Home studio setup


Status
Not open for further replies.

ortega

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 2, 2004
23,706
10
38
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#21
BG = background
holders = backdrop stand
paper = the background paper
autopole = see here

minolta light meter is good, you have good friends :)

wireless trigger works with all cameras with hotshoe or PC sync
alt you can use the flash to trigger the studio lights
 

V

vince123123

Guest
#23
A 15m x 7m room is very huge - bigger than I would say, most photogrpahy studios. You must be staying in a mansion or bungalow or something equilvalent.

no, photography is only my hobby.nothing more, nothing less.

snowspeeder,
15 x 7 meters, not feet.

i'm not into branded stuffs i.e LV, prada.:bsmilie:
but i wouldnt want to buy cheena stuff too(no offense).
i dont mind paying slightly more for a better one.

btw, what's the diff between 300watts and 1000 watts other than upping power bills in the end of month?:bsmilie:
does one really need a 1kwatt light?can we compensate with higher ISO or bigger aperture?
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#24
BG = background
holders = backdrop stand
paper = the background paper
autopole = see here

minolta light meter is good, you have good friends :)

wireless trigger works with all cameras with hotshoe or PC sync
alt you can use the flash to trigger the studio lights
what's the autopole for?the website didnt state.for pole dancing poses?:bsmilie:

good friends yes.but the autometer is i buy myself one hor.donkey years ago with F5.now in the same cell as the F5 everyday starring at each other.:bsmilie:
 

ortega

Moderator
Staff member
Nov 2, 2004
23,706
10
38
Singapore, Singapore, Singapor
#26
what's the autopole for?the website didnt state.for pole dancing poses?:bsmilie:

good friends yes.but the autometer is i buy myself one hor.donkey years ago with F5.now in the same cell as the F5 everyday starring at each other.:bsmilie:
can be used for pole dancing also :thumbsup:
since you already have backdrop holders (unglam) then you would not need the autopole (glam)
 

glennyong

Senior Member
May 2, 2004
5,588
0
36
Singapore
#27
wah... tat time ask lens now as set up liao... very very fast !! :)
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#29
A 15m x 7m room is very huge - bigger than I would say, most photogrpahy studios. You must be staying in a mansion or bungalow or something equilvalent.
like i said lor.15 by 7 BUT it's not a EMPTY room.got beds, wardrobes and the room actually has more than 4 walls.
so, effective working area for the 'studio' is much less than you think.

btw, is height of room an important factor in home studio?
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#30
can be used for pole dancing also :thumbsup:
since you already have backdrop holders (unglam) then you would not need the autopole (glam)

seriously, HOW u use the autopole?praytell!

glenyong,

lens?no one going to japan, no one wants my 80-200, 105 dc not in production anymore and blah blah blah blah poo poo buibui...doh.

seems like digital age for photography has rekindled my good old passion for it.
i gave up on film cos too ex.and too troublesome.everytime shoot liao still got to bring go develop.doh:p
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#31
lend me your F5 lor, i would like to bring it out for a spin, help you keep all the moving parts working :)
u still want to shoot film meh?pls lah.dun full of moooooooooooo lei...:bsmilie:
 

zac08

Senior Member
Feb 21, 2005
11,755
0
0
East
#32
seriously, HOW u use the autopole?praytell!
What if you don't want to screw support hooks to a wall, or don't have a suitable wall, or want your background to be portable? Manfrotto manufacture an ingenious device called the Autopole. This is a two-section aluminium tube (one slides inside the other) with a strong locking mechanism; it's a bit like a king-size leg from a tripod. The Autopole has large soft rubber feet at each end, and when extended is long enough to fit between floor and ceiling of most average rooms. One simply extends the Autopole until the feet are touching both floor and ceiling, then clamps the lever-lock. This clamping action extends the pole just slightly more so it fits very firmly between floor and ceiling. Two Autopoles can be placed anywhere convenient - even closer to a wall than you could with tripod stands for example. When using the Autopoles to support Seamless Background Paper, you just place the Autopoles a suitable distance apart for the paper size you're using, then support the paper between the poles. How do you support the paper? Easy....
Technical Details

* The Autopole - The original adjustable lighting pole system.
* Unique cantilever single action locking system expands to exert pressure and securely wedge the rubber suction cup ends in place.
* Cantilever system incorporates safety lock
* Floor to ceiling, or wall to wall for strong verical or horizontal support of lighting or backdrops.
* Two versions, up to 145" plus optional extensions available.
Just Google it... ;)
 

jeanie

Senior Member
May 19, 2005
4,466
0
0
#38
if you give me, i gladly look after it for you ;)
F5 also can
stick to topic!i want to get my studio up and going asap!cant wait to shoot some gigolos.:bsmilie:
 

Splutter

Senior Member
Dec 28, 2003
2,909
0
0
35
Gim Boon Tai
www.splutterphotography.com
#39
Hi, I find that studio equipment usually are rather depreciative, meaning the more expensive strobes you buy, the more you lose. So if you are not intending to shoot on a full time basis, its actually better to stick with the cheaper brands. Afterall selling off 5k worth of "cheap" equipment at 1/2 price, you will lose less than selling off similar high end equipment worth 20k at 1/2 price. That said, studio equipments have quite a lot of hidden costs like reflectors, modifiers, stands, backdrops etc.

I shoot in a living room with some furnitures and usable space is only about 3.5 x 10 m, it's really too small!! The only good thing is the ceiling is higher than average.

For wireless triggers, if you are referring to those used to trigger off strobes, they can be pretty cheap if you go for the china brands. They do work well. I have been using mine for about 2 years and they still trigger every single time.

Modifiers like softboxes, umbrellas are good to have, but not really necessary. I have a number of umbrellas but practically unused as I'm trying to move to harsher lighting. It's more important to invest on the reflectors, grids and barndoors. I feel they are used more frequently. Of course there are much more modifiers like gels, beautydish, snoots, sun umbrella etc. Do take some time to read up on what you really require as these stuff add up to a rather significant amount.

Reliable brands like bowns and elinchrom are the most common in singapore since they have agents here. If you can somehow get brands like profoto,broncolor,balcar they are even better, but of course much much more expensive.

I'm using Jinbei that CSer afiend brought in, its really much cheaper and so far its been pretty reliable, so you may like to take a look at that. The number of lights required, well that's for you to decide. Sometimes I use 1, sometimes it goes up to 5. I think a good tradeoff will be 2-3. Think CP carries such 2-3 set kits too. Wattage wise, the higher it goes, the higher the F stop you can use. It usually recharges much faster too. Somewhere along 600w - 1000w will be very usable range.

Ok din realise I rambled so much. Better let you digest the vebal vomit first ;p Hope this helps!
 

V

vince123123

Guest
#40
Heh yea I know there other furniture in it, but a room the size of 15m x 7m should only be found in mansions and bungalows - huge!

The height is important, the higher the better (up to a certain limit).

like i said lor.15 by 7 BUT it's not a EMPTY room.got beds, wardrobes and the room actually has more than 4 walls.
so, effective working area for the 'studio' is much less than you think.

btw, is height of room an important factor in home studio?
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Top Bottom