cookiez

Oct 6, 2003
Just came back from Koh Samui...was there for 4 days but didnt really
enjoy the trip...

As expected, the resort I stayed in was full of caucasians and I think me
and my spouse were the only Asians. The resort's beach chairs were quite
limited and those ang mohs always "choop" the beach chairs with their
personal belongings (slippers, towels...etc) and then disappeared for days !!
So those ppl who want to have some tanning and didnt manage to "choop"
the beach chairs will have to lie on the sand beach while those slippers and
towels lie comfortably on the beach chairs.

Then the next day, we saw the same things laying on the same beach
chairs again. Apparently the owners had left their personal belongings
there overnight just to reserve the beach chairs.

On the third day, we really buay tahan liao when we saw those things still on
the beach chairs, so we asked the resort staff to either collect those things
from the beach chairs or provide us with more chairs. The resort staff bo pian
have to collect and safe keep those things and let us have the beach chairs.
Then when we were enjoying our sun tanning on the beach chairs, the
owners of the slippers and towels finally decided to come out from their
hibernation and confronted us "what are you doing on my beach chairs? "
(yeah, as if they were really "their" beach chairs, not the resort's)
We took a look at them but continued to lie there not moving cos too lazy
to open our mouths to argue with these kind of ppl, so the rude couple have
to LL walk away and I guess they went to complain to the resort staff.

So our way of "chooping" seats in the hawker centres by using a pack of
tissue is really nothing compared to their way reserving beach chairs.
And who said Asian/Chinese the only one who is kiasu ?!

And I will rather go to Redang next time, so much better than Koh Samui.

for those chope-ing seat with tissue, i usually very mean, i will use their tissue and blow my nose and then sit on the seat. free tissue! :sticktong

Paul_Yeo said:
for those chope-ing seat with tissue, i usually very mean, i will use their tissue and blow my nose and then sit on the seat. free tissue! :sticktong
good one.

it would be better to let somebody sit @ the table to chop seat while u go buy food.

what happens if you're alone buying food?

chii said:
good one.

it would be better to let somebody sit @ the table to chop seat while u go buy food.

actually, the towels and slippers should go into the dustbin! :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

cookiez said:
enjoy the trip...

Certain 'Europeans' are famous for their passion of securing the best sunbeds at the earliest opportunity. I have to say, it's not normally us Brits, who are usually far too hungover to get up in the early morn! ;)

When I was on holiday in Greece some sunbeds were secured that evening for the next day. Well, they were until we came back and threw all the towels in the pool :)

cookiez said:

Note that this behaviour only chope seats for the duration of makan, they do not, however, leave their packets of tissue overnight for next working day.

Quite a bad analogy IYAM.

So I shouldn't even be having a friend sitting down at the table and chope the entire table? ;)

cookiez said:
enjoy the trip...

Bring a mirror next time bro, and if these ppl complain, give them a mirror to do some self-reflection. ;)

Den again, they are prolly so dense that they wun understand what's up with the mirror. :bsmilie:

Phildate said:
Certain 'Europeans' are famous for their passion of securing the best sunbeds at the earliest opportunity. I have to say, it's not normally us Brits, who are usually far too hungover to get up in the early morn! ;)

When I was on holiday in Greece some sunbeds were secured that evening for the next day. Well, they were until we came back and threw all the towels in the pool :)
Hmm... Not too bad a technique. :D

Anyway, to the issue of 'chopping' seats when u're eating alone is practically non-existent. Either u share a table or else juz chin chai find a place, sit down, eat and f-off ASAP.

Dat's me. Order fast, eat fast and go off fast. Dun really like to sit there and eat my noodles strand by strand. :D Not sure about u guys.

cookiez said:

Very true. In fact, its human nature to be kiasu. In australia, there happens to be a drum sale. An aussie family planted themselves ONE WEEK before the sale outside the drum shop. So come and think of it, our "hello kitty" kiasu-ness is small compared to this.

good job :) although you should have put them in the dustbin :p dont clutter up the pool for the rest of the visitors hehe

Phildate said:

vince123123 said:
actually, the towels and slippers should go into the dustbin! :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

haha...no lah....i not so mean lah...

i'm not against all these "reservation methods" so long
they make use of what they reserved.

Note that this behaviour only chope seats for the duration of makan, they do not, however, leave their packets of tissue overnight for next working day.

Quite a bad analogy IYAM.

So I shouldn't even be having a friend sitting down at the table and chope the entire table? ;)

if ppl want to choop the table using their tissue overnight or for as long as
they want, i dun give a damn....at least they will come back with food and
eat at the table....but chopping chairs overnight or for a few days without
using the chairs at all is really absurd....they may think that by doing that,
they can go out to the sun anytime they want without worrying about no
beach chairs cos their chairs are always there for them...now that's really
selfish thinking...

my point here is : make sure u use what u have reserved, if not, dun reserve
and let other ppl have the chance to use it :p

bad experience, but my friend and i came across something silly. we were out at some eatery, then my friend spotted a mobile phone being used to chope a seat.

genius! :D

and yes, that happened in mobile-crazy singapore... :sweat:

It reminds me of an incident at hawker centre.

When me and a few colleagues are there, the hawker centre is quite empty, so I sat down on an empty table. Then suddenly come 2 lady come and sit down on the table I was sitting on, and they claim they came "first".

They don't even need tissues.

tell them to go fly a kite :)

Daniel Nielson said:

When me and a few colleagues are there, the hawker centre is quite empty, so I sat down on an empty table. Then suddenly come 2 lady come and sit down on the table I was sitting on, and they claim they came "first".

Daniel Nielson said:

I hope u didnt get up and let them have the table....i will just continue
to sit there and treat them as if they are transparent...

Ok, the situation is like this: we had 3 persons, I sat on a table for 4, then out of no where these 2 jokers come and sit down (there is so many empty tables around). I told them that the seats are reserved, and they said they are there first, then both of my colleagues come. Just when the climax is about to come both of my colleagues asked me to go to other seats, really too bad... :dunno:

sehsuan said:
bad experience, but my friend and i came across something silly. we were out at some eatery, then my friend spotted a mobile phone being used to chope a seat.

genius! :D

and yes, that happened in mobile-crazy singapore... :sweat:

pick up the hp and start making IDD calls :devil: