Newbie Needs Advice & Help on Buying First dSLR Camera (EOS 350D perhaps?)

Status
Not open for further replies.

eunique

Apr 24, 2005
Sunny Singapore
Hi people!

I'm a student who has developed an interest in photography since a year ago. I only have the Olympus u300 Digital consumer camera as my trusty companion, and would really like to take a step into the world of dSLRs :D

Honestly, I know nuts about the jargons of dSLRs, what type of lens for what occassion, how shutter speeds affect your shots etc. I know there's a lot that I have to read up, but I was thinking that it'll be better for me to try hands-on as I learn, cos I believe I'll get the hang of it faster. What I know is that I love photographing nature, especially the skies, trees and sunset, although I am thinking of learning more about taking potraits of everyday people too.

I've been reading around and narrowed my choices down to two: Canon's EOS350D and Nikon's D70 (or D70s, but from what I've read, realised tt there isn't much difference, save for the larger 2.0" screen, and the fact tt there's something less in the bundle).

From what I've gathered by reading through some threads in the forum:

Canon's EOS 350D: 8megapixels, small plastic-ky body (tho some pointed out it may be good for girls with small hands to handle; still, not v.steady), able to remember the last 'length' of zoom tt you've used after shutting it down, better vertical grip (what's this??), but some swear that it produces better quality pictures than Nikon's

Nikon's D70: 6megapixels, body feels solid enough, great bundled kit of lens, help menu available in the camera itself, not-very-good software, good results though!