[News]Regan Lee jailed for crashing test-drive car, killing sales executive

If I'm the judge, he'll be suspended from driving for life + jail.

Driving is a privilege, not an entitlement.

Anyway, the girl's family member should sue for the loss of their daughter's salary.

If I'm the judge, he'll be suspended from driving for life + jail.

Driving is a privilege, not an entitlement.

Anyway, the girl's family member should sue for the loss of their daughter's salary.

Agreed. Sentence too light, unhappy people might make matters worse by taking law into their own hands. Lynchmob. :bsmilie:

Correct me if I am wrong but I read somewhere that that guy's father already bought him a car a few weeks back before he went for the test drive.

So that means that guy have no intention of buying the car anyway, just wanna go for a fun ride. :thumbsd:

I felt that the sentence is too light. But everyone is entitled to their own opinions.

I too feel that the sentence is too light.
Perhaps the judge read wrongly. Maybe Shd be 7 years instead.

Anyway these are rich prats. They will not understand the meaning of life.

I remembered a case, a truck driver was jailed for 2 years running over a kid, the kid dashed across the road letting go of the mother's hand. I pity the driver coz he did not stop in time.

For this case, which so obvious that the driver was show boating his lousy skills and causing the death of another is let off too lenient..

where's the justice?:dunno:

I remembered a case, a truck driver was jailed for 2 years running over a kid, the kid dashed across the road letting go of the mother's hand. I pity the driver coz he did not stop in time.

For this case, which so obvious that the driver was show boating his lousy skills and causing the death of another is let off too lenient..

where's the justice?:dunno:

http://www.todayonline.com/articles/218578.asp

towkay, dun think u are so naive rite... since when court is about justice?

Hey...take a look at this...he should have been punished for "causing death by reckless and dangerous driving" which warrants a heavier sentence, instead of "causing death of any person by negligent or rash act" which comes with lighter punishment. I guess this was how the defense lawyers got him a lighter sentence...

http://www.getformesingapore.com/Info_singaporelaw.htm

Hey...take a look at this...he should have been punished for "causing death by reckless and dangerous driving" which warrants a heavier sentence, instead of "causing death of any person by negligent or rash act" which comes with lighter punishment. I guess this was how the defense lawyers got him a lighter sentence...

no, read the line... its the prosecution never hoot...

During that time, it is believed the prosecution and defence teams came to an agreement to an amended lesser charge.

I think they cannot prove his intention to be reckless and dangerous. So all they could was slap him with the negligent/rash act. :dunno:

http://www.todayonline.com/articles/218578.asp

towkay, dun think u are so naive rite... since when court is about justice?

a certain lawyer said:
A lawyer told Today that in his view, the seven-month jail sentence seemed "a little bit harsh". However, the lawyer added, in Lee's case, there could have been aggravating factors, such as the fact that he was driving above the legal speed limit.

where got harsh? Damn lenient liao, he escaped a heavier punishment through the loopholes in the law. Isnt it obvious? How did that lawyer get his license. :p

a certain Mr Tay said:
Lee's family has received hate mail and threats "ranging from burning down their house to beating up his mother".

why be surprised such things could happen? Justice is not served, hence lynchmobs and vigilantes arise.

where got harsh? Damn lenient liao, he escaped a heavier punishment through the loopholes in the law. Isnt it obvious? How did that lawyer get his license. :p

why be surprised such things could happen? Justice is not served, hence lynchmobs and vigilantes arise.

that hate mail, most likely is tis pic lah...

ownage3wh.jpg

the 2nd person to report this on news that ppl wanna burn his house and beat his mother... can't be so zhun rite... nowadays, anything beh song, this picture 1st to be posted... :bsmilie:

that hate mail, most likely is tis pic lah...

ownage3wh.jpg

the 2nd person to report this on news that ppl wanna burn his house and beat his mother... can't be so zhun rite... nowadays, anything beh song, this picture 1st to be posted... :bsmilie:

:bsmilie::bsmilie::bsmilie:

If i remember correctly, i read something about him in one of the local car forum. Apparently he has a bike license too. So does it means he can still ride a bike?

Correct me if I am wrong but I read somewhere that that guy's father already bought him a car a few weeks back before he went for the test drive.

So that means that guy have no intention of buying the car anyway, just wanna go for a fun ride. :thumbsd:

I felt that the sentence is too light. But everyone is entitled to their own opinions.
you're right. It was a Fiat Punto HGT (if i remember correctly) Pretty fast car.

i think.. some of the comments here about the legal system being bad etc.. are not really fair.

at the end of the day, whilst this was indeed a very tragic accident, accidents like this do happen every so often. drunk husbands driving with wife home from bar, ship collisions etc..

a lot of people get prosecuted for causing death by a rash or reckless act.

whilst no doubt this was a very rash act, it was not intentional. those of you who have cars... dont tell me that you have never speeded, or exceeded the speed limit.

because all it takes is for you to be speeding just a little bit, and someone to cross the road.. and you will be in a similar boat to this guy.

so the courts will take an objective view of this. and i can tell you that, compared to other rash act cases, 7 months is very hefty indeed. there are cases where people have just got away with a very light fine, or short imprisonment.

and believe you me, you think even the 4-5 months you serve in jail is a piece of cake? sorry to dispell that, but jail, even for 1 week, is no cakewalk in singapore.

so whilst no doubt people might disagree, i think in this case, the sentence was quite befitting the crime.

If i remember correctly, i read something about him in one of the local car forum. Apparently he has a bike license too. So does it means he can still ride a bike?

During the suspension of a lisence... that means all class suspension. If he wan he can use the bicycle. ;)

U are wishing for a Manslaughter or outright Murder charge? :heart: I wish... sigh...

I heard 7mths imprisonment and I was like :bheart:

LOL. Reminds me of Richard Yong of NKF finding his sentence harsh claiming that he shd be given only six months. I bet this young prat will be appealing against the sentence. If it fails... lets hope he get a longer stay at the Changi Shangri La complex. ;p

whilst no doubt this was a very rash act, it was not intentional. those of you who have cars... dont tell me that you have never speeded, or exceeded the speed limit.

I can honestly say I have never driven over twice the speed limit....

but I do agree that 7months jail is pretty ok. Alamak, 7 months Jail you know. The way you guys say is like want to put away the guy for good. I think everyone deserves a second chance. Imagine how much hate he will have to endure in prison.

I think the punishment is pretty ok.

I can honestly say I have never driven over twice the speed limit....

but I do agree that 7months jail is pretty ok. Alamak, 7 months Jail you know. The way you guys say is like want to put away the guy for good. I think everyone deserves a second chance. Imagine how much hate he will have to endure in prison.

I think the punishment is pretty ok.

7 months will pass pretty fast... Well... 7 months of drinking from the toilet bowl... hope he learns. :think: