Could these Nikkor Lenses be used in DSLR?

Denniswong

Nov 5, 2011
Hi,

I've got these 2 old lenses from a friend.
Wondering if they could be used for the Nikon DSLRs?

1. Zoom Nikkor F AF-D 75-240mm f/4.5 - f/5.6D
2. Zoom Nikkor 28-80mm f/3.5 - f/5.6D

Thanks!:)
Dennis

Hi,

I've got these 2 old lenses from a friend.
Wondering if they could be used for the Nikon DSLRs?

1. Zoom Nikkor F AF-D 75-240mm f/4.5 - f/5.6D
2. Zoom Nikkor 28-80mm f/3.5 - f/5.6D

Thanks!:)
Dennis

Firstly, I've to know what's your DSLR model to tell you the appropriate answer...!!:)

Secondly, is those models with built-in motor will then be able to AF using your above mentioned two AF-D-Nikkor lenses...!!;)

I've not bought my DSLR yet. Looking at the D7k.
I'm a newbie to DSLR, so I'm not sure if there's any built in motors in the lenses.

Denniswong said:
I'm a newbie to DSLR, so I'm not sure if there's any built in motors in the lenses.

Both lenses do not have built in motor. They will work fine on a D7000

Since you're looking at D7k, D90/80, YES, can :bigeyes:AF with AF-D lenses ..., but:nono:not with D5000, D3000, D5100 & D3100...as you'll :bigeyes:need AF-S lenses to be able to AF...!!:cool:

Since you're looking at D7k, D90/80, YES, can :bigeyes:AF with AF-D lenses ..., but:nono:not with D5000, D3000, D5100 & D3100...as you'll :bigeyes:need AF-S lenses to be able to AF...!!:cool:

Just to add on, the D in AF-D only means that the lens is able to provide distance information to the body to allow for better metering. There are also lenses with AF and not the D, which do not have built in motor. AF-S and AF-I has built in motor in them.

Just to add on, the D in AF-D only means that the lens is able to provide distance information to the body to allow for better metering. There are also lenses with AF and not the D, which do not have built in motor. AF-S and AF-I has built in motor in them.