Must you have a range of lenses that cover 18-200?

Hedonistic

Nov 8, 2008
Pluto.
Just wondering, because i keep seeing in the sub forums here that many people recommend newbies to start with their 18-55 kit, then add on a 55-200 to get a 18-200 zoom range.

The question, therefore is ...
DO WE REALLY NEED SUCH A LONG RANGE?!

:dunno:

I own lenses ranging from 10mm to 400mm. My telephoto lenses are always inside my dry cabinet, whereas, my 28-105mm is always on my camera. According to the EXIFs of my images, I use the range between 35mm and 85mm (35mm equivalent) range most.

By the way, I shoot mainly landscapes, street and portraiture.

Just wondering, because i keep seeing in the sub forums here that many people recommend newbies to start with their 18-55 kit, then add on a 55-200 to get a 18-200 zoom range.

2 reasons:

1) Convenience
2) Safety (having a wide range covers all bases)

I would like to have a range of lenses that cover 18 to 200 ≠ I need to have a range of lenses that cover 18 to 200.

No. it is up to the person's personal preference. my longest lens is 50mm.:D

always good to have but differnt ppl different preferences la..
i got lenses till 60mm and then jump to 300mm.
the in-between dun interest me.

I think it is usually the newbie who wants the all-in-one range of lens as a start.

The sensible advices is then to get him to keep the kit lens, and get a 55-250mm IS IF he die die want to jump into a longer zoom early.

Bro, just get an 85mm 1.8 is enough if you are shooting portraits. You only buy what you need. :)

I feel kinda guilty, got more than 10 lenses to cover 12mm~300mm range, although I only use a 28-70mm zoom lens most the time :embrass:

most newbies goes thru a period of self discovery. it usually takes some time b4 they know what focal length they usually use. no harm tele a bit. 18-200 (b4 crop factor) is the range that will cover most ppl use.

I use 24-75 (b4 crop) 95% of the time. ;)

it depends on the subjects you shoot

for example, if your interest ranges from landscapes to butterfly photography.. then why not? i see no reason to begrudge anyone for getting what they need.. unless of course someone tells you to get 18-200 for the sake of having 18-200.

then my question would be - WHY NOT 10-18MM? :bsmilie:

How often do we shoot landscapes or butterflies? That is the question I will ask next.

Of course, if the photographer is commissioned by NParks to record butterfly species, that's different story. For general use, however, I don't see the point of having a, say, 10-18mm lens.

Again, we are talking about 'general' photography here.

Nope... You don't have to.

But it's good to have.

Oh.... by the way. I enrolled into and graduated from RIT with just two lenses; a 28-70 and a 80-200. For macro assignments, I just added a bellow, a diopter or an extension tube. For landscape assignments, I loaned a 16mm from my lecturer. For sports assignments, I added a 2X converter to my telephoto zoom.

How often do we shoot landscapes or butterflies? That is the question I will ask next.

Of course, if the photographer is commissioned by NParks to record butterfly species, that's different story. For general use, however, I don't see the point of having a, say, 10-18mm lens.

Again, we are talking about 'general' photography here.

i shoot both leh :dunno:

and what's wrong with 10-20? to each his own.. i don't find the 20-50mm range very useful, but that's me.

my point is - everyone has their own preferences.

That's when we have a bit of spare cash to purchase additional lenses lah.... :bsmilie:

In my case for example, I started with a 50mm f1.4 on a 35mm film SLR. Then I added a 28-70mm and a 80-200mm, and stuck with these two lenses for 8 years.

After I graduated and started working full-time, I added a 60mm macro.

Then I wanted to go wider, so I bought a 17-35.

Soon after, I wanted more refinement. I went back to prime lenses and bought a 25mm, 35mm, upgraded my 50mm, 58mm, 85mm and 105mm.

I almost wanted to purchase a 10-20mm, but after much thinking, I decided not to as I know I will use it at all.

Now, I stop buying lenses and channel my spending to other hobbies.

Depends on what you want to shoot lah.

Really don't see the point of questions like this. Everyone has their own shooting style and range, so of course it depends on the individual.

Is this concept that hard for people to understand?

The point is we can't ever tell what the other guy needs, so advising a newbie on the lens selection is a flawed approach in the first place.

Especially when I think you guys would agree, the newbie can't be clear on what he wants to shoot, and list down everything - "I like to take macros, and portaits and landscapes and candids etc." .

Having said that, it might not be easy for a newbie to decide what he really enjoys since he had not even tried out yet. So the advise to start with the kit lens is to me, the most sensible one.