Nex5 Verus Nex3

happibeebee

Dec 5, 2010
Central
:D Just a simple question. What is the main difference between Nex 5 & Nex 3 other than the casing material?

Sorry I am very new to photography. Yet to buy my own DSLR :embrass:

:D Just a simple question. What is the main difference between Nex 5 & Nex 3 other than the casing material?

Sorry I am very new to photography. Yet to buy my own DSLR :embrass:

The grip is different. NEX-5 have a better grip

NEX-5 also have AVCHD support

Also the provided flash sits better on Nex5 than on Nex3.

Nex5 have remote control capability while Nex3 don't.

But a good point of Nex3 is that it has a better base for mounting tripod.

The NEX5 is targetted as the premium model while the NEX3 was meant to be the entry model. The main differences is the body chassis which is magnesuim alloy for NEX5 and Plastic for NEX3. Because of the magnesium, the casing for the NEX5 can be made smaller. About the only other difference worth mentioning is the NEX5 support full HD (1080p) while the NEX3 only support HD (720p).
Some like that the grip on the NEX5 is better. But if I had to purchase it all over again, I would have taken the NEX3 because its the same performance but around $200 cheaper! :)

to me... the NEX5:

1) more durable due to the magnesium alloy casing
2) grip is definitely better if you've got large hands
3) the flash is definitely easier to install
4) FULL HD video recording
5) able to work with a wireless remote to take group shots
6) more for guys xD

NEX3:
1) nicer colors.. have a wider range than the NEX5 which i feel that this model targets females
2) HD Ready video recording in MPEG-4
3) no wireless remote capabilities

therefore.. i'd choose the NEX5 over the NEX3 any day. it's just more or less because i'm a guy. i like the grip and i don't go for red or pink or brown for my camera :bsmilie: