Pentax K-M/K2000D review from The Photography Blog

oh...cannot ah... K200D can or not ?? i just need a camera that can take good pics, good enough dynamic range, AF is accurate...all the bells and whistles i dun need... ;p

K200D isn't much smaller than K20D, and you'd have problem adjusting AF if your lenses aren't accurate enough :) Better stick w/ the K20D lah, the price difference is very minimum...

?

you mean, K-M got no select af point?

No, you can't select the AF point. Can set either to the center, or set to 5 point auto by the camera. A real deal break for many buyers, I think it's the only con for the camera, otherwise I'd definitely get one :confused:

yes, 5 -point but cannot select! Only Auto, and center one.

No, you can't select the AF point. Can set either to the center, or set to 5 point auto by the camera. A real deal break for many buyers, I think it's the only con for the camera, otherwise I'd definitely get one :confused:

:bigeyes::bigeyes:

that's interesting.

ok will keep it in mind when recommending k-m then. i mean, it may be a small thing for many, since i see that a lot of people like to use centre to focus and then recompose.. but some like me like using select af point.

Actually the AF framing is pretty easy. Coming from the 11 AF points we're so used to, it just takes a few moments to get used to it and I don't find any particular disadvantage not having the 11 AF points. Not a deal breaker in my book, considering the AF is fast.

Don't think the fewer AF points is a problem, it's the fact that they're not selectable...

I can definitely work with 5 AF points, but I would definitely want to be able to choose which of the 5 to AF with.

Come to think of it, I've never utilized the AF points, not to mention how to select them. :bsmilie: Yay for MF.

I could use the K-M for a cheap 2nd body though. :think:

Guys, actually after playing with my MZ-3 for a couple of rolls of Film, selectable focus isn't exactly something that you'll miss... the MZ-3 is, i think, center focus and adopting the focus and shift (whatever you call it), I get my subject in focus most of the time and pretty accurate (for an MZ-3).

So K-M, here I come! Whose joining me on a Saturday trip to JB?! Kekeke...

How much does the camera cost in JB?

Guys, actually after playing with my MZ-3 for a couple of rolls of Film, selectable focus isn't exactly something that you'll miss... the MZ-3 is, i think, center focus and adopting the focus and shift (whatever you call it), I get my subject in focus most of the time and pretty accurate (for an MZ-3).

So K-M, here I come! Whose joining me on a Saturday trip to JB?! Kekeke...

i though Sat is Pentax outing...:confused: u buy first... let mi play ok :bsmilie:

Dun understand why Shriro Malaysia will use the DA 18-55 II versus the DA 18-55 L that's bundled in the set. Yes they are the same lens (and probably a lens I would hardly use), but the reason for a L is that it'll be lighter isn't it? Just prefer that it comes in the original set ler.

So maybe it's still better to get from Amazon afterall, or OP if they bring in from HKG or China.

The k-m main target audience is girl leh... u girl ah... :bsmilie:

My wife is ... ;p ... and it's really for her. I wanted to get her the LX-3, ended up she still wants an DSLR (a bit smaller one than the k200d we had earlier).

Dun understand why Shriro Malaysia will use the DA 18-55 II versus the DA 18-55 L that's bundled in the set. Yes they are the same lens (and probably a lens I would hardly use), but the reason for a L is that it'll be lighter isn't it? Just prefer that it comes in the original set ler.

So maybe it's still better to get from Amazon afterall, or OP if they bring in from HKG or China.

DA 18-55mm II got distance scale, metal lens mount... surely that's got to be better and more durable?