Is L lens over-rated?

Status
Not open for further replies.

apiwales

Aug 22, 2010
Seeking opinion to see if L lenses are over-rated, or just slightly better than the "normal" lens - for the L price.

Well most L lens are just awesome! Recently i purchased the 70-200mm L IS II lens and used it for F1 and the images wowed me. I am just a beginner at photography so dont expect any form of skill from me to be quite honest, how the images turned out was strictly due to the lens, and me pointing at the cars, thats all i did. On the contrary, i had a buddy that was with me and using a 70-200mm Nikon lens, with same settings and all, image just dont turn out as well as mine. Do you think its worth paying more for it, initially i thought the premium was too much, but after taking the plunge and seeing the results, it was more than worth it.

However lens like 100-400mm L lens, some people say it doesnt deserve the L tag, and some ppl say its just good enough to attain the L tag, depends on individuals, but overall for all L lens, they are superior in quality.

L lenses are some of the best lenses produced!! They are definitely NOT over-rated, but they are a bit over-priced....

surely Canon wun be selling something that is over rated right?

besides, u can compare the built of the lens with those non L lens.

quality of the lens glass is also different.