Ministers' salary raise is out!

if i'm a minister i'll do it for the nation and its people and definitely not for the $$$

but of cos, i'm expected to be paid so that i'll look good on the global stage

the current pay rise is just TOO MUCH liao

if it guarantees everyone in singapore will prosper in the years to come then i'd agree to it

but if not then GOD BLESS SINGAPORE

I recall in my morning glancing of the papers that the 33% is just for this year, next year they going to raise a bit more (and presumably, even more after that). Its the usual tactic of slowly boiling the frog.

33% raise. ok lah.. can clock that with a single job hop for many. :bsmilie:
but the rise already charted out even before performance is evaluated? :dunno:
2nd year from 1.6 to 1.94 only 21.25% increment.

I wish my company will do that man :bsmilie:

Because they need the endorsement of the MPs after some semblance of having discussed this issue.

More detail info:
http://www.straitstimes.com/portal/...rtid:88decb77405d1110VgnVCM100000430a0a0aRCRD

I wonder why they still need to debate over it when everything already being set :confused: :rolleyes:

I recall in my morning glancing of the papers that the 33% is just for this year, next year they going to raise a bit more (and presumably, even more after that). Its the usual tactic of slowly boiling the frog.

Because they need the endorsement of the MPs after some semblance of having discussed this issue.

singapore is like that one lor...suggest for a casino and everyone knows for sure that singapore will get its casino liao

now the F1 thingy...definitely and surely singapore will get F1

when MM lee kenna interviewed downunder, he mentioned abt pay rise, everyone in singapore knows that's CHOP & CONFIRM liao

debate is just for show only!!! to show that singapore is a democratic island.

drama sia...

Hehe, that's why must put the same idea across in more oblique language, hehehe.

Last reminder.

Should anyone wish to continue sharing, may i suggest your postings remain constructive.

Thank you.

Hehe, that's why must put the same idea across in more oblique language, hehehe.

Vince, you and I both know that it is not a matter of being oblique but being constructive offers the writer a chance to properly think through his our her posting, especially in such a matter that is attracts very strong reactions. :)

What will happen if the pay was dropped instead of increased?

bye-bye. singapore. *poof*

Well-said. This is something I really believe in. I have seen a lot of complaints from Singaporeans in many online discussions, but I have seen not much action.

It's like saying that eh, I want to be a good photographer some day and then you just sit on your chair and never touch your camera.

I think the last people that spoke up were asked to drink coffee by ISA. Remember the bungkok case?

Wolfgang, I don't think engaging with those people who make such comments is of any use...
neither do I think your comments are constructive too
"If you honestly think things are so bad here, then why not leave? "
I think we are very well aware that the avenues of recourse are pretty much symbolic.
And I don't think the "if you want to discuss politics, go join a political party" reasoning is totally realistic for most people either.

I think the last people that spoke up were asked to drink coffee by ISA. Remember the bungkok case?
ISA ISA ISA.

Police la, what ISA. :rolleyes: And come on, there were those girls who sold T-shirts, anything happen to them? In fact, anything happen to the people you mention?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sedition

I think that we need to remember that politics is not a business, as much as I believe in paying the ministers what they're worth, justifying a pay raise by comparing it to the high pay of other profession demeans the ideals of politics which goes beyond economics

Also, it's such a sensitive time to give a pay raise. And who acts as the check and balance for such actions? Does this mean that our ministers can raise their pay by however much they want whenever they want as long as they come up with some justification?

night86mare, may I ask you, why are you so worked up all the time? this is not the first kopitiam thread that you've been so...active in. Perhaps you are one of those people planted in the internet to rebutt all the grousings?
I think you're just fuelling the fire

night86mare, may I ask you, why are you so worked up all the time? this is not the first kopitiam thread that you've been so...active in. Perhaps you are one of those people planted in the internet to rebutt all the grousings?
I think you're just fuelling the fire

Yeah, just like you are possibly an alien from outer space.

I am not worked up, if you notice. It's just funny how much misinformation is easily spread through the Internet.

Yeah, conspiracy theories are VERY constructive, my dear mattlock. Perhaps you are of "the other" people planted in the Internet to try to point out "those people"? :rolleyes:

I post photographs too, btw. Much more often than you. Or most people here. So if you think that I have nothing better to do than to just go out and photograph so that I can disguise myself as a photographer, you are SO wrong.

ISA ISA ISA.

Police la, what ISA. :rolleyes: And come on, there were those girls who sold T-shirts, anything happen to them? In fact, anything happen to the people you mention?

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sedition

I think the t-shirts were never even sold. The police stepped in to say that no sale....

ISA IS POLICE......

Nothing will happen to you except u wil be blacklisted by the govt. Subversive element.

Wolfgang, I don't think engaging with those people who make such comments is of any use...
neither do I think your comments are constructive too
"If you honestly think things are so bad here, then why not leave? "
I think we are very well aware that the avenues of recourse are pretty much symbolic.
And I don't think the "if you want to discuss politics, go join a political party" reasoning is totally realistic for most people either.

Matt, you know what? I agree with you to a certain degree but there is little or no point ranting and raving here on a photography forum either. Nothing happens and everyone becomes more angsty with each passing post.

What I am trying to say is this is not the right place if you want your voice heard. You do not have to go join a political party to discuss politics. There are think tanks, organizations as well as forums online that welcome such discussions.

We are trying as much as well can to ensure that this sub-forum doesn't degenerate into one of those free for all forums that exists else where.

I hope you can see where we are coming from.

Cheers,
WG.

I think the t-shirts were never even sold. The police stepped in to say that no sale....

ISA IS POLICE......

Nothing will happen to you except u wil be blacklisted by the govt. Subversive element.

Proof?

Do you have real life examples? Concrete evidence? No? Then you have no case. Simple as that.

If saying something makes it the all and end all, we would all be leaders of our own little Utopian worlds.

2 points.

1. Is this substantiated? Can you confirm and attribute this?

2. How is this considered constructive to this thread?

It was in the papers.... the police were asked to investigate and the person involved was given a warning.... and please we all know what happens to people who have deemed to overstepped the line.. invited for a nice coffee to make sure they are know what they saying is correct.

We all know that all pretty models will give you TFCD if you ask them nicely.

We all know that that girl you fancy will just fall in love with you.

We all know that if you kowtow long enough to a green-eyed bullfrog, it will lay an egg! :bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

Proof?

Do you have real life examples? Concrete evidence? No? Then you have no case. Simple as that.

If saying something makes it the all and end all, we would all be leaders of our own little Utopian worlds.

Errrr Mr Chee?? Mr Tang?? Mr Jayaratnam.This names ring a bell?