Singapore wants older workers to continue working

Are we allow to grow vegetables in Singapore HDB block?

Grow vegetables? Its also a form of work.

Seriously, I'm not sure what other alternatives there is besides work to keep ur brain working. I'll become senile if I were to stop working I feel. Just 2wks of ICT last time is enuff to turn me into a brain-dead zombie for a month after my ICT.

In fact, so am I. Few years back, we thought S$100,000 in cash plus the CPF for the retirement you have is enough. Now, I doubt it too. Things are getting more and more expensive. It never ends.
Moreover, Singaporean are rich in the asset but very very poor in cash. Hope I am wrong. :confused:

Not nearly enuff.

In fact, so am I. Few years back, we thought S$100,000 in cash plus the CPF for the retirement you have is enough. Now, I doubt it too. Things are getting more and more expensive. It never ends.
Moreover, Singaporean are rich in the asset but very very poor in cash. Hope I am wrong. :confused:

uh..oni half right..the asset belongs to u if u no longer owns the bank..

Most of us take up at least 25 years bank loan just to buy a house. If you are 35 years old now, so you have to make sure you work until 60 years to clear everything. By then, you rich in the asset and poor in the cash.:eek:

uh..oni half right..the asset belongs to u if u no longer owns the bank..

Continue working? Hmm.... I don't really mind.

It sure beats waking up, shuffle my feet to the void deck stare at the sky from 0800H - 1700H, go home eat dinner, sleep and repeat this routine until I croak.

learn to enjoy bro..its not doing nothing when retired..but to slow down and see what we have left out when we are busy working..

Spend more valuable time to interact with ur kids and wife and parents..

Its not just enjoy a 15-30mins meal at kopitiam/hawker/restaurant, or weekend brings kids out to play..there is more to it..

World class living - live to work?

Most of us take up at least 25 years bank loan just to buy a house. If you are 35 years old now, so you have to make sure you work until 60 years to clear everything. By then, you rich in the asset and poor in the cash.:eek:

haha..house? freehold landed property? or just public housing?

learn to enjoy bro..its not doing nothing when retired..but to slow down and see what we have left out when we are busy working..

Spend more valuable time to interact with ur kids and wife and parents..

Its not just enjoy a 15-30mins meal at kopitiam/hawker/restaurant, or weekend brings kids out to play..there is more to it..

My dad retired for 2 years. Played golf, travelled, spent family time.....couldn't stand it!:bsmilie:

Now back to work and much happier for it.

I have accepted the fact that I may never retire and would work till I croak.

I think retirement is an outdated concept as

1) In the past, most work was manual, so retirement was a time when people stopped working as they were too old or sick to work well anyway.

My dad retired for 2 years. Played golf, travelled, spent family time.....couldn't stand it!:bsmilie:

Guess we're all born to work huh? ;p

Not many people know how to plan for retirement. After 55, many took all the CPF monies and go to Batam, Thailand etc and have a second or third spring.. when the saving is gone, they just come back and expect the family and the government to look after them.

They dont play golf, they play with human being and fire.

Yappy and happy

You can kiss your retirement goodbye in SG...

But food for thoughts...

What will you do when you retire anyway?

But but... what can you do when you reach 60 ++ ?

Are you able to lower your status and keep yourself contented working as a cleaner or a admin staff if you have been a senior manager for the past few years.

Toking abt retirement
My retirement dream is to open a small photography stall at shopping mall taking passport photo for children. :cool:

Ah boy, 4 photos for $6 dollar

But then... nowadays ppl use their own digi camera take passport photo liao :confused:

Damn kena double 6'ed liao..

It is very sad

(o.o)y

But food for thoughts...

Some will probably be walking around Terminal III or IV and enjoying how rich the country has became all because of how hard we are all working now....?...:think:
Many will go shooting in Chinatown or Geylang?... or maybe Batam, Bintan, etc ...:bsmilie:

You can kiss your retirement goodbye in SG...

But food for thoughts...

When retired, I will be playing with my grandchildren of course! :lovegrin:

But but... what can you do when you reach 60 ++ ?

Are you able to lower your status and keep yourself contented working as a cleaner or a admin staff if you have been a senior manager for the past few years.

Toking abt retirement
My retirement dream is to open a small photography stall at shopping mall taking passport photo for children. :cool:

Ah boy, 4 photos for $6 dollar

But then... nowadays ppl use their own digi camera take passport photo liao :confused:

Damn kena double 6'ed liao..

It is very sad

(o.o)y

No easy answer, but can you suggest an alternative? How to keep older folk self-sufficient, whilst providing advancement opportunities for the young and at the same time not bankrupting the country or raising taxes too high? That's the rub.

I am expecting some bright elite to solve this problem. If not, any tom, dick, harry will be

able to do his job. That's the rub too ;) No punk intended

I am expecting some bright elite to solve this problem. If not, any tom, dick, harry will be

able to do his job. That's the rub too ;) No punk intended

So if the answer was for older workers to continue on lower pay and status, younger worekers to accept some reduced opportunity, you would accept that? The unspoken part is for you and me to understand the issues and take the compromises to support the effort. Politicians are politicians you know, they see a need and make a plan, they ain't got a magic wand to wave and suddenly create prosperity.

Probably next year our national song .......
"This is my home, my country ... a place where we all die happy working ...... " :think:

So if the answer was for older workers to continue on lower pay and status, younger worekers to accept some reduced opportunity, you would accept that? The unspoken part is for you and me to understand the issues and take the compromises to support the effort. Politicians are politicians you know, they see a need and make a plan, they ain't got a magic wand to wave and suddenly create prosperity.

magic wand i not so sure..but they do have a magic pen to do up the statistics for benchmarking the wage increase..how come they never use the same set of statistics to benchmark my pay?

Is it the statistic you are challenging, or the benchmarking? Are you implying they concocted the income tax information, which is a matter of public record? If so then I say you are miles off base. If you have a issue with the benchmarking methodology then perhaps there is something to discuss. Anyhow, this is OT.