How to get noise-free pics using high ISO


baynald12

Deregistered
Apr 30, 2010
124
0
0
#1
hi guys, just need advice of using high ISO.
the other day we took the sg flyer ard 8 pm, so the only way to take pics was using high ISO
it looks ok on the LCD monitor but when I checked on my pc its horrible because of the noise.
Is there any settings where you can use high ISO and the result is like using ISO 200?
if high ISO=noise then why these new DSLR are boasting on their high ISO when we can only use the lowest ISO?
guys need your expertise..
thanks
 

voxies09

New Member
Apr 11, 2010
651
0
0
Singapore
#2
either using flash, or slower shutter speed with low ISO to get a good night photo..

HIGH ISO = noise..
 

Kit

Senior Member
Jan 19, 2002
11,692
42
48
42
Upper Bukit Timah
Visit site
#3
The threshold of noise acceptance varies from individual. High ISO gives you convenience but its not without its drawbacks. You can try turning on the high ISO noise reduction function if your camera has it but don't expect squeaky clean results like what you'd get with lower ISOs. If you are taking photos of the overall structure of the Flyer or any scene e.g. cityscapes, etc, the proper way is to use a tripod.
 

Marmbo

New Member
Jun 10, 2004
86
0
0
41
BC, Canada
#4
hi guys, just need advice of using high ISO.
the other day we took the sg flyer ard 8 pm, so the only way to take pics was using high ISO
it looks ok on the LCD monitor but when I checked on my pc its horrible because of the noise.
Is there any settings where you can use high ISO and the result is like using ISO 200?
if high ISO=noise then why these new DSLR are boasting on their high ISO when we can only use the lowest ISO?
guys need your expertise..
thanks
The quick easy answer is no. If you want ISO noise like 200, then you use ISO 200. The more sensitive to you make your sensor to light the more noise it is going to pick up. Many new dSLR's are much better at handling noise. Meaning one camera will have more or less noise than another at the same ISO. My old Digital Rebel from 2004 had terrible noise at ISO 800 and above, my 5D mk II I can shoot at that and higher with no issues as the noise is much more controlled due to improvements in electronics and sensor design.

That said, there are programs that can reduce the visable noise you see but they generally soften the image as well. Most photo edit applications have some sort of noise reduction feature, prefer not to use it however.
 

Galdor

Senior Member
Jul 5, 2006
9,544
0
0
Planet Gaia
s105.photobucket.com
#5
Your A500 has one of the better noise control over other cams and if you still find that the noise is not acceptable, I'm not sure what other cam can do better. I have tried shooting ISO 800 and 1600 on my old A700 which people say that the noise control is not as good as their cam but I still find that my pictures are usable.

Things to note:

1) If you do zero or very minor processing the noise will not be very bad if you print them although it looks quite bad on the screen.

2) Get a software like noise ninja if you want better noise removal results, but be prepared to lost the details.
 

#6
some cameras have long exposure noise reduction or high ISO NR as built in options... otherwise shoot raw and do it in post with specialist software like Noise Ninja.. they can be very effective.. as previously stated.. it's a trade off.. ISO vs Shutter Speed. Naturally higher end cameras will tend to have lower noise at higher ISO's as well.. Cheers
 

baynald12

Deregistered
Apr 30, 2010
124
0
0
#8
thanks guys.
Im using A500
So whats the use or when can u use ISO 12800?
 

baynald12

Deregistered
Apr 30, 2010
124
0
0
#9
thanks guys.
Im using A500
So whats the use or when can u use ISO 12800?
 

baynald12

Deregistered
Apr 30, 2010
124
0
0
#10
I didn't tried a tripod although I brought it, because I suspect I will get a blur picture from inside the cabin,
 

ed9119

Moderator
Staff member
Mar 11, 2002
11,013
38
48
56
Singapore
www.walkeast.com
#11
The quick easy answer is no. If you want ISO noise like 200, then you use ISO 200. The more sensitive to you make your sensor to light the more noise it is going to pick up. Many new dSLR's are much better at handling noise. Meaning one camera will have more or less noise than another at the same ISO. My old Digital Rebel from 2004 had terrible noise at ISO 800 and above, my 5D mk II I can shoot at that and higher with no issues as the noise is much more controlled due to improvements in electronics and sensor design.

That said, there are programs that can reduce the visable noise you see but they generally soften the image as well. Most photo edit applications have some sort of noise reduction feature, prefer not to use it however.
ditto above comments :thumbsup:
 

May 4, 2008
5
0
0
#14
use post processing software like Imagenomic Noiseware...there is a free version on. Try full suppression mode. I use that and am happy all the day.
 

torak

New Member
Sep 4, 2009
678
0
0
#16
thanks guys.
Im using A500
So whats the use or when can u use ISO 12800?
seriously, having the option of iso 12800 doesnt mean its usable.

A500 already have very good ISO performance, until 1600 still very noise free. 3200 is still usable and I would stop at that (and for an entry level DSLR, this is considered very good already).

ISO 6400 and 12800 should only be used if u really don mind the noise.

Tripod is ur best friend if u really wanna take night landscape shots, or else just bear with the noise of ISO 6400.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#17
if high ISO=noise then why these new DSLR are boasting on their high ISO when we can only use the lowest ISO?
guys need your expertise..
thanks
Well, just because a camera *can* get to that high ISO does not mean it's clean ISO. If it were the case, you wouldn't see every review site out there comparing the various ISO output of cameras.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#18
Most photographers would NEVER shoot above ISO 3200. Ever. If you insist on shooting at 12800 which is essentially an "emergency, I need a shot even if the quality is poor" settings, then go for it.

You need to LEARN about your equipment, KNOW the limits and most importantly don't fall for what the marketing brochures say. Best bet: Learn the basics of how a DSLR works, then you will have a better understanding of the technology, the limits and what is and is not achievable.
 

Rashkae

Senior Member
Nov 28, 2005
19,105
12
0
#19
By the way, why did you not use a tripod? To say "the only way was to use high ISO" shows that you were ill-prepared for / not knowledgeable on night photography.
 

axis90x

New Member
Feb 6, 2009
1,385
0
0
In your dreams
#20
In conclusion, high iso = high noise.
no way to rescue the high noise photo.
 

Top Bottom