Is it worth going overseas for uni education?

ok lah.

afghanistan.

omg......... mods ought to change the title.;p

anyway, i think it is better to experience both local and overseas uni. maybe take a bachelor in local uni, and go overseas to take masters or phd. partially, it is because you get to experience truely the differences, and also that singapore unis lately offering quite alot of pretty fast and short programs.

and about bdsm, i think doing it in sch uniform is kinky.

want to study ntu, but ntu dun want me...:(

time to go back china:)

Of course, it is worth it! The experience, the ang mo chio bu, away from parents' nagging, with my friends, the branding.... if I said I am from Imperial or Harvard, people will look at me differently!!!

anyway, i think it is better to experience both local and overseas uni. maybe take a bachelor in local uni, and go overseas to take masters or phd. partially, it is because you get to experience truely the differences, and also that singapore unis lately offering quite alot of pretty fast and short programs.

Anyways this is a subject I feel very strongly about; Singapore unis' amazingly short-sighted manner of awarding merit in such a staggered manner, as well as insisting on using a totally alternative system (CAP) from the standard GPA/cut-off point method used elsewhere is pretty idiotic to me.

Not that I'm against NUS or NTU or SMU, but I just think that that manner of doing things is in short spastic and needs a review, for many reasons, not the least the fact that no one else will understand what is going on when they look at your university results.

If you have the moolah, by whatever means, scholarship or FMS (father mother scholarship), I say go, as long as the university has a name and is recognised here; most of the time it's simply put, much healthier method of getting your first class honours or summa cum laude or what not. This also has a multiplier effect, in the long term if you want your first class honours here, you'd have to put in a lot in the academic aspect and end up losing a lot on the other aspects of university education, which should never be only academic.

btw, just interested. anyone here from singapore uni and say it sucks? want to hear some first-hand infomation cos i plan to study my bachelor here.:)

Anyways this is a subject I feel very strongly about; Singapore unis' amazingly short-sighted manner of awarding merit in such a staggered manner, as well as insisting on using a totally alternative system (CAP) from the standard GPA/cut-off point method used elsewhere is pretty idiotic to me.

Not that I'm against NUS or NTU or SMU, but I just think that that manner of doing things is in short spastic and needs a review, for many reasons, not the least the fact that no one else will understand what is going on when they look at your university results.

If you have the moolah, by whatever means, scholarship or FMS (father mother scholarship), I say go, as long as the university has a name and is recognised here; most of the time it's simply put, much healthier method of getting your first class honours or summa cum laude or what not. This also has a multiplier effect, in the long term if you want your first class honours here, you'd have to put in a lot in the academic aspect and end up losing a lot on the other aspects of university education, which should never be only academic.

how do you think the merits should be awarded?

Simply put, should never be bell curved; at university level trying to rush to the top is silly.

Meeting a minimum mark is what I think should be done; a fine balance must be means be maintained, and standards must be upheld but not to the extent to which it's done locally.

I have pretty psuedo-bright (at the very least) friends in NUS who work quite hard, they breezed by in JC, but they're struggling to even maintain a second upper and spend most of their time mugging/participating in hall activities, sleep at 2 am most of the time. I think that's a pretty sad scenario for university days.

Simply put, should never be bell curved; at university level trying to rush to the top is silly.

Meeting a minimum mark is what I think should be done; a fine balance must be means be maintained, and standards must be upheld but not to the extent to which it's done locally.

I have pretty psuedo-bright (at the very least) friends in NUS who work quite hard, they breezed by in JC, but they're struggling to even maintain a second upper and spend most of their time mugging/participating in hall activities, sleep at 2 am most of the time. I think that's a pretty sad scenario for university days.

that's how schools (not just in singapore) maintain the value of the certificates they give out.

competition is real and each individual has to decide for himself/herself what he/she wants out of the university education. i have friends who give up CAP for hall activities, they still graduate and still do fine in work outside. at university level, i think we can't blame the point system for stopping anyone from making academic achievement, there's nothing wrong with a second/second upper unless you already decided that you want to enter civil service, but then that'll be up to individual choice how much the civil service career is to be valued.

btw from what you've pointed out, it's nothing to do with the point system, it's more to do with the distribution of the grades. and this distribution is used in every other point system, except it's less used in one that only says ''pass'' or ''fail,'' which do in fact exists but mostly in art related schools.

frankly, i would prefer to study overseas because of the different cultures.
having been through 10+++ years of education in singapore, i find that the study environment for singapore is not that "good" for the growth of the child. sure aspects like security and bla bla bla are one of the good points but we arent really faced for the realities of the harsh world out there.

singapore education is really mug mug mug cca cca whereas overseas education really throws you out into the world and its more enjoyable, where people actually ENJOY studying. i think its really about the study environment which causes people to choose overseas education if they have a choice.

but my scholarship got bond one wor.

a 4 year scholarship from jeanie foundation will bond you for a lifetime of slavery.

how i look forward to whip his a$$.

oooo...raunchy.:bsmilie: :bsmilie: :bsmilie:

so you choose the course as well?

hmm wat kind international course you sponsor?
need any s experience?

lol... :bheart:

they have been using the GPA system for the past couple of years already, both ntu and nus.

In one word: HELL, YES! (ok, make that two..)

I studied abroad in Aussie for 5 years and I have been back in S'pore for slightly more than 2.5yrs. Till now, I still have a soft spot for Aussie. I'll give an arm & a leg to go back to study/work. :rolleyes: