I heard YOG volunteers promised F1 race ticket but never get....

haha, received after the event?

well... typical singaproeans. we all make errors cause...

according to a certain radio station...

we only listen to the good things.

Can't help it lah, the tall man also told us not to complain mah, must see things in net happiness. So they also only want to hear the good things themselves.

ah bueh tahan...

they sign up as volunteer. f1 was never promised. if have its a bonus. if dun have nvm.which part of volunteer they dun understand?

its a very bad trend, especially regarding the youths of our nation. what it says is that they aren't socially conscious, very materialistic and they are very self centered.

RWS and F1 were bonuses given to the volunteers. Its an extra benefit to thank them for a job well done. i'm surprised people actually do it for the tix only.

its a volunteer. not a paid job. u signed up to help out for FREE.

sigh, no ticket then dun promised this and that..... Next time where got ppl wanna help??

唐三藏岂是为想成佛而取经?西天路有没有雷音寺又有何关系?但求一心皈依,哪计路程长短?

anyways, morning news. seems like singpost didnt send it:think: last batch of letters were sent to post office on weds.:think:

Is now on AsiaOne news liao lo.

http://news.asiaone.com/News/AsiaOne+News/Singapore/Story/A1Story20100929-239545.html

...The 400 complimentary tickets had been promised to volunteers as a reward for their assistance during the YOG, which was held from Aug 14 to 26.

But many of those who lined up at Universal Studios failed to receive the tickets and had to settle for second best: Watching Sunday's race on television...

anyways, morning news. seems like singpost didnt send it:think: last batch of letters were sent to post office on weds.:think:

That's the problem.. Not all industries are suitable for 5 days work week. Even some of the banks open on Sundays. The postal service should deliver on Saturdays as well.

Woah... Postman will be very sad... No family life... :(

They can have rotating shift so each of them only work 5 days.

Some can work Sun to Thu and rest on Fri,Sat and some on work from Tue to Sat and rest on Sun, Mon.

That way, your mail will be delivered on time.

They can have rotating shift so each of them only work 5 days.

Some can work Sun to Thu and rest on Fri,Sat and some on work from Tue to Sat and rest on Sun, Mon.

That way, your mail will be delivered on time.

Haha... What you suggest would mean increase in cost. You willing to pay more to the postal service? :think:

When they change from 6 day delivery to 5 day only delivery, is there a reduction in postage charges?

There is decrease in service standard w/o corresponding decrease in charges, why should there be increase in charges associated with improvement in service standard?

Anyway, if they can do 7 days delivery, I'll be willing to pay 25cts instead of current 22cts for letters.

it's a fair amount to pay for better service.

When they change from 6 day delivery to 5 day only delivery, is there a reduction in postage charges?

There is decrease in service standard w/o corresponding decrease in charges, why should there be increase in charges associated with improvement in service standard?

Anyway, if they can do 7 days delivery, I'll be willing to pay 25cts instead of current 22cts for letters.

it's a fair amount to pay for better service.

If they maintain, chances are, they have to increase the charges. So, cut cost by reducing work days. Your willingness to pay more does not mean everyone wants to pay more as well. Postal service would need to hire more, which mean cost would definitely increase. businesses that has recurring billing process (like PUB/Singtel/M1/Starhub... bills) would need to mail out thousands of letters. For them, such increase would 1 day be add on to us all. 3c looks small, but has a lot of implications here.

We also need to think, do we really need a 7 days x 8 hours postal service. Many businesses do close during Saturday, or work half day. Delivery a letter to them would mean, you may need to leave the letters in their letter box over the weekend. Who wants to guarantee the mails left in their letter box would be safe?

If we look back into the problem, this has nothing to do with postal service. It has been function as it is for quite sometime. If there is an undesired effect, then we should be seeing it now and complaining it everyday. It would not be a good idea for us to demand them to extend their work hours just because of this event.

The problem here is the late dispatch done by MCYS. They already admit of a screw up done on their part, so this mean, they need improve their efficient. Getting others to standby/fix for their problem is strange and unnecessary.

If this has been a well plan project, then I would expect the MCYS would have the possession of the 400 tickets long before the F1 event. It would be very easy for them to distribute to the tickets to volunteers during or at the YOG closing day. Otherwise, a much better form of distribution can be done. A simple idea can just be, we can sent out notification by email. They just print out the letter and go to collect it themselves. This can just be open a booth in Suntec 1 week before F1, or get Sistic to help the distribution or any other means that is more efficient. 400 tickets only, not in terms of thousands. This suppose to be simple.

They done none of these, instead they relied on traditional (snail) mailing and done it so close to the actual F1 event. From my experience, this basically shown how lack of planning has been done. I can even bet, this idea of giving out F1 tickets may be a last minute "idea" came from one of the bosses. A totally ad-hoc idea without knowing how to support it logistically.

Coming out idea is not a bad thing. However, people likes to happy happy comes out idea without thought carefully. A good idea may not end up being well received.

You save money for them, would they pass cost saving to you ??? :bsmilie:

They have tons of excuse to pass down additional cost to us :bsmilie:

One more excuse would not make any differences :bsmilie:

You save money for them, would they pass cost saving to you ??? :bsmilie:

They have tons of excuse to pass down additional cost to us :bsmilie:

One more excuse would not make any differences :bsmilie:

They "slowly" increase than sudden increase lo. :bsmilie:

Is still better than nothing la. :bsmilie:

If we look back into the problem, this has nothing to do with postal service. It has been function as it is for quite sometime. If there is an undesired effect, then we should be seeing it now and complaining it everyday. It would not be a good idea for us to demand them to extend their work hours just because of this event.

The problem here is the late dispatch done by MCYS. They already admit of a screw up done on their part, so this mean, they need improve their efficient. Getting others to standby/fix for their problem is strange and unnecessary.

This event is indeed MCYS problem, and I'm not suggesting that they're not at fault.

What I'm commenting is targeted at the postal services only. I feel that the previous 6 day delivery provides a better service.

Or, they could adopt a 1,3,5,7 delivery schedule, meaning alternate day delivery.

This would ensure that letters get delivered regularly rather than a potential 3~4 days delay over the weekends.

Also, even if there is undesirable effect, the consumers doesn't have a choice also. And they just happily cut to 5 days from 6 days delivery. Even if they cut to 4 days, pple may not necessarily bring it up.. it doesn't mean there is no problem.

Volunteer means do without asking or expecting anything in return.

But if they did not ask and you want to give as a gesture of thanks, then go ahead.

Don't muck it up by sending postage mail on a Friday, to mail tickets meant for the Saturday race.
What time mailed on Friday? Was it 4.50pm Friday?

Look, it is not about whether SingPost no longer sends mail on Saturdays. Saying that is rubbish.

Anyway there is SpeedPost. Operating Hours Monday - Friday : 8 am - 8 pm. Saturday : 8 am - 4 pm
Why never use Speedpost.

If no Speed post use DHL, Fedex.

No one in his right mind will send important time sensitive documents by normal postage mail when the event is the next day.

No one sends wedding invitations that way, right?

Anyway it is for the Saturday race which is the only the qualifying race. Not even the real thing. Then why so tight-fisted? As though one is very reluctant to give.

If so, then don't promise in the first place.

Sending the tickets this way makes one look-tight fisted. It makes one look cheap and stingy. It makes one look insincere.

But then again, they may not be at fault after all.
Party A (F1 race organisers source) has to give the tickets to Party B before Party B can send it out to the volunteers.
We do not know the facts. We do not know whether Party A had given Party B all the free-to-give-away tickets well in advance. Like say, 1 week or 2 weeks in advance.
What if Party A had given Party B the tickets very very late.
Party B had no time to react at all.
So as a result sent out the tickets late to the volunteers.
And all this time Party B has been absorbing the angry comments from the public and some volunteers. Party B said sorry when it was not their fault at all.