How Much Have You Spent on your Equipment?

see my signature...

all that gear has been purchased is since the 14th Dec 2002 and more is on the way.

so in 6 weeks I am up to around the $6-$7K mark (AUD$) and when I get a D-SLR later on in the year I will be hitting the $15K mark.

hmmmm.......u didn't ask i also didn't go and count........
let me see what i have get all these years..........

Nikon F90X with MB10......2 each......$2000/-
SB26 speedlite..................................$350/-
Metz speedlite...................................$250/-
Metz hammer flash with TTL Mod......$1000/-
Sigma 28mm-105mm.........................$360/-
Nikon 28mm-105mm micro.................$680/-
Nikon 85mm.......................................$420/-
Nikon 28mm-70mm............................$350/-
Nikon 70mm-300mm..........................$450/-
Lowepro bag....photo runner.............$60/-
Lowepro bag...Nova 5........................$60/-

the rest all small items dun count.......totol=$5980/-
OK la for me............it's a healthy hobby afterall.;)

digicam , automatic watch, mobile, PDA, biking , Minidisc , travelling siao here
lor
but still can endure
as i dont get the best gadgets and dont do it often too
so still can maintain
hehe

if too speclized in camera how to have all those hobbies u want to do
heee
:embrass:

Originally posted by jesser
hmmmm.......u didn't ask i also didn't go and count........
let me see what i have get all these years..........

Nikon F90X with MB10......2 each......$2000/-
SB26 speedlite..................................$350/-
Metz speedlite...................................$250/-
Metz hammer flash with TTL Mod......$1000/-
Sigma 28mm-105mm.........................$360/-
Nikon 28mm-105mm micro.................$680/-
Nikon 85mm.......................................$420/-
Nikon 28mm-70mm............................$350/-
Nikon 70mm-300mm..........................$450/-
Lowepro bag....photo runner.............$60/-
Lowepro bag...Nova 5........................$60/-

the rest all small items dun count.......totol=$5980/-
OK la for me............it's a healthy hobby afterall.;)

so much equipment and only $6k?

biang..

IN USE:
Mamiya RB67 = $2750..
Nikon FM2 = $260
Tokina 17mm f3.5= $240
Manfrotto 055PRO + 141RC head = $250
Manfrotto 029 tripod head = $100
Polaris Dual 5 light meter = $330
Lowepro 300AW = $120
===
OUT OF USE:
cosina 70-210 (K-mount) = $100
cosina 35-70 (K-mount) = $100
cosina CT1 super = $90

TOTAL: $4,340

damn.. tt's the most money i've spent in a year man.. EVER..

-jar0n

Originally posted by jar0n
so much equipment and only $6k?

biang..

IN USE:
Mamiya RB67 = $2750..
Nikon FM2 = $260
Tokina 17mm f3.5= $240
Manfrotto 055PRO + 141RC head = $250
Manfrotto 029 tripod head = $100
Polaris Dual 5 light meter = $330
Lowepro 300AW = $120
===
OUT OF USE:
cosina 70-210 (K-mount) = $100
cosina 35-70 (K-mount) = $100
cosina CT1 super = $90

TOTAL: $4,340

damn.. tt's the most money i've spent in a year man.. EVER..

-jar0n

you: $4,340 = how many rolls of film used?

me: $199.00 P&S camera = almost 1000 rolls of films used so far.:D :devil:

Worth the money don't you think.:D

Joking ah.:D

Cheers.:cool:

Old CP950 ..... $1,450
Old 64Mb CF .. $ 280
Old GP batts ... $ 35 (sale 1999)
Sold CP950 .... ($ 555) with 64Mb CF & batts
((CP950 amortise over 3 yrs and 10,238 shots))
free 256Mb CF $ 0
Curr CP4500 0.. $1,080
extra batt ....... $ 75
extra 256Mb CF $ 130
circ polariser .... $ 20
Targus bag ...... $ 15
Total damage $2,530/-

Spent $400+ printing out my fav pix since Oct last yr...

Am I supposed to be lucky then?:dunno:

Sigh, this suck. Buy a Nikon F100, a Nikon D100, a Nikon 24-85mm AFS, a Nikon 105mm Micro, a Nikon 100-300mm zoom, an SB-80DX and stay happy for the rest of your life. Unless you drive a Bimmer, live in a house, feed your family well and still have cash to spare. I hate hobbies weighing me down, though I always do. And it sucks having so much hobbies.

I have,
1) Cars (lucky I'm in Australia, have a 6k 1993 corolla)
2) remote control cars( used to have nitro gas cars costing $1K+)
3) Mountain Biking( Rode a Klein Adroit $3K 2nd hand)
4) Planted Aquarium ( $1K at least)
5) Audio Equipment( haven ventured but lotsa interest)
6) Girlfriend(dont talk about it)

plus photography, which luckily I can control abit. Doing well with an F80, Sigma Lenses and 1 Nikkor, with SIgma Flash. But everytime I develop film, can almost buy a CD. Crap shit.

How to balance man. Above all, I'm only a student and I live off my parents sadly. Sigh, humans have unlimited wants coupled with limited resources. Adam ate the apple, damn.:devil: :thumbsd: :cry:

Originally posted by clive
lol klause..r u the one from photozone.de

Nope.

I reply to you near to 7mth late ;p hehehe...

My damage is close to $2000. Frankly speaking, dun need to spend so much $ on cam as hobbyist.

$2000 doesnt include books and films.:(

Originally posted by b18
Why not start a thread .. " How much have you earn from your camera ? " :D

=bob=

I wonder how many would answer "0" :D

And oh yeah, one must factor in the opportunity cost attributable to the "wife factor" i.e. nagging and those "why?" questions :D :D

huh? rat poison ah.
then must spend on some sugar to make it taste better leh.

who knows 18 years later, you still end up playing photography which cost more. waste the rat poison. haha.

Er..... are you asking how much the equipments we own now worth or how much we have spend since the first day we fell in love this on going $ spending hobby?

I started at 15 yo and I'm 38 yo now, 23 years of spending........ wah.... think also can go crazy. :faint:

$0 because I had so much fun with each and everyone of them. ;p

Hmm actually got a clean record of how much I spend and how much I earned from photography.

Spending still more than earning ... :cry:

Moving very close to the 6 digit mark after near 20yrs of spending ... :cry: :cry: :cry:

Oooooh...a very touchy subject :confused:
Lotsa dough involved...so don wanna count
Though have records but stashed carefully so my other half don find out the psychotic amount I have spent :what:
actually ..refuse to total the tally...may have heart attack :bigeyes:
.....there goes my overseas holidays sigh
.....there goes my new bike sigh
.....there goes....aiyoh better stop and go out to shoot ;)

Photography is just one of the VICEs of man (woman?).

Amount spent? No eyes see. ;p See already, :sweat: :sweat: :sweat: .

hehe..
juz calculated last nite my income tax,earn ard $20k from phography alone last working yr.
seems like i'm the lucky few dat is not in deficits. LOL