseas.

Great tip, thanks! :)

Yes, I did not use any in camera sharpening, and the lens is not exactly the best in Canon's line up either. More can be read about it here. But it's small & light to take with me overseas.

if you don't want to get a monopod, get a mini tripod or something that gives you good stability, trust me you'll be looking at your pictures differently after that ;p

congratulation ykia, you are fast

Actually I have a very old SILK -- light & small, too. But I cannot get the replacement done for the rubber sole in the mount. Also, the camera body is actually heavy enough to make the plastic mount tilt about 5~10deg down on the left. Did not have this issue with my old film body.

if you don't want to get a monopod, get a mini tripod or something that gives you good stability, trust me you'll be looking at your pictures differently after that ;p

Actually I have a very old SILK -- light & small, too. But I cannot get the replacement done for the rubber sole in the mount. Also, the camera body is actually heavy enough to make the plastic mount tilt about 5~10deg down on the left. Did not have this issue with my old film body.

digital cameras and lenses are alot heavier than film ones due to electronic parts, that's why ... the cheapest manfrotto monopod is around $60 i think, but quite heavy, not exactly good for travelling.

Not that fast lah (new toy that is). Was thinking about it waaaaayyyyy back in Dec, nearly asked for it as a Xmas gift somemore.... hehehe... So when PMA did not announce any "40D", I decided to take the plunge during the IT Show. But last moment, had to travel to BKK and missed the IT Show altogether :bsmilie: By Tue's kopi, so itchy already that even anti-histamines cannot help.

new toy and PPing

Too bad my old SILK cannot replace the plastic mount with a ball-head, otherwise it's perfect!

BTW, how come you "appear as offline" (no green light) and yet can reply me so fast?

digital cameras and lenses are alot heavier than film ones due to electronic parts, that's why ... the cheapest manfrotto monopod is around $60 i think, but quite heavy, not exactly good for travelling.

Not that fast lah (new toy that is). Was thinking about it waaaaayyyyy back in Dec, nearly asked for it as a Xmas gift somemore.... hehehe... So when PMA did not announce any "40D", I decided to take the plunge during the IT Show. But last moment, had to travel to BKK and missed the IT Show altogether :bsmilie: By Tue's kopi, so itchy already that even anti-histamines cannot help.

Hahahahaaa......i thought it would a 5D....:devil:

Hahaha...

Long term plan -- 5D or it's replacement
Mid term plan -- Reach enough standard to shoot TOMY FERRARI
Short term plan -- Learn what all the new buttons on the 30D are! :bsmilie: