October 08 "Little India" Photo

Alamak! How come I kena singled out? Are my pics that unappealing? :sweat:

Anyway, since I went MF, the thin DOF made sharpness a bit of a challenge. I also shot in JPEG all the time. (Even though I knew about the inherent softness of straight JPEG from K10D) I did perform auto leveling/sharpening/vibrance in Lightroom for some of my pics. (Not a fan of punchy colours) Well, that and the fact that my PP skills are non-existent. :bsmilie:

No lah... not trying to single out anyone;) Your pics are more like mine when straight from the camera. Just checking if it's possible to get those strong colour direct from camera. I can get them but probably 1 in 10... :( I'm using Elements6 (Mac) to do my post processing.

Tomatoes 90¢
2978545762_c2c561da37_o.jpg

FA 28-200mm f/3.8~5.6

Folded
2978545774_eea15a24da_o.jpg

Sigma 90mm f/2.8 Macro

Lotus
2977694987_92454bb15e_o.jpg

Sigma 90mm f/2.8 Macro

Parasols
2977714175_8157bcfe67_o.jpg

FA 28-200mm f/3.8~5.6

No lah... not trying to single out anyone;) Your pics are more like mine when straight from the camera. Just checking if it's possible to get those strong colour direct from camera. I can get them but probably 1 in 10... :( I'm using Elements6 (Mac) to do my post processing.

My pics posted in CS were straight from my cam w/o PP. Only occassionally some cropping done.

In digital photography, do we need software skill besides pic taking skill?

It would be interesting to have pics posted by Pentaxians in CS w/o PP or have a thread "Pics By Pentaxian w/o PP".

Exhale
2978545782_e6f778f97e_o.jpg

Sigma 90mm f/2.8 Macro

Weight on my shoulder
2978570714_042a342bc9_o.jpg

FA 28-200mm f/3.8~5.6

General worker
2977695013_60a4417395_o.jpg

DA 21mm f/3.2 Limited

Old biker
2977715205_bbd4b04656_o.jpg

FA 28-200mm f/3.8~5.6

Dunlop Street
2977695007_2e95636bc2_o.jpg

DA 21mm f/3.2 Limited

Provision shop
2977714879_346ba6a9e6_o.jpg

FA 28-200mm f/3.8~5.6

2974797512_3c652bf959_o.jpg

bangles, anyone?

k100d w 10-17 fisheye

2973945301_18921265b6_o.jpg

for whom the bell tolls?

k100d + 10-17 fisheye

Finally completed my raw conversion for the Little India photos, you guys have already put so many nice stuff up!

It was great to meet up with everyone there, it was my first time shooting in a group, really enjoyable! Though I realised in my hurry to leave after OP, I missed saying bye to a few people (I think that would include terence, opera, hjbyoe's wife, and one or two others). Sorry guys, see you again next time!

Anyway, still in the process of uploading my photos for the day onto Picasa now. I'll put up a few first.

Love lost for my bike?
IMGP1599.jpg

4 in a row

IMGP1631.jpg

Hard at work
IMGP1613.jpg

Hard at work II
IMGP1624.jpg

Hard at work III
IMGP1618.jpg

Not really hard at work...
IMGP1661.jpg

Temple crossing
IMGP1668.jpg

Construction
IMGP1665.jpg

Discarded
IMGP1636.jpg

Temple decor
IMGP1642.jpg

Sorry for leaving early.
But got another chance to go to Little India again yesterday night. The night time in Little India is very Indian feel.

Lot of people, lot of people on the street.
IMGP8143.JPG

Pushing the truck to start the engine. This is very Indian feeling. I saw this everyday when I was in India that time. I never expect that I would see that again in Singapore.
http://picasaweb.google.com.hk/matchz/081025Pentaxian0810LittleIndia#5262023028743784386

Typical traditional candies for Dewali.
IMGP8154.JPG

Don't know what they are taking (1/2)
IMGP8034.JPG

Don't know what they are taking (2/2)
IMGP8048.JPG

IMGP8049.JPG

Don't know what they are taking (1/2)
IMGP8048.JPG

Don't know what they are taking (2/2)
IMGP8049.JPG

Nice capture matchkk. Very synchronous. The lot of us were bunched up shooting the decor (or trying to), oblivious to all. :bsmilie:

Seems like I kena "exposed" a lot of times for the outing. I camera-shy leh. :embrass::bsmilie:

A few that I left out

The long wait #4
2971441037_c613d61d6c.jpg

Post (No)Bills
2971584054_e6992b9227.jpg

matchkk - very observant. like the double synchro take! :thumbsup:

bernard, you are welcome. nice series! :thumbsup:

here are the group photo. thanks matchkk for the handphono ir trigger. didnt turn out well, sorry guys!

2974708546_ebcc4d5fff_o.jpg

clubmembers photo taken during the prata session

2974708892_00c5e94442_o.jpg

hamustar, gengh & baracus

2973856593_832124b71a_o.jpg

bernard, desmond, denis & arthur

2973857145_d53c880841_o.jpg

denis & arthur

k100d + fish eye 10-17

Seefei, where can I find the original (or bigger) one of the group picture?

Hey guys, the more I look at the photos you guys posted, the worse I feel that I couldn't join the fun :( It's the second time I missed Pentax gathering, and I hope there won
t be the third time ...

BTW, if you guys plan to shoot the Singapore Marathron in early Dec, please do come by the finish line around 4hr mark. I hope I could reach there by that time ;)

Cheers and happy shooting.

Seefei, where can I find the original (or bigger) one of the group picture?

You can start by sending me your email and follow up with a dinner! i work better with a full stomach :bsmilie: