Trouble with Night Shoot

than do u need flash. or just use iso and exposure?

1st step:

Set your camera on a sturdy tripod.

2nd step:

Set to Aperture Priority - might be denoted by 'A' in your mode dial.

3rd step:

Set your aperture to... say around f8

4th step:

Set your ISO value to around 200, best is 100 (that is... if your camera support it).

5th step:

Switch off your image stabilizing system

6th step:

Take your photo.

7th step:

Preview it... if found too dark, then step up your EV then take photo again.

There this is the steps that I normally do when shooting night landscape.

ok. what photoshop software you using now??

Again, do not worry about this for now. Get the basic right before you start to think of post processing.

is my camera setting ok? Do i need to change any thing other than iso??

This is the 3rd time I am posting this, so please try to read and learn. If after 3 tries reading you still cannot understand, please go for a course on camera basics, preferably 1-on-1 so the trainer can explain everything just for you:

1. Use a tripod.
2. Learning about using manual mode to set the aperture at f/11 or f/16 and then setting the shutter speed to achieve the right exposure
3. Use a low ISO like 200.

You need to change your ISO, your aperture, your shutter speed. Everything is wrong.

Like what Rashkae had said... and please, please, please, please, read my post... I did it step by step, there is nothing easier than that already.

May i suggest a point and shoot instead? You seem unwilling to read what people have been telling you.

i just don,t understand.
thank for guideing me alone. :)

i just don,t understand.

That is why... We have told you:

1. READ YOUR MANUAL
2. READ A BOOK
3. FOLLOW OUR STEPS.

In addition to which, you have been given a link to the FAQ in the night photography section. There are MANY resources online.

There is a difference between guiding and expecting to be spoonfed and hand held. You have been given more guidance in this thread than most beginners ever require, and the only thing missing is for you to actually try the steps we have given you and go shoot.

Until that time, please do not expect to be hand-held. Go out and try the steps we have told you. RTFM. Read the newbies guide. Read the books and links we have recommended. Learn how to use google.

i just don,t understand.

Quite frankly, you need to read your manual and a good book, and most importantly GO OUT AND EXPERIMENT. If you still cannot understand the relationship of exposure, aperture and ISO, then photography may not be for you.

i just don,t understand.

What do you not understand? We have already listed down the steps and you just need to follow them for a starter, it is that simple.

Don't tell me you do not even know what Aperture mode, aperture value, ISO value, shutter speed and the such. If that is the case, then you might seriously need to read your manual again... all those are written in the manual that came with your camera. And next, please be very very specific on your question, or it would be really hard for anyone to help you.

Nothing beats going hands on and try all combinations of settings.

If you are not willing you go and at least try and expect some magic formulae for night shots, then i'll put it bluntly, there is no magic setting.

people already gave step by step instructions liao leh, TS what you not understand sia?

simple... pay for lessons :bsmilie:

i'm willing for 2 venti glasses of any starbucks coffee of my choice :bsmilie:

Hi TS, sorry to say it's almost impossible to learn how to take great photos in half a day.

The seniors have been very patient and offering great resources for you to read, so can go through them to get some basics.
I also found this book, which is available in the libraries, to be quite newbie friendly:
http://www.amazon.com/Your-Camera-Loves-You-Learn/dp/0321784103

(If you really can't learn through self reading can consider paying for lessons as offered above or join some basic courses ;)

You will have to learn a bit, go out and shoot, see what's the problem and learn along the way.

Just a crash course tip (but you can't learn much): To improve your above photo for free, put your camera on a sturdy surface, turn off flash, use the self timer and try again ;)

Just wait for it... I wonder how long it'll take before he blames it on the A55 and thinks a Nikon or Canon would not have the same problem... When the problem is behind the camera...

ok let the Senior Member with the pretty avatar sum it all up for you :bsmilie:

1) for night photography, always have a tripod. this is to ensure your shots are all "blur-and-shake-free" due to slow shutter speeds.
have a remote control (you can get the RMT-DSLR1) to ensure your hands don't shake the camera when you're pressing down the shutter release

2) Flash is useless for night landscapes. unless you have a few hundred accessory flashes. your in-built flash is good enough for up till a few metres away.

3) just know that your shutter speed is too fast to get a good exposure. the faster your shutter speed in low-light, the lesser time it takes to record the LIGHT. so you'll get underexposed shots. the longer your shutter speed, the brighter the picture.

4) if you use high-ISO, the trade-off is that you have more Noise in your images. but you get a faster shutter speed. so for night shots, use a tripod, with low ISO and slow shutter speeds.

Ok thank q all. Now I understanding thank q

Your issue is that you do not understand exposure. Your camera has a light meter, read up about it in your manual.

In your case, based on the little details we have managed to get out of you so far, you should be:

1. Using a tripod.
2. Learning about using manual mode to set the aperture at f/11 or f/16 and then setting the shutter speed to achieve the right exposure
3. Use a low ISO like 200.

FYI, this is generic to all camera brands. Also, your Sony Alpha should have a "night scenery" mode built in - but you still need a tripod because it's a long exposure.

1st step:

Set your camera on a sturdy tripod.

2nd step:

Set to Aperture Priority - might be denoted by 'A' in your mode dial.

3rd step:

Set your aperture to... say around f8

4th step:

Set your ISO value to around 200, best is 100 (that is... if your camera support it).

5th step:

Switch off your image stabilizing system

6th step:

Take your photo.

7th step:

Preview it... if found too dark, then step up your EV then take photo again.

There this is the steps that I normally do when shooting night landscape.

ok let the Senior Member with the pretty avatar sum it all up for you :bsmilie:

1) for night photography, always have a tripod. this is to ensure your shots are all "blur-and-shake-free" due to slow shutter speeds.
have a remote control (you can get the RMT-DSLR1) to ensure your hands don't shake the camera when you're pressing down the shutter release

2) Flash is useless for night landscapes. unless you have a few hundred accessory flashes. your in-built flash is good enough for up till a few metres away.

3) just know that your shutter speed is too fast to get a good exposure. the faster your shutter speed in low-light, the lesser time it takes to record the LIGHT. so you'll get underexposed shots. the longer your shutter speed, the brighter the picture.

4) if you use high-ISO, the trade-off is that you have more Noise in your images. but you get a faster shutter speed. so for night shots, use a tripod, with low ISO and slow shutter speeds.

For TS and others facing the same problems, these 3 posts pretty much sum up what you need to note. If you need more help, Google does quite a good job on helping you search for the article you need. I've done a search for you, just click on the link.

Don't blame or give up on your A55 -without your basics, you would have the same problems with Canon, Nikon, Panasonic, Pentax etc..

Hope you are good to go now. Feel free to take another photo with the improved settings and show it to us?

I greatly enjoyed this discussions and informations. Folks now a day are too lazy to learn the craft and expect to be spoon feed.. Sad case when all the knowledges are availabe at their finger-tip, or the Library...