Desktop studio setup, anyone?

Just some test with my light tent I got from SykeTang, and some free paper & acrylic sheets I got from a friend. Not too bad.
Shot with 300D with Tamron 18-200. with 2 580EXs. Simple stuff.

IMG_7029.jpg

IMG_7033.jpg

IMG_7035.jpg

IMG_7037.jpg

Here's my set up I promised in earlier post.

lighting kit from PQ23, light tent from syketang, camera is 300D with Tamron 18-200
R0013255.jpg

Here's a test shot:
IMG_7061_edited-2.jpg

Yr setup looks gd. Wat's tat toy? Still got L-lens. :bsmilie:

Its as cheap as it can go. Total spending S$210, lights, cables etc is S$155, light box is S$65.

That's my other hobby lah, kitbashing 12" toy figures;p Normally, I do 12" soldiers, but this one is a 12" CSer:bsmilie:

Its as cheap as it can go. Total spending S$210, lights, cables etc is S$155, light box is S$65.

That's my other hobby lah, kitbashing 12" toy figures;p Normally, I do 12" soldiers, but this one is a 12" CSer:bsmilie:

wah bro..didnt know u into toys also :D

nice setup anyways :lovegrin:

wah bro..didnt know u into toys also :D

nice setup anyways :lovegrin:

toys, manga, anime, b-grade movies(aka Friday 13th, low-budget sci-fi films, giant monsters), wrestling and photography. These are my hobbies...ha ha:bsmilie: single old man is like dat one lah...:bsmilie:

1) The PQ23 slave flash is only 45 watts. Is it powerful enough?

2) What is the difference between a slave flash and normal lights?

3) I noticed it has a E27 household foot, can I buy the slave flash and put it on my ikea lamp?

4) I bought an ikea lamp (max 60watts) and tried to experiement but the effect is not good. Can you advise?

http://public.fotki.com/Peiling/lighting-tent/

Thanks I am a really new newbie and am trying to learn. Any help is much appreciated.

your light box looks small....what size?

1) The PQ23 slave flash is only 45 watts. Is it powerful enough?

2) What is the difference between a slave flash and normal lights?

3) I noticed it has a E27 household foot, can I buy the slave flash and put it on my ikea lamp?

4) I bought an ikea lamp (max 60watts) and tried to experiement but the effect is not good. Can you advise?

http://public.fotki.com/Peiling/lighting-tent/

Thanks I am a really new newbie and am trying to learn. Any help is much appreciated.

Hi Peiling,

I newbie also, but will try to answer whatever I can:

1. I not sure. But I shoot with mostly small aperture, f8-f29, sometimes still overexposed, must push flash further to reduce exposure.

2. I dunno also, I bought flash because I thought normal light if on for too long will be very hot. Flash not so jia lat. Also, flash is white, but normal lamp got alot of different colour temperature, very troublesome. I dun know what kind to buy, so buy flash lor.

3. I think as long as voltage same, can liao.

4. Your lamp very far from light tent leh, move closer for better effect lah.

your light box looks small....what size?

My light tent is 40cm by 40cm by 40cm.

PQ23, check his MO threads. He is a advertiser here, I bought quite alot of stuff from him before.

he got sell the lights and the stands....can u check what are the exact stuffs u buy for him? so that i can ask him for quote.

Hi Peiling,

I newbie also, but will try to answer whatever I can:

1. I not sure. But I shoot with mostly small aperture, f8-f29, sometimes still overexposed, must push flash further to reduce exposure.

2. I dunno also, I bought flash because I thought normal light if on for too long will be very hot. Flash not so jia lat. Also, flash is white, but normal lamp got alot of different colour temperature, very troublesome. I dun know what kind to buy, so buy flash lor.

3. I think as long as voltage same, can liao.

4. Your lamp very far from light tent leh, move closer for better effect lah.

My light tent is 40cm by 40cm by 40cm.

Thanks for the reply. Sorry, more questions.
5) so the flash must be used with the camera? Only can use DSLR is it?
6) Light tent if 75cm from PQ23, is it too big?
7) Same question that totoro17 asked.

he got sell the lights and the stands....can u check what are the exact stuffs u buy for him? so that i can ask him for quote.

Thanks for the reply. Sorry, more questions.
5) so the flash must be used with the camera? Only can use DSLR is it?
6) Light tent if 75cm from PQ23, is it too big?
7) Same question that totoro17 asked.

5. Any camera with a hotshoe will do.
6. ? depend on how big you room is, I prefers small one because my room is small.
7. mini lighting kit from his website, minus umbrella

5. Any camera with a hotshoe will do.
6. ? depend on how big you room is, I prefers small one because my room is small.
7. mini lighting kit from his website, minus umbrella

Thanks. But that lighting kit is only 45 watts...enough??

The 12" CSer looks :thumbsup:.